New
Shadows of Pecan Hollow: A Novel Audiobook, by Caroline Frost
Play Audiobook Sample

Download Shadows of Pecan Hollow: A Novel Audiobook

New
Shadows of Pecan Hollow: A Novel Audiobook, by Caroline Frost
Play Audiobook Sample
Release Date: February 8, 2022
Coming Soon!
The audiobook will be available for pre-order on January 18, 2022. Check back on that date to pre-order this title for the Feb 8, 2022 release!

Available for pre-order on:
January 18, 2022
Author: Caroline Frost Narrator: Alex McKenna, TBD Publisher: HarperAudio Audio Length: Release Date: February 8, 2022 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780063065376

Publisher Description

Paper Moon meets Badlands in this mesmerizing Texas backroads thriller, a twisty story of a runaway girl who finds a home and a desperate love on the road with an opportunistic criminal, and the long comet’s tail of their story. A notable debut, drenched in regional detail and told in a gritty, sensual prose.”—Janet Fitch, #1 New York Times bestselling author of White Oleander

Set in Texas in the 1970s and 90s, Shadows of Pecan Hollow is a literary debut about a fierce woman and the partner-in-crime she can’t escape, perfect for readers of Where the Crawdads Sing and Valentine.

It was 1970 when thirteen-year-old runaway Kit Walker was abducted by Manny Romero, a smooth-talking, low-level criminal, who first coddled her and then groomed her into his partner-in-crime. Before long, Kit and Manny were infamous for their string of gas station robberies throughout Texas, making a name for themselves as the Texaco Twosome.

Twenty years after they meet, Kit has scraped together a life for herself and her daughter amongst the pecan trees and muddy creeks of the town of Pecan Hollow, far from Manny. But when he shows up at her doorstep a new man, fresh out of prison, Kit is forced to reckon with the shadows of her past, and her community is sent into a tailspin. 

This gritty, penetrating, and unexpectedly tender novel ensnares the reader in its story of resilience and bonds that define us. With its rich rural landscape, indelible characters, and striking regional language, Shadows of Pecan Hollow is a hauntingly intimate and distinctly original debut about the complexity of love—both romantic and familial—and the strength and vulnerability of womanhood. 

Download and start listening now!

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Narrators

Alex McKenna is an Earphones Award–winning audiobook narrator and a television and film actress best known for her role as Abby Macy in the television series Crossing Jordan.

Jesse Vilinsky is a classically trained actress and voice actor, having graduated from the USC School of Dramatic Arts and BADA in London. She has lent her voice to numerous film and television projects and has worked on various video games, animation, and commercial projects as well. As a narrator, Jesse has garnered recognition in AudioFile magazine for her expertly voiced characters and ability to bring forth the strength and truth of their stories.