Extended Audio Sample

Download Replay Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Replay, by Ken Grimwood Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (7,859 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Ken Grimwood Narrator: William Dufris Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: November 2008 ISBN: 9781400180103
Regular Price: $20.49 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A time-travel classic in the tradition of Jack Finney's Time and Again, Ken Grimwood's acclaimed novel Replay asks the provocative question: "What if you could live your life over again, knowing the mistakes you'd made before?" Forty-three-year-old Jeff Winston gets several chances to do just that. Trapped in a tepid marriage and a dead-end job, he dies in 1988 and wakes up to find himself in 1963, at the age of eighteen, staring at his dorm room walls at Emory University. It's all the same...but different: Jeff knows what the future holds. He knows who will win every World Series...every Kentucky Derby...even how to win on Wall Street. The one thing he doesn't know is: Why has he been chosen to replay his life? And how many times must he win-and lose-everything he loves? Winner of the 1988 World Fantasy Award for best novel and published in eleven languages, Replay unravels the answers in a masterful skein that captivates our imagination. Download and start listening now!

be1x

Quotes & Awards

  • Dufris's skilled delivery of the fantasy of reliving one's life has just the right tone of wise hindsight. AudioFile

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tom | 2/15/2014

    " very interesting book about reliving your life over and over again "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nancy | 2/9/2014

    " A very interesting story. Like Groundhog Day but for years not just replaying a day. Some of the replays were totally wasted and I got tired of the all the sex, but still a pretty entertaining concept. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tim Kadlec | 2/7/2014

    " While it's commonly classified as science fiction, Replay's only tie to the science fiction genre is the time loop that the main character is caught up in. The book extends beyond the genre and is actually an surprisingly deep and interesting look at life in general - the choices we make throughout our lives, and the consequences and trade-offs that result from them. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Martin Maenza | 1/24/2014

    " For my review please visit my blog: Martin's View: Replay. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Brian Emgushov | 1/12/2014

    " Nice book recommended by my bro-in-law. I went in with no expectations. Well written though not amazing prose, nice story, though nothing earth shattering. The best aspect of this book was a chance to reflect on your own life and how things could have been different. And how things still could be different. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Adonna | 1/8/2014

    " Actually more like three and a half stars. Easy and very compelling read. I'll reserve further comments until after the book group meeting;) "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Janina | 1/6/2014

    " A book with a GREAT plot. Grimwood barely touched the science of time traveling and instead focused on the characters and their 'growth' throughout each replay. Unfortunately what could be an excellent plot was continually hampered down by the pseudo-intellectual/spiritual brouhaha. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kniephof | 1/4/2014

    " Pretty interesting and thougth provoking. Probably more like 3.5 stars...maybe a 4. But generally round down, so I'm sticking with that rating style. This book really made me think about what I'd do in his situation. I liked it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Dave | 12/28/2013

    " We've all thought about what we'd do if we could live our life over again. Well, Grimwood explores the real consequences of that. It's a book about regrets, second chances, inevitability and self-exploration. It's an extremely interesting book, I recommend it to anyone. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Mary | 7/26/2013

    " I liked the narrative style of this book and its premise, but the constant name-bombing of sites in Atlanta irked me. I'm sorry Replay, but I cannot see you anymore. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Justine Janora | 5/29/2013

    " This is one of the only books I ever read twice because it was such a pageturner! I loved it! Makes you evaluate your life and what you could change and keep the same if you had to do it over again. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jeff | 10/30/2012

    " A neat book that really makes you think about how you live your life .... in a fiction sort of way. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Eddie Kidd-butler | 9/7/2012

    " One of my favorite books! Very simillar to Groundhog Day, except the protagonist goes back to a certain time in the past after he dies, and gets to relive his life again and again. It's one of those books I wish I could have read longer. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lorna | 5/5/2012

    " Enjoyable. Didn't care for the spiritual stuff in the middle. An easy read. Some of the writing wasn't the greatest, but the relationships were interesting. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Bret Schlyer | 11/20/2011

    " Great book about a guy that dies in 1988 and wakes up in 1963 and gets another shot at his life. Highly recommended. (audiobook version) "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Kris Carroll | 9/26/2011

    " The Groundhog Day comparison in many reviews is appropriate. I enjoyed the book while I was reading it, but on close examination it does not hold up. There were sloppy passages and bits of sentimentality. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dani | 9/17/2011

    " Was definitely a book that made you think about the "what if's" in life. Some things were a little out there - but overall it was a very enjoyable concept. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Marianne Gries | 8/17/2011

    " I really enjoyed this book - it was quite the page-turner! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jeff Brateman | 6/28/2011

    " This was an interesting philosophical approach to time travel. It reminded me of an Outer Limits episode with Kevin Nealon. I think the moral of the book, just like Jim Carrey says, is to have no regrets. Thanks for this recommendation ABC. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Brian | 5/19/2011

    " Really interesting and it transcends the genre to become an examination of what it means to live a life. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Christie | 5/9/2011

    " Hmm, really a 3.5. Not sure what it is that make it not a 4, but it seemed to lack a certain spark or charisma. Otherwise, very enjoyable to read, interesting concept and plot. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Karen | 5/4/2011

    " This was an enjoyable and thought provoking read. It reminded me a bit of the movie The Butterfly Effect, which I also enjoyed. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Digdem | 4/14/2011

    " a sad story of ken grimwood... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Abs007 | 4/6/2011

    " An enjoyable book with an interesting premise. I haven't read anything before with quite this time travelling notion and that fact in itself is a big plus.
    "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ryan | 4/6/2011

    " Great idea for a book. Just as good of an imagination. Ending was a surprise, but I guess not what I was really looking for. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Bob | 3/30/2011

    " I remember seeing this book from the Science Fiction Book Club back in the 80's and thinking the premise was cool.

    If I had read it then, I don't think I would have enjoyed is much as I did in my 40's. It resonated with me. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kendar88 | 3/27/2011

    " Very original. Time bending, but quite believable. Really enjoyed it. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations