Nine Lessons: A Josephine Tey Mystery Audiobook, by Nicola Upson Play Audiobook Sample

Download Nine Lessons: A Josephine Tey Mystery Audiobook

Nine Lessons: A Josephine Tey Mystery Audiobook, by Nicola Upson Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
Author: Nicola Upson Narrator: Wanda McCaddon Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Audio Length: Series:The Josephine Tey Mysteries Release Date: October 2017 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781538452691

Publisher Description

Josephine Tey, a sharp-witted amateur sleuth based on the celebrated Golden Age mystery writer, returns in the seventh in Nicola Upson’s critically acclaimed series, perfect for readers of Agatha Christie and Jacqueline Winspear.

Called to the peaceful wooded churchyard of St John-at-Hampstead, Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose faces one of the most audacious and unusual murders of his career. The body of the church’s organist is found in an opened grave, together with a photograph of a manor house and a cryptic note. The image leads Archie to Cambridge, where the crisp autumn air has brought with it bustling life to the ancient university and town.

Mystery author Josephine Tey and Archie’s lover Bridget Foley have each recently settled in Cambridge, though both women are not equally happy to see him. One has concealed an important secret from Archie which now threatens to come to light. Meanwhile, the change of seasons has also brought with it a series of vicious attacks against women in town, spreading fear and suspicion through the community.

Soon, another body is revealed, and in the shadow of King’s College Chapel, Archie uncovers a connection twenty-five years old which haunted both victims—as well as some of their living companions. As Archie and Josephine each grapple with savage malefactors intent on making their victims pay, they must race to stop another attack in this beautifully written, intricately plotted mystery.

Download and start listening now!


  • “A terrific read…Elegant…A memorable novel.”

    - San Francisco Book Review
  • “In Upton’s superlative seventh outing for Penrose and his close friend and investigative assistant, real-life mystery author Josephine Tey…Upson successfully incorporates moving and complex interpersonal conflicts involving her main characters into an intricate, credible whodunit story line.”

    - Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • “A skillful blend of fact and fiction with compelling plotlines and vivid evocation of 1937 England.”

    - Booklist
  • “The culture of England between the two World Wars comes vividly to life…Fans of historical British mysteries…will delight in this old-fashioned whodunit starring characters with depth and heart.”

    - Library Journal
  • “Fans of Charles Todd, Jacqueline Winspear, or Tey herself are sure to adore Nicola Upson’s journey into 1930s England…Readers interested in Britain between the wars will particularly appreciate the grim undercurrents, but anyone can enjoy this clever mystery.”

    - Shelf Awareness

Listeners Also Enjoyed:

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Nicola Upson is the award-winning author of several novels, including An Expert in Murder, Angel with Two Faces, and Two for Sorrow. She was the winner of an Escalator/Arts Council England award in 2006 for her debut novel, An Expert in Murder. She is also the author of a number of nonfiction books, including Mythologies: the Sculpture of Helaine Blumenfeld and In Good Company: A Snapshot of Theatre and the Arts.

About the Narrator

Wanda McCaddon (a.k.a. Nadia May or Donada Peters) has narrated well over six hundred titles for major audiobook publishers, has earned numerous Earphones Awards, and was named a Golden Voice by AudioFile magazine.