Extended Audio Sample

Download Mustaine: A Heavy Metal Memoir Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Mustaine: A Heavy Metal Memoir, by Dave Mustaine Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1,706 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Dave Mustaine, Joe Layden Narrator: Tom Wayland Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $24.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

From his early, crazy days as a founding member of Metallica, Dave Mustaine has seen and experienced everything in the world of rock n’ roll. From his young triumphs and ignominious ouster from the band for his hard-partying ways to his later rule over Megadeth, one of the most successful heavy metal bands of all time, Mustaine tells it all. Outrageously candid and in-your-face, this is classic rock memoir in the vein of Slash, Motley Crue: The Dirt, and Sound of the Beast—an insider’s look at the loud and sordid world of heavy metal. Download and start listening now!

BK_HARP_002253

Quotes & Awards

  • “Entirely awesome.”

    Washington Post

  • “Dave Mustaine’s memoir is the narrative of a struggling, hard-won music career. It is also the story of survival, redemption, and faith…Transcending simple religion and music, Mustaine’s Heavy Metal Memoir will leave you moved and inspired.”

    Globe and Mail (Toronto)

  • “[Mustaine’s] memoir is honest, certainly—and not without that trademark bite—but there is also considerable maturity in his words.”

    Quietus

  • “One of metal’s most fascinating figures…A blast to read.”

    Metal Injection

  • A New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Bree | 2/10/2014

    " Utterly ridiculous. Highly entertaining. One of the best comedy books I've ever read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Stuart | 2/1/2014

    " I'm not an enormous fan of biographies, even those by people who I am a fan of, and Dave Mustaine's A Life in Metal could not fit in this category more. I have been a fan of Megadeth for over a decade and picking up this book was obviously an attempt to squeeze out a little extra backstory to this man's remarkable life and career. Although a well-written book, with all the black humour and you'd expect from such a unique and successful person, it still seems a little thin on the ground. Perhaps I approach biographies expecting too much detail, but whole years go by that are completely skipped over, largely due to the book's almost unavoidable reliance on the career of Mustaine's band, Megadeth as a guide. The and the book's overly linear timeline could have been shaken up to make the book seem less cyclical, recording/tour/rehab cycle could be refreshed. The sum of this is a book that, like most biographies, will hardly be of interest to anyone outside his admittedly large fanbase. I cannot imagine that Mustaine planned to reach far outside of this, but the man is clearly of great intelligence and has an interesting story to tell, so a little more creativity on behalf of his ghost-writer could have worked wonders. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Jennifer | 1/27/2014

    " It was ok/ pretty good. I have read better rock and roll memoirs and biographies though. I can't really put my finger on what made the others better. I can give you tons of recommendations for really good ones if that's your thing though. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Steven | 1/26/2014

    " good read, but I am not a fan of the style in which it was written. it's almost like Dave dictated it to someone during a series of interviews. if you have ever seen or heard interviews with mr. mustaine, he speaks exactly how it is written. words no one uses, stroking his own ego, etc. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations