Extended Audio Sample

Download Tell Us Something True Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Tell Us Something True, by Dana Reinhardt Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Dana Reinhardt Narrator: Lincoln Hoppe Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $18.00 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

For fans of Sarah Dessen, Jennifer Smith, E. L. Lockhart, and John Green, this delightful, often comic coming-of-age novel stars the lovable, brokenhearted River, the streets of Los Angeles, and an irresistible cast of characters.

Seventeen-year-old River doesn’t know what to do with himself when Penny, the girl he adores, breaks up with him. He lives in LA, where nobody walks anywhere, and Penny was his ride; he never bothered getting a license. He’s stuck. He’s desperate. Okay … he’s got to learn to drive.

But first, he does the unthinkable—he starts walking. He stumbles upon a support group for teens with various addictions. He fakes his way into the meetings and begins to connect with the other kids, especially an amazing girl. River wants to tell the truth, but he can’t stop lying, and his tangle of deception may unravel before he learns how to handle the most potent drug of all: true love.

Download and start listening now!

b6sp

Quotes & Awards

  • “A heartfelt tale that elevates truth over passion and friends over lovers. Reinhardt keeps it real.”

    Matthew Quick, New York Times bestselling author

  • “The book focuses on River’s growing self-awareness…The narrative resounds with honesty even as River himself is quite successful at inventing little white lies.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “River has an authentic, funny, and unpredictable voice…in his need to find connections with others. The unique characteristics of Los Angeles neighborhoods…[and] the culture of group therapy, with its frequent instances of humor and pathos, is aptly captured…Recommended for libraries needing light realistic reads.”

    School Library Journal

  • “As [River] explores a new relationship with a girl from the support group and remakes his life, he finds it difficult to balance his lies.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Narrator Lincoln Hoppe’s slow pace perfectly expresses the personality of seventeen-year-old River Dean…Hoppe’s unhurried narration emphasizes River’s torpor, a dullness resulting from his emotional pain…Hoppe’s reading becomes more animated as River struggles to develop a fuller view of the world and his own truth. In addition, Hoppe vividly portrays the friends and family who buoy River at difficult moments.”

    AudioFile

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations