Shadow Child Audiobook, by Rahna Reiko Rizzuto Play Audiobook Sample

Download Shadow Child Audiobook

Shadow Child Audiobook, by Rahna Reiko Rizzuto Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $25.98 Add to Cart
Author: Rahna Reiko Rizzuto Narrator: Christine Lakin Publisher: Hachette Book Group Audio Length: Release Date: May 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781549168673

Publisher Description

For fans of Tayari Jones and Ruth Ozeki, from National Book Critics Circle Award finalist Rizzuto comes a haunting and suspenseful literary tale set in 1970s New York City and World War II-era Japan, about three strong women, the dangerous ties of family and identity, and the long shadow our histories can cast.

Twin sisters Hana and Kei grew up in a tiny Hawaiian town in the 1950s and 1960s, so close they shared the same nickname. Raised in dreamlike isolation by their loving but unstable mother, they were fatherless, mixed-race, and utterly inseparable, devoted to one another. But when their cherished threesome with Mama is broken and then further shattered by a violent, nearly fatal betrayal that neither young woman can forgive, it seems their bond may be severed forever—until, six years later, Kei arrives on Hana’s lonely Manhattan doorstep with a secret that will change everything.

Told in interwoven narratives that glide seamlessly between the gritty streets of New York, the lush and dangerous landscape of Hawaii, and the horrors of the Japanese internment camps and the bombing of Hiroshima, Shadow Child is set against an epic sweep of history.

Volcanos, tsunamis, abandonment, racism, and war form the urgent, unforgettable backdrop of this intimate, evocative, and deeply moving story of motherhood, sisterhood, and second chances.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “A beautifully woven historical saga wrapped in a page-turning mystery, Shadow Child explores time, memory, and identity…This is a stunning story of sisterhood and survival, of healing and forgiveness, and how we find our true selves in each other.”

    - Hannah Tinti,author of The Good Thief
  • “Rahna Reiko Rizzuto probes, with great compassion, the heart-wrenching complexities of identity, memory, history, and survival.”

    - Ruth Ozeki, author of A Tale for the Time Being
  • “A beautiful, unafraid novel, a story of how history shapes and fractures identity in family…Part historical, part mystery, part family love story that is on every page masterfully wrought.”

    - Victoria Redel, author of Before Everything

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Rahna Reiko Rizzuto is the author of the memoir Hiroshima in the Morning, which was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. Her debut novel, Why She Left Us, won an American Book Award. She was the first woman to graduate from Columbia College with a BA in astrophysics.

About the Narrator

Christine Lakin is an Earphones Award–winning narrator and acclaimed television actress, best known for her roles as Alicia “Al” Lambert on the hit family comedy Step by Step and as Joan of Arc on Showtime’s Reefer Madness.