Extended Audio Sample

Download The Girl Who Came Home: A Novel of the Titanic Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Girl Who Came Home: A Novel of the Titanic Audiobook, by Hazel Gaynor Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Hazel Gaynor Narrator: Connor Kelly-Eiding, Alana Kerr Collins Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: April 2014 ISBN: 9780062344533
Regular Price: $24.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Inspired by true events, The Girl Who Came Home is the poignant story of a group of Irish emigrants aboard RMS Titanic—a seamless blend of fact and fiction that explores the tragedy’s impact and its lasting repercussions on survivors and their descendants.

Ireland, 1912. Fourteen members of a small village set sail on RMS Titanic, hoping to find a better life in America. For seventeen-year-old Maggie Murphy, the journey is bittersweet. Though her future lies in an unknown new place, her heart remains in Ireland with Séamus, the sweetheart she left behind. When disaster strikes, Maggie is one of the lucky few passengers in steerage who survives. Waking up alone in a New York hospital, she vows never to speak of the terror and panic of that terrible night ever again.

Chicago, 1982. Adrift after the death of her father, Grace Butler struggles to decide what comes next. When her Great Nana Maggie shares the painful secret she harbored for almost a lifetime about the Titanic, the revelation gives Grace new direction—and leads her and Maggie to unexpected reunions with those they thought lost long ago.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “A beautifully imagined novel rich in historic detail and with authentic, engaging characters—I loved this book. Hazel Gaynor is an exciting new voice in historical fiction.”

    Kate Kerrigan, New York Times bestselling author

  • “A phenomenal book that is a must read!”


  • The Girl Who Came Home follows on the centenary remembrance of the Titanic in 2012. Is the world ready for yet another account of this tragedy? With this novel, the answer is a resounding yes.”

    New York Journal of Books

  • “Readers will enjoy this lovely, heartfelt story.”

    RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

  • “Inspired by the true tale of an Irish community that suffered the largest proportional loss in the sinking, the novel hits on the standard elements of the Titanic story—the ship’s magnificence, the stark differences between first and third classes, the many elements that contributed to its downfall. What makes Gaynor’s novel fresh is the way she sets the tragedy in the context of her characters’ lives…Even the most avid Titanic buff is sure to find something new in this well-researched, finely detailed story.”


  • “The historical sections cannot help but pull focus from the heartwarming frame story [with] a pastiche of journal entries, letters, telegrams and other archival material, some real, some convincingly faux…Gaynor wisely avoids the usual Titanic tropes (Astors and Strauses are scarcely mentioned), imagining the recollections of ordinary passengers and of the people anxiously awaiting news of them…As the disaster’s 102nd anniversary approaches, Gaynor’s account surpasses, in subtlety if not in scope, so many flashier treatments.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Blending fact and fiction, the story of seventeen-year-old Maggie Murphy, one of the few steerage passengers on the Titanic to survive, is beautifully narrated by Connor Kelly-Eiding and Alana Kerr…The two gifted narrators take listeners from Maggie’s voyage in 1912 to the year 1982, when she finally reveals her ‘important’ story to her great-granddaughter, Grace. Maggie’s lovely young-girl’s voice, with its soft Irish lilt, is a flawless fit, while Grace’s more modern inflections and aggressive American persona are pitch-perfect.”


  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • A USA Today Bestseller
  • A Wall Street Journal Bestseller
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Hazel Gaynor is an author and freelance writer in Ireland and the UK and was the recipient of the Cecil Day Lewis Award for Emerging Writers in 2012. Originally from North Yorkshire, England, she now lives in Ireland with her husband, two young children, and an accident-prone cat.

About the Narrators

Connor Kelly-Eiding is an LA native and a graduate of the University of Southern California's BFA Acting Program. She has been seen onstage all across Los Angeles, with such troupes as the Mechanicals Theatre Group, Four Clowns, and Antaeus Classical Theatre Company. She has also provided voice over narration for numerous audiobooks and is known for her role in the television series House of Lies.

Alana Kerr Collins is an Earphones Award–winning audiobook narrator. She is also an actor, puppeteer, and singer who studied at the Impulse Company in London and earned a BA in drama and English at the University of Dublin, Trinity College. She starred in the short films Rachel 9000, The Deal, and Veritas and has appeared in several television series, including Emu and Big City Park.