Extended Audio Sample

Download The Garden of Letters Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Garden of Letters Audiobook, by Alyson Richman Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Alyson Richman Narrator: Elizabeth Sastre Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: September 2014 ISBN: 9780698181038
Regular Price: $18.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )


Set against the rich backdrop of World War II Italy, Garden of Letters captures the hope, suspense, and romance of an uncertain era, in an epic intertwining story of first love, great tragedy, and spectacular bravery.

Portofino, Italy, 1943. A young woman steps off a boat in a scenic coastal village. Although she knows how to disappear in a crowd, Elodie is too terrified to slip by the German officers while carrying her poorly forged identity papers. She is frozen until a man she’s never met before claims to know her. In desperate need of shelter, Elodie follows him back to his home on the cliffs of Portofino.
Only months before, Elodie Bertolotti was a cello prodigy in Verona, unconcerned with world events. But when Mussolini’s Fascist regime strikes her family, Elodie is drawn into the burgeoning resistance movement by Luca, a young and impassioned bookseller. As the occupation looms, she discovers that her unique musical talents, and her courage, have the power to save lives.
In Portofino, young doctor Angelo Rosselli gives the frightened and exhausted girl sanctuary. He is a man with painful secrets of his own, haunted by guilt and remorse. But Elodie’s arrival has the power to awaken a sense of hope and joy that Angelo thought was lost to him forever.
  Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Staggeringly evocative, romantic, heart-rending, sensual, and beautifully written, Alyson Richman’s The Lost Wife may very well be the Sophie’s Choice of this generation.”

    John Lescroart, New York Times bestselling author

  • “A truly beautiful heartfelt story…I couldn’t put it down once I started it. Ms. Richman is a very special talent.”

    Kristin Hannah, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Moving, unforgettable, and so expertly told, you have to wonder if the author has a gift of time travel—this is storytelling at its very best.”

    Sarah Jio, New York Times bestselling author

  • “The author of The Lost Wife returns to WW II for another beautifully rendered and heartbreaking story of courage during wartime, lyrical and lovely in its simplicity. There is a quiet calm to Richman’s storytelling that is haunting and powerful, making her tale hard to forget.”

    RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

  • “There is no particular reason for this audiobook to be performed with a British accent, since the setting is entirely Italian. Maybe to give it a Masterpiece Theater air? If that’s the idea, Elizabeth Sastre is the perfect narrator. She delineates Richman’s characters with respect and gravity, and her Italian pronunciation is lovely. Elodie is a gifted young cellist who’s been carrying messages for the Resistance in WWII. In the first scene, she’s rescued from danger at a fascist checkpoint in Portofino by kindly Angelo, a young, widowed doctor. Flashbacks fill in where each of them has been and hint at what they might become to each other. Sastre’s performance is cool, elegant, and skillful, and fans of historical romance should be pleased.”


  • “A brilliant novel that will haunt me for years to come.”

    Kristina McMorris, author of The Pieces We Keep

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Alyson Richman

Alyson Richman is the internationally bestselling author of The Lost Wife, The Rhythm of Memory, The Last Van Gogh, and The Mask Carver’s Son, among others. Her novels have been published in more than fifteen languages and have received both national and international acclaim. She loves to travel, cook, ride her yellow bicycle, and do ballet.

About the Narrator

Elizabeth Sastre has narrated dozens of audiobooks, including Bed Rest by Sarah Bilston, Brick Lane by Monica Ali, and The Well of Lost Plots by Jasper Fforde, which was an AudioFile Best Audiobook of the Year in 2004.