Extended Audio Sample

Download Night of Thunder Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Night of Thunder Audiobook, by Stephen Hunter Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5 3.70 (27 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Stephen Hunter Narrator: Buck Schirner Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Bob Lee Swagger Series Release Date: September 2008 ISBN: 9781423369608
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

New York Times bestselling author Stephen Hunter sends former Marine sniper Bob Lee Swagger deep into the heart of NASCAR country in this action-packed thriller.

Talk about a ride!

Woe unto he who crosses Bob Lee Swagger, especially when his daughter’s life is at stake. Forced off the road and into a crash that leaves her in a coma, clinging to life, reporter Nikki Swagger had begun to peel back the onion of a Southern-fried-conspiracy bubbling with all the angst, resentment, and dysfunction that Dixie gangsters can muster. An ancient, violent crime clan, a possibly corrupt law enforcement structure, gunmen of all stripes and shapes, and deranged evangelicals rear their ugly heads and will live to rue the day they targeted the wrong man’s daughter. It’s what you call your big-time bad career move. All of it is set against the backdrop of excitement and insanity that only a weeklong NASCAR event can bring to the backwoods of a town as seemingly sleepy as Bristol, Tennessee.

A master at the top of his game, Hunter provides a host of thrilling new reasons to listen as fast as we can. When Swagger picks up peeling where his daughter left off, and his swift sword of justice is let loose, we find a true American hero in his most stunning action to date. And—in the form of Brother Richard, a self-decreed “Sinnerman” out of the old fire-and-brimstone tradition—Hunter offers up his most diabolical, engaging villain yet. A triumph of story, character, and style, Night of Thunder is Stephen Hunter at his very best.

Download and start listening now!

ap93

Quotes & Awards

  • A 2009 Barry Award Finalist for Best Thriller
  • A New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 lola Franco | 1/30/2014

    " had forgotten i read this awhile ago, till someone lent it to me. it was actually a really good, fast read. maybe because it bordered on a beach type read, i'd forgotten it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Eric Brown | 1/28/2014

    " Story moves along; serviceable thriller, with a nice exciting conclusion. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Bob | 1/14/2014

    " Kindle book - "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Rex Fuller | 11/26/2013

    " First rate. I will read all of the Bob Lee Swagger books Hunter ever writes. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Heidi Thomas | 11/25/2013

    " An action-packed adventure. This man shows his knowledge of guns. He does a good job. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lorie | 10/25/2013

    " Good story and fun facts about NASCAR. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Navajojim | 10/7/2013

    " Bob Lee, definately has swagger. Great book, with twists and turns, like the Arizonia desert. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tim Niland | 9/18/2013

    " According to my colleague, I'm not allowed to use the term "dicklit" anymore and instead must use the more prosaic "manfiction" to describe the type of book that has big boys with big cars with big engines and big guns with really big explosions. Bob Lee Swagger's daughter is a reporter hot on the trail of a meth ring, when she is forced off the road in a murder attempt and ends up in a coma. Swagger is an ex marine sniper and all-around badass who is not going to take this lying down. So he rolls into Tennessee to unravel a web of phony Baptist preachers, clan warfare, and drug runners in the requisite hail of gunfire. This is kind of a guilty pleasure for me. In real life I am a pacifist who abhors violence, but it is so satisfying to read a cheesy story about rednecks shooting each other and blowing each other up. There is also a significant and somewhat disturbing "firearms porn" angle here as Hunter describes in loving detail the phallic nature of all of the ordinance and ammunition used in the novel. Despite all of the criticism I have levied, this was a good "turn your brain off" story which is kept moving at a breakneck pace throughout. Fans of Clive Cussler and Lee Child will find a lot to enjoy here. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Andrea | 7/21/2013

    " I was expecting more Swagger and less NASCAR, and the pacing was extremely uneven, but those and other quibbles were wiped out by my (somewhat embarrassing) delight in total NASCAR mayhem. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bradley | 3/31/2013

    " Bob Lee Swagger and his daughter, in NASCAR country. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Vance | 9/13/2012

    " Greg - these Swagger novels buy Stephen Hunter are really good. They made a horrible movie about one of them last year with Marky Mark in it. Despite that you should try them. If you go in order they are better though. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tim | 5/21/2012

    " Stephen Hunter has written great novels like Point of Impact (movie the Shooter), 47th Samurai and Pale Horse Coming... Night of Thunder is not in that class, but is better than Havana. 5 of 10 stars at best. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Burt | 4/25/2012

    " The Bob Lee Swagger series is just outstanding. I think Bobby Lee can take care of Mitch Rapp and Jack Reacher. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Claudette | 4/25/2012

    " Better than 7th Samurai, but still not a good Bob Lee book. Would be better as a stand alone book with a different character. Leave Bob Lee with guns, and stop trying to link every book together! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Cindy | 3/8/2012

    " It started out so promising and exciting. Then it just degenerated into a hillbilly nightmare. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jason Landau | 12/15/2011

    " Drugs and Nascar that should get a lot of people excited. Bob Lee Swagger is one of my favorite characters. A tough hombre and please Markie Mark (Shooter- the movie of point of impact) is no Bob Swagger. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Suresh Vijendran | 10/22/2011

    " Good Book. Readable couple of times. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jim | 7/20/2011

    " Great Love Bob Lee Swagger and Richard Petty "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Wayne | 5/28/2011

    " Another Bob Lee Swagger book according to Hunter's standard formula. If you like his other books, you'll like this one. Good for an escape book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tom Krein | 3/24/2011

    " If you like Stephen Hunter and the "Bob the Nailer" books you will enjoy this one. Its written a little differently, but an enjoyable read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Toni | 7/23/2010

    " Not as good as earlier Bob Lee Swagger books "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lorie | 7/17/2010

    " Good story and fun facts about NASCAR. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Steve | 3/15/2010

    " real book.
    race car stuff with bob's grown daughter.
    the grumlys are a wonderfully wicked crowd.
    makes for fun reading. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bradley | 2/16/2010

    " Bob Lee Swagger and his daughter, in NASCAR country. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tom | 2/11/2010

    " If you like Stephen Hunter and the "Bob the Nailer" books you will enjoy this one. Its written a little differently, but an enjoyable read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kevin "El Liso Grande" | 1/30/2010

    " Bob Lee Swagger is a terrific character and Hunter writes this genre and story well. Good, fun guy read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Angela | 1/17/2010

    " Starts out with a bang. Can't wait to finish! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Stephen Hunter

Stephen Hunter is an author and former Pulitzer Prize–winning film critic for the Washington Post. The author of the Bob Lee Swagger and Earl Swagger series of novels, he has also published several novels, two collections of film criticism, and other nonfiction works. He lives in Baltimore, Maryland.

About the Narrator

Buck Schirner’s professional career has primarily been on stage as a character actor. He is currently active in the theater scene in Philadelphia. Buck also appears in the independent film In the Woods.