Patrick Melrose: The Novels Audiobook, by Edward St. Aubyn Play Audiobook Sample

Patrick Melrose: The Novels Audiobook

Patrick Melrose: The Novels Audiobook, by Edward St. Aubyn Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $27.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $44.99 Add to Cart
Read By: Alex Jennings Publisher: Macmillan Audio Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 18.00 hours at 1.5x Speed 13.50 hours at 2.0x Speed Series: The Patrick Melrose Series Release Date: May 2015 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781427265555

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

55:53 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

30 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

24:11 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by Edward St. Aubyn: > View All...

Publisher Description


Edward St. Aubyn has penned one of the most acclaimed series of the decade with the Patrick Melrose Novels. Now you can read all five novels in one volume: Never Mind, Bad News, Mother's Milk, Some Hope, and At Last.

By turns harrowing and hilarious, this ambitious novel cycle dissects the English upper class. Edward St. Aubyn offers his reader the often darkly funny and self-loathing world of privilege as we follow Patrick Melrose's story of abuse, addiction, and recovery from the age of five into early middle age.

The Patrick Melrose Novels are "a memorable tour de force" (The New York Times Book Review) by one of "the most brilliant English novelists of his generation" (Alan Hollinghurst).

Download and start listening now!

“Alex Jennings gives us Patrick’s inner life plus an amazing range of the people he shares it with across decades, from Provençe to New York…In this great gallery of international voices, Jennings conveys class, age, wit, foolishness, snobbery, innocence, vanity, kindness, and vice with breathtaking nuance. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

— AudioFile 


  • “Stunning, sparkling fiction . . . Unforgettable.

    — The Wall Street Journal
  • One of the most amazing reading experiences I've had in a decade.

    — Michael Chabon, Los Angeles Times
  • One of the best fictional cycles in contemporary fiction.

    — The Boston Globe
  • “Stunning, sparkling fiction…Unforgettable.”

    — Wall Street Journal
  • “A memorable tour de force.”

    — New York Times Book Review
  • “One of the most amazing reading experiences I’ve had in a decade.”

    — Los Angeles Times
  • “One of the best fictional cycles in contemporary fiction.”

    — Boston Globe


  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

Patrick Melrose Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Edward St. Aubyn

Edward St. Aubyn was born in London. His acclaimed Patrick Melrose novels include Mother’s Milk, winner of the Prix Femina étranger and shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. The series was made into a BAFTA Award–winning Sky Atlantic TV series starring Benedict Cumberbatch. he is also the author of On the Edge, shortlisted for the Guardian Fiction Prize; Lost for Words, winner of the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize; and Dunbar, his reimagining of King Lear for the Hogarth Shakespeare project.

About Alex Jennings

Alex Jennings is an award-winning narrator and actor of stage and screen. He has won more than ten AudioFile Earphones Awards. As an actor, he enjoyed a highly successful run at the Old Vic in Too Clever by Half, for which he won an Olivier Award, the Drama Magazine Award, and the Plays and Players Award for Actor of the Year. He has also won the Olivier Award for Best Actor in the Royal Shakespeare Company’s production of Peer Gynt. Among his numerous television credits are Inspector Alleyn, Hard Times, and Netflix’s award-winning series The Crown.