The Book of V.: A Novel Audiobook, by Anna Solomon Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Book of V.: A Novel Audiobook

The Book of V.: A Novel Audiobook, by Anna Solomon Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $19.99 Add to Cart
Author: Anna Solomon Narrator: Dara Rosenberg, Eva Kaminsky, Gabra Zackman Publisher: Macmillan Audio Audio Length: Release Date: May 2020 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781250754998

Publisher Description

For fans of The Hours and Fates and Furies, a bold, kaleidoscopic novel intertwining the lives of three women across three centuries as their stories of sex, power, and desire finally converge in the present day.

Lily is a mother and a daughter. And a second wife. And a writer, maybe? Or she was going to be, before she had children. Now, in her rented Brooklyn apartment she’s grappling with her sexual and intellectual desires, while also trying to manage her roles as a mother and a wife in 2016.

Vivian Barr seems to be the perfect political wife, dedicated to helping her charismatic and ambitious husband find success in Watergate-era Washington D.C. But one night he demands a humiliating favor, and her refusal to obey changes the course of her life—along with the lives of others.

Esther is a fiercely independent young woman in ancient Persia, where she and her uncle’s tribe live a tenuous existence outside the palace walls. When an innocent mistake results in devastating consequences for her people, she is offered up as a sacrifice to please the King, in the hopes that she will save them all.

In Anna Solomon's The Book of V., these three characters' riveting stories overlap and ultimately collide, illuminating how women’s lives have and have not changed over thousands of years.

A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “The Book of V. is a marvel. It’s a testament to the enduring strength and flexibility of the novel form itself, and a testament to the wisdom, clarity, and boldness of Anna Solomon. She is a remarkable writer who has written an extraordinary book.”

    - Jane Hamilton, author of The Excellent Lombards
  • “Anna Solomon reaches across centuries to capture the timeliness and timelessness of being a strong, passionate woman in a world governed by men. How far we’ve come and yet how many of the battles look the same. I was riveted by this searingly inventive, humane, and honest page-turner of a novel.”

    - Mary Beth Keane, author of Ask Again, Yes

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Anna Solomon is the award-winning author of the critically acclaimed novel The Little Bride. Her fiction has appeared in One Story, the Georgia Review, the Harvard Review, the Missouri Review, Shenandoah, and elsewhere. Her stories have twice been awarded the Pushcart Prize, have won the Missouri Review Editor’s Prize, and have been nominated for a National Magazine Award. The holder of a BA from Brown University and an MFA from the Iowa Writers Workshop, she has taught writing at the Sackett Street Writers Workshop and Manhattanville College.

About the Narrators

Dara Rosenberg is an accomplished voice-over artist who has been recognized nationally for her extensive work in audiobooks and commercials. She has a BFA in drama from NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts and studied at Interlochen Arts Academy, where she majored in drama and musical theater.

Eva Kaminsky is a New York–based actor and audiobook narrator with over 150 titles to her credit. She trained at Boston University and has acted in numerous productions on television and film, including Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Happyish, Ugly Betty, ER, Numbers, Law & Order, and others.

Gabra Zackman is an actress, author, and narrator who has won several AudioFile Earphones Awards. She was educated at Northwestern University. A classically trained actress, she has appeared in theaters all over the country as well as on film and television.