Extended Audio Sample

Download The Girl Who Never Read Noam Chomsky: A novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Girl Who Never Read Noam Chomsky: A novel Audiobook, by Jana Casale Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jana Casale Narrator: to be announced Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: April 17, 2018 ISBN: 9780525588900
Coming Soon! The audiobook will be available for pre-order on April 3, 2018.Check back on that date to pre-order this title for the Apr 17, 2018 release!
Available for pre-order on: April 3, 2018

For fans of Maggie Shipstead and Emma Straub, an ambitious, timely, and timeless debut that celebrates the joys and confusions of modern womanhood.

Leda is a girl who knows what she wants and who she is--or at least believes she does. When we meet her as a college student in Boston--confident, intelligent, independent--she's hopeful that a flirty chat with a cute boy reading a book in a café will lead to romance. They have a fleetingly awkward conversation that dwindles into little more than mortifying embarrassment, but the encounter does leave her one positive, and ultimately transformative, thought: Leda decides she wants to read Noam Chomsky. So she promptly buys a book and never--ever--reads it.
     As the days, years, and decades of the rest of her life unfold, we watch Leda confront what it is that she really wants and who it is that she is really meant to be. Whether it's a clumsy New Year's Eve kiss, the first time she sees the man she will marry, her daughter's tantrum in an IHOP parking lot, the agony of knowing a friend is being cheated on, or the revival of her creative ambitions in a community writing group, all of Leda's experiences--the everyday and the milestones--prove to her that even our best-laid plans are not the only paths to happiness. Hilarious and heartbreaking, gorgeously precise, and disarmingly honest, The Girl Who Never Read Noam Chomsky is a remarkable literary feat that speaks to urgent questions women face today, even as it offers the possibility that, in the end, it might all be okay. Download and start listening now!

cc8m

Quotes & Awards

  • Jana Casale’s brilliant, singular, gripping debut affected me more than any novel I’ve read this year. Rich with social commentary, fueled by ferocious intelligence, and laced with spot on humor, The Girl Who Never Read Noam Chomsky perfectly captures the mores of this mixed up moment in time, while also exploring universal truths about what it means to be a woman in the world. I loved it. Joanna Rakoff, author of A Fortunate Age and My Salinger Year
  • How do you account for a life? In Jana Casale's poignant debut, the answer has as much to do with the things her protagonist, Leda - college student, wife, writer, temporary Orca expert, mother - wanted to do and didn't, as what she actually lives. A funny, tender and touching illumination of the extraordinary beauty contained in a seemingly everyday life. I can't stop thinking about this book. Julie Buntin, author of Marlena
  • As the perfect title suggests, the books we don't read can shape us just as much as the ones we do. However, unlike our titular heroine and her copy of Problems of Knowledge and Freedom, I guarantee you'll fly through this one. It's a rare gem of a debut--funny, heartbreaking, and genuinely profound. Ed Park, author of Personal Days
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Narrator

Lindy West is a Seattle-based writer, editor, and performer whose work focuses on pop culture, social justice, humor, and body image. She’s currently a culture writer for GQ magazine and GQ.com and a weekly columnist at the Guardian, as well as the founder and editor of I Believe You | It’s Not Your Fault, an advice blog for teens. In January of 2015 she wrote and recorded a story for This American Life about confronting an internet troll who impersonated her dead father.