The Fatal Flame: A Novel Audiobook, by Lyndsay Faye Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Fatal Flame: A Novel Audiobook

The Fatal Flame: A Novel Audiobook, by Lyndsay Faye Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $20.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $25.00 Add to Cart
Author: Lyndsay Faye Narrator: Kirby Heyborne Publisher: Penguin Random House Audio Length: Series:The Timothy Wilde Series Release Date: May 2015 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780698402270

Publisher Description

The final installment in Lyndsay Faye’s Timothy Wilde series, which Lee Child called “solid-gold” and Gillian Flynn declared “spectacular.”


No one in 1840s New York likes fires, copper star Timothy Wilde least of all. After a blaze killed his parents and another left him with a terrible scar, he has avoided flames of all kinds. So when a seamstress turned arsonist threatens Robert Symmes, a corrupt tycoon high in the Tammany Hall ranks, Timothy isn’t thrilled that Symmes consults him. His dismay escalates when his audacious and charismatic older brother, Valentine, himself deeply politically entrenched, decides to run against the incumbent, who they suspect is guilty of assault and far darker crimes. Immediately after his brother’s courageous declaration, Timothy finds himself surrounded by powerful enemies who threaten to harm those he cares about most.

            Meanwhile, the love of Timothy’s life, Mercy Underhill, unexpectedly appears on his doorstep and takes under her wing a starving Irish orphan who may be the key to stopping the combustions threatening the city—if only they can make sense of her cryptic accounts. The closer they come to deciphering her wild tales of witches and angels, however, the closer Timothy comes to the fiery and shocking conclusion that forces him to face everything he fears most.

            A boisterous and suspenseful book from a master of historical adventure, The Fatal Flame is a tale for the ages.

From the Hardcover edition.

Download and start listening now!


  • “Immersive, compelling, convincing, and yes, thrilling. Read it today for solid-gold entertainment, but don’t be surprised to see it taught in college tomorrow.”

    - Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author
  • “As always in this series, the research is impeccable and the period ambiance dazzling.”

    - New York Times Book Review
  • “As in her previous books, Faye’s diligence in researching the period is manifest, and readers will feel transported back to mid-nineteenth-century Manhattan.”

    - Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • “Faye masterfully evokes the turbulence of mid-nineteenth-century New York.”

    - Booklist (starred review)
  • “Faye’s re-creations of mid-nineteenth-century New York are rich with exotic sights and smells, as well as delightfully eccentric personalities.”

    - Kirkus Reviews
  • “Irish brogues, hard German consonants, contemporary slang called ‘flash,’ and English are just some of the accents that narrator Kirby Heyborne uses as he performs this gritty piece of historical fiction. Heyborne reads the narrative steadily in cultured tones as he recounts Timothy Wilde’s convoluted investigation of arson fires…Extensive description, old-fashioned diction, and a compelling backstory are interspersed with violence and politics, all of which Heyborne capably delivers.”

    - AudioFile

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Lyndsay Faye is the author of critically acclaimed Dust and Shadow and The Gods of Gotham and is featured in The Best American Mystery Stories 2010. A true New Yorker in the sense that she was born elsewhere, she lives in Manhattan with her husband, Gabriel.

About the Narrator

Kirby Heyborne is a musician, actor, and professional narrator. Noted for his work in teen and juvenile audio, he has garnered over twenty Earphones Awards. His audiobook credits include Jesse Kellerman’s The Genius, Cory Doctorow’s Little Brother, and George R. R. Martin’s Selections from Dreamsongs.