Extended Audio Sample

Download Landsman Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Landsman Audiobook, by Peter Charles Melman Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (114 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Peter Charles Melman Narrator: Daniel Oreskes Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: June 2007 ISBN: 9781482977028
Regular Price: $29.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In the summer of 1853, in Lafayette City, Louisiana, eleven-year-old Elias Abrams loses his mother to yellow fever. Grief-stricken and alone, he becomes embroiled in the street life of New Orleans. After Elias is falsely accused of a crime, and in order to escape arrest, he enlists in the Third Louisiana Regiment, where three thousand other Jews will ultimately fight for the Confederacy. Before long, though, Elias’ past catches up with him, and he realizes that he must face his demons, or lose the woman he loves. Download and start listening now!

b0ap

Quotes & Awards

  • “What could be more worth of praise than a novelist who takes something that everyone's already looked at and considers it from the other side of the telescope in a way that's both unique and mesmerizing...Peter Melman has crafted a sensitive, important story with a debut worth making a big fuss over.”

    M. J. Rose, author of  The Reincarnationist

  • “Much remains untold about the impact of Southern Jews in the Civil War; Landman invites us into this rich, lost world that once was, though the power of one man’s story.”

    Robert Hicks, author of The Widow of the South

  • “Melman’s tale is meticulously researched, but the details of his narrative—the lay of the Missouri and Arkansas battlefields, the rush and roar of battle, the delicate waltz and lingo of innocent young love—Only season it; they do not bury it…Landsman is an undeniably fine and absorbing first novel by a promising talent.”

    Oregonian

  • “At times ribald and always real, Melman creates a rich and authentic story.”

    Booklist

  • “Melman has mixed a sumptuous blend of all the elements of classic storytelling to create a profoundly satisfying work.”

    BookPage

  • Landsman is both eartly and mystic, with themes of patricide, betrayal, and hope brought to satisfying and human resolution.”

    BookSense

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Gay | 2/12/2014

    " fabulous book!!!!! recommend if you like American Civil War period, love stories, southern men "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Amy-Karen | 12/18/2013

    " Supposed to the the new Red Badge of Courage. Don't count on it... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Catherine Lera | 11/8/2013

    " It was an interesting book. The writing style was a bit stiff - kinda victorian, also very violent. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Cheryl/Aradanryl | 8/15/2013

    " I rarely give up on a book but I'm abandoning this one a bit over halfway. Way way too much nasty language and gratuitious sex. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Cupcake_Orgasm | 8/6/2013

    " I finished this because I can't stand not finishing a book I started but I didn't like it. Nothing about the story hooked me. There are better Civil War stories out there. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tama Segal | 7/5/2013

    " Amazingly well written. My husband and I read ALOT and this has been one of favorites! It's not just the story, but the use of the language that makes it special. It's a quick read because you cannot put it down. I highly recommend it. Can't wait for his next book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jen | 7/2/2013

    " Good story, if a bit graphic for my tastes at times. The main character's transformation from a gangster to a guy trying to set things right was done well - instantaneous transformation or fall in love at first sight stories like that usually drive me nuts. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Lewis | 1/6/2013

    " I picked this up randomly at the library...I love a Civil War novel, usually. Let's just say this was a borderline bodice ripper and I cannot even believe the author has a phd in creative writing....it was unbelievably bad and took all I had in me to finish. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Elena Melman | 10/27/2012

    " This book is beautifully written. It's gritty, violent, romantic, and heatbreaking. I would recommend it to anyone interested in History, The Civil War, Jewish History, and love stories. Visually stunning. And the author's hot! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Davidhfinkel | 9/6/2012

    " insanely eloquent prose, yet brutally unrelenting all the same. total page turner. if you like the works of cormac mccarthy you will definitely enjoy this. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Nathan | 7/12/2012

    " This book grabs you with violence and a taste of the dark side of New Orleans during the civil war. But its focus is maturing, redemption. A debut by the author, it is beautifully written, lyrical yet raw as hell. The characterizations are stellar. Once I got on it, it was done within days. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jane | 6/9/2012

    " Street smart Jew in Civil WAr South in love with Miss Nora Bloom "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Richard Dong | 4/9/2012

    " Ubber book minus the curse words. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Ann | 4/1/2012

    " This was one on the $1 table at Barnes & Noble. Hard to get into, but the last 1/4 of the book was interesting. Fighting on the wrong side of the Civil War, starvation, and walking in the snow without shoes stuff for pages and pages. Ok, but not anything I'd recomment. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Teresa Thompson Arcangel | 11/2/2011

    " I listened to the unabridged audio edition. I love reading historical fiction. This book introduced me to aspects of life in Civil War America that I'd never considered. The story is brutal so I can't say I "enjoyed" it. But I'm very glad I listened to it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 David Wesson | 9/11/2011

    " This book is an incredible debut. The lingo and culture of the South during the Civil War is so raw. I loved this book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Justin Wisdom | 12/20/2010

    " Gritty. No holding back. Well written accounts of civil war battles, but not all the focus of the story. Keeps you wanting more. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Eleanor | 9/3/2010

    " A poor man's Cold Mountain. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kelley A. | 11/1/2009

    " I am biased. My best friend wrote this book. I love it. The story is solid and classic. The characters are smart. The backdrop of the south feels like home. I have enjoyed this book every single time I read it. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Kate | 9/27/2009

    " Dad said it was too Romancey for his taste. From what he said it seemed like it would be an excellent read-a-like for Cold Mountain. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Amy-Karen | 7/10/2009

    " Supposed to the the new Red Badge of Courage. Don't count on it... "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Cheryl/Aradanryl | 1/30/2009

    " I rarely give up on a book but I'm abandoning this one a bit over halfway. Way way too much nasty language and gratuitious sex. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Nathan | 7/7/2008

    " This book grabs you with violence and a taste of the dark side of New Orleans during the civil war. But its focus is maturing, redemption. A debut by the author, it is beautifully written, lyrical yet raw as hell. The characterizations are stellar. Once I got on it, it was done within days. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Catherine | 7/5/2008

    " It was an interesting book. The writing style was a bit stiff - kinda victorian, also very violent. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Eleanor | 5/6/2008

    " A poor man's Cold Mountain. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jen | 3/5/2008

    " Good story, if a bit graphic for my tastes at times. The main character's transformation from a gangster to a guy trying to set things right was done well - instantaneous transformation or fall in love at first sight stories like that usually drive me nuts. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 laura | 2/16/2008

    " I picked this up randomly at the library...I love a Civil War novel, usually. Let's just say this was a borderline bodice ripper and I cannot even believe the author has a phd in creative writing....it was unbelievably bad and took all I had in me to finish. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Elena | 1/28/2008

    " This book is beautifully written. It's gritty, violent, romantic, and heatbreaking. I would recommend it to anyone interested in History, The Civil War, Jewish History, and love stories. Visually stunning. And the author's hot! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kelley | 1/27/2008

    " I am biased. My best friend wrote this book. I love it. The story is solid and classic. The characters are smart. The backdrop of the south feels like home. I have enjoyed this book every single time I read it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Richard | 1/11/2008

    " Ubber book minus the curse words. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Davidhfinkel | 8/17/2007

    " insanely eloquent prose, yet brutally unrelenting all the same. total page turner. if you like the works of cormac mccarthy you will definitely enjoy this. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Peter Charles Melman was raised in Louisiana, where he earned his doctorate in creative writing from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. He currently teaches English at Hunter College High School in New York and lives in Brooklyn.

About the Narrator

Daniel Oreskes is a narrator as well as a film, television, and stage actor. He has earned two AudioFile Earphones Awards for his narrations and has twice been a finalist for the Audie Award, including for 2012 Audiobook of the Year. His several film roles include The Thomas Crown Affair and Day Zero, and his many television credits include episodes of  Law & Order. He has acted on Broadway in Electra and Aida and in the off-Broadway Arthur Miller play Mr. Peters’ Connections with Peter Falk, as well as in numerous Shakespeare performances. A native New Yorker, he trained at the London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art.