Extended Audio Sample

Download The Castle in the Mist Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Castle in the Mist Audiobook, by Amy Ephron Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Amy Ephron Narrator: Laraine Newman Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2017 ISBN: 9781524750213
Regular Price: $14.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In the tradition of Edward Eager and E. L. Konigsburg comes this novel about the excitement—and the dangers—of wishing.

Tess and her brother, Max, are sent for the summer to their aunt’s sleepy village in the English countryside, where excitement is as rare as a good wifi signal. So when Tess stumbles upon an old brass key that unlocks an ornately carved gate, attached to a strangely invisible wall, she jumps at the chance for adventure. And the world beyond the gate doesn’t disappoint. She finds rose gardens, a maze made of hedges, and a boy named William who is just as lonely as she is.

But at William’s castle, strange things begin to happen. Carnival games are paid for in wishes, dreams seem to come alive, and then there’s William’s eerie warning:" Beware of the hawthorn trees,” a warning that chills Tess to the bone.

In a magical, fantasy world that blurs the line between reality and imagination, readers are left to wonder exactly what they’d wish for if wishes could come true. Perfect for fans of Half Magic and The Secret Garden—and for anyone who’s ever wondered if magic is real.

Download and start listening now!

c2l7

Quotes & Awards

  • “Bursting with imagination and warmth…[this] is a magical book in all ways.”

    Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author

  • “There are scenes…that are transcendent in their beautiful, ethereal descriptions [in this] uplifting novel about family and connection.”

    Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

  • “This beautiful story’s quiet, peaceful tone nicely evokes both the serenity of country life and the haunting magic of the castle, and the emotional heft of Tess and Max’s separation from their parents, as well as their strong bond, keeps the tale firmly grounded in reality.”

    Booklist

  • “Narrator Laraine Newman infuses magic into this story…Newman captures the children’s initial reticence about their visit, separation from their father, and lack of access to the Internet and reveals how the discovery of a key to a gate changes their attitudes…She fluidly transitions between English and American accents for both child and adult characters. Best of all, her dramatic pacing and whispered warnings bring out the enchanting magic of the castle in the mist.”

    AudioFile

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Amy Ephron is the internationally bestselling author of several books written for adults, including the award-winning A Cup of Tea, and The Castle in the Mist for children. She is also a film producer, an essayist, and a contributor to Vogue and Vogue.com.

About the Narrator

Laraine Newman is a voice talent and audiobook narrator.