Powers of Arrest: A Cincinnati Casebook Audiobook, by Jon Talton Play Audiobook Sample

Download Powers of Arrest: A Cincinnati Casebook Audiobook

Powers of Arrest: A Cincinnati Casebook Audiobook, by Jon Talton Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
Author: Jon Talton Narrator: Lloyd James Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Audio Length: Series:The Cincinnati Casebooks Release Date: May 2012 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781481590242

Publisher Description

Cincinnati homicide detective Will Borders now walks with a cane and lives alone in constant discomfort. He's lucky to be alive. He's lucky to have his job as public information officer for the department. But when a star cop is brutally murdered, Borders is assigned to find her killer.

The crime bears a chilling similarity to killings on the once peaceful college campus nearby, where his friend Cheryl Beth Wilson teaches nursing. The two young victims were her students. Most homicides are routine, the suspects readily apparent. But there are no obvious suspects in this new case.

The unlikely pair of Detective Borders and Professor Wilson must team up once again to pursue a sadistic predator before there are more killings. But finding the killer will mean uncovering some of the darkest secrets in a Midwestern metropolis where change is slow, where tradition and history lay as thick as the summer humidity, and where lethal danger can hide in the most respected of places.

Download and start listening now!


  • “Talton affectionately evokes the flavors of Cincinnati, especially its blue-collar, ethnically rich neighborhoods.”

    - Seattle Times
  • “Excellent…The Ohio local color lends depth, and the threat of extreme violence compels, but the novel’s chief interest is watching two mature, vulnerable people become real partners whose survival really matters.”

    - Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • “Full of praise for its Cincinnati locale…this sequel confirms that the Will Borders novels have all the makings of a fine series.”

    - Booklist
  • “Talton crafts a solid mystery while telling the engrossing, sometimes poignant story of a cop with a cane who refuses to be pigeonholed.”

    - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)


  • A Kirkus Reviews “New and Notable Title”, May 2012

Customer Reviews

Write a Review
  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " First book I've read in the series. It was very good "

    - Denis, 10/15/2013
  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " If you enjoy reading mysteries set in Cincinnati, you'll enjoy this. While the writing isn't awesome, the description of Cincinnati scenes is great and the characters are enjoyable. "

    - Linda, 9/6/2013
  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " What a great book. Overall well written and I loved the main detective. I'm hoping there are more books with him as the main guy. "

    - Alicia, 11/23/2012
  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Picked this one off the new books shelf. Writing OK, too much gore for my taste. "

    - Tom, 11/17/2012
  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

    " did not finish, boring "

    - Gerry, 8/31/2012

About the Author

Jon Talton is a fourth-generation Arizonan, the author of numerous novels, a former columnist for the Arizona Republic, and former business editor of the Cincinnati Enquirer. He currently is the economics columnist for the Seattle Times and writes the blog Rogue ColumnistDry Heat, the third David Mapstone mystery, was named 2005 fiction book of the year by Arizona Highways magazine.

About the Narrator

Lloyd James (a.k.a. Sean Pratt) has been narrating since 1996 and has recorded over six hundred audiobooks. He is a seven-time winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award and has twice been a finalist for the prestigious Audie Award. His critically acclaimed performances include Elvis in the Morning by William F. Buckley Jr. and Searching for Bobby Fischer by Fred Waitzkin, among others.