My Seditious Heart: Collected Nonfiction Audiobook, by Arundhati Roy Play Audiobook Sample

My Seditious Heart: Collected Nonfiction Audiobook

My Seditious Heart: Collected Nonfiction Audiobook, by Arundhati Roy Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $29.95 Add to Cart
Read By: Tania Rodrigues Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 24.17 hours at 1.5x Speed 18.13 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: June 2019 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781982680008

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

96:29 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

06:13 minutes

Average Chapter Length:

40:18 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by Arundhati Roy: > View All...

Publisher Description

Bookended by her two extraordinary novels, The God of Small Things (1997) and The Ministry of Utmost Happiness (2017), My Seditious Heart collects the work of a two-decade period when Arundhati Roy devoted herself to the political essay as a way of opening up space for justice, rights, and freedoms in an increasingly hostile environment.

Radical and superbly readable, the essays speak in a voice of unique spirit, marked by compassion, clarity, and courage. Roy offers a powerful defense of the collective, of the individual, and of the land, in the face of the destructive logic of financial, social, religious, military, and governmental elites.

In constant conversation with the themes and settings of her novels, the essays form a near-unbroken memoir of Arundhati Roy’s journey as both a writer and a citizen, of both India and the world, from “The End of Imagination,” which begins this book, to “My Seditious Heart,” with which it ends.

Download and start listening now!

“Arundhati Roy calls for ‘factual precision’ alongside of the ‘real precision of poetry.’ Remarkably, she combines those achievements to a degree that few can hope to approach.”

— Noam Chomsky 


  • “Arundhati Roy is incandescent in her brilliance and her fearlessness. And in these extraordinary essays—which are clarions for justice, for witness, for a true humanity.”

    — Junot Díaz, New York Times bestselling author
  • “Arundhati Roy combines her brilliant style as a novelist with her powerful commitment to social justice in producing these eloquent, penetrating essays.”

    — Howard Zinn
  • “Arundhati Roy is one of the few great revolutionary intellectuals in our time…Courageous, visionary, and erudite.”

    — Cornel West, praise for the author
  • “Arundhati Roy is one of the most confident and original thinkers of our time.”

    — Naomi Klein, praise for the author
  • “The world has never had to face such global confusion. Only in facing it can we make sense of what we have to do. And this is precisely what Arundhati Roy does.”

    — John Berger, praise for the author

My Seditious Heart Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Arundhati Roy

Arundhati Roy is the author of the New York Times bestsellers The God of Small Things and The Ministry of Utmost Happiness, as well as several nonfiction titles. She was trained as an architect and has worked as a production designer and screenwriter for two films.

About Tania Rodrigues

Tania Rodrigues is a London-based actor and voice artist and an Earphones Award–winning narrator. She brings a unique cultural perspective to her work, coming from a family with roots in India, Portugal, and Britain. She grew up in Hong Kong and has since lived in both the UK and US. She trained at the Drama Studio in London and completed a BA degree with honors in English and drama. She has narrated many award-winning audiobooks, including the Booker Prize winner The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai.