Extended Audio Sample

Download The Dream Lover: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Dream Lover: A Novel, by Elizabeth Berg Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Elizabeth Berg Narrator: Emily Sutton-Smith Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $16.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Elizabeth Berg has written a lush historical novel based on the sensuous Parisian life of the nineteenth-century writer George Sand—which is perfect for readers of Nancy Horan and Elizabeth Gilbert.

At the beginning of this powerful novel, we meet Aurore Dupin as she is leaving her estranged husband, a loveless marriage, and her family’s estate in the French countryside to start a new life in Paris. There, she gives herself a new name—George Sand—and pursues her dream of becoming a writer, embracing an unconventional and even scandalous lifestyle.

Paris in the nineteenth century comes vividly alive, illuminated by the story of the loves, passions, and fierce struggles of a woman who defied the confines of society. Sand’s many lovers and friends include Frédéric Chopin, Gustave Flaubert, Franz Liszt, Eugène Delacroix, Victor Hugo, Marie Dorval, and Alfred de Musset. As Sand welcomes fame and friendship, she fights to overcome heartbreak and prejudice, failure and loss. Though considered the most gifted genius of her time, she works to reconcile the pain of her childhood, of disturbing relationships with her mother and daughter, and of her intimacies with women and men. Will the life she longs for always be just out of reach—a dream?

Brilliantly written in luminous prose, and with remarkable insights into the heart and mind of a literary force, The Dream Lover tells the unforgettable story of a courageous, irresistible woman.

Download and start listening now!

bhqg

Quotes & Awards

  • “An enchanting novel about the real life of George Sand.”

    Us Weekly

  • “Exquisitely captivating…Sand’s story is so timely and modern in an era when gender and sexual roles are upended daily.”

    USA Today

  • “Absorbing…an armchair traveler’s delight…Berg rolls out the wonders of nineteenth-century Paris in cinematic bursts that capture its light, its street life, its people and sounds…The result is an illuminating portrait of a magnificent woman whose story is enriched by the delicate brush strokes of Berg’s colorful imagination.”

    Chicago Tribune

  • “Fantastic…a provocative and dazzling portrait…Berg tells a terrific story, while simultaneously exploring sexuality, art, and the difficult personal choices women artists in particular made—then and now—in order to succeed…The book, imagistic and perfectly paced, full of dialogue that clips along, is a reader’s dream.”

    Boston Globe

  • “Berg’s years-long immersion in the writings of and about Sand has resulted in a remarkable channeling of Sand’s voice that imagines the contradictory strands of her nature…[A] beautiful, imaginative re-creation of a brilliant, complicated writer, feminist, romantic, and activist.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • “Narrator Emily Sutton-Smith captures Sand’s amorous nature as well as her artistic genius. The listener gets a good sense of just how subversive Sand truly was in dressing as a man, smoking cigars, and having one love affair after another with an actress and a number of famous men. This novel also serves as a good overview of the Parisian artistic elite of the time…The story never becomes a mere cavalcade of artistic heavyweights, however. Berg’s poetic prose and Sutton-Smith’s strong performance ensure that it remains fascinating and emotionally involving listening. “

    AudioFile

  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • An April 2015 LibraryReads Pick
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations