Extended Audio Sample

Download Ice: A Memoir of Gangster Life and Redemption—from South Central to Hollywood Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Ice: A Memoir of Gangster Life and Redemption—from South Central to Hollywood, by Ice-T, Douglas Century Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Ice-T, Douglas Century Narrator: Mirron Willis Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $16.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

For readers of Sister Souljah’s No Disrespect, Nathan McCall’s Makes Me Wanna Holler, The Autobiography of Malcolm X, and Monster by Sanyika Shakur comes the definitive memoir from Ice-T, the acclaimed rapper and actor known for telling it like it is.

He’s a hip-hop icon credited with single-handedly creating gangsta rap. Television viewers know him as Detective Odafin “Fin” Tutuola on the top-rated drama Law & Order: SVU. But where the hype and the headlines end, the real story of Ice-T—the one few of his millions of fans have ever heard—truly begins. Ice is Ice-T in his own words—raw, uncensored, and unafraid to speak his mind. He talks about his orphan upbringing on the gang-infested streets of South Central, his four-year stint in the US Army, his successful career as a hustler and thief, and his fateful decision to turn away from a life of crime and forge his own path to international stardom. Along the way, Ice shares never-before-told stories about friends such as Tupac, Dick Wolf, Chris Rock, and Flavor Flav, among others. He also offers up candid observations on marriage and monogamy, the current state of hip-hop, and his latest passion: mentoring at-risk youths around the country.

With insights into the cutthroat world of the street—and the cutthroat world of Hollywood—Ice is the unforgettable story of a true American original.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_004275

Quotes & Awards

  • “A goes-down-easy mélange of memoir, self-help, and amateur criminology…Ultimately, Ice showcases an eminently reasonable, positively likable guy, the gangsta rapper even a parent could love.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “In this intriguing memoir, groundbreaking rapper and actor Ice-T chronicles his rise from nomadic criminal to hip-hop star…Ice-T is a canny businessman, and he charts clearly the decisions that brought him up each step of a very treacherous ladder.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “In this no-holds-barred memoir, Ice-T writes with refreshing, if profane, down-to-earth candor, recalling his first memories of racism, his increasingly dangerous street life, and his experiences on tour, including a funny and wild anecdote about a show in Milan. A fascinating and inspiring story about an African American orphan who beat the odds to become successful, this memoir will appeal to fans of hip-hop and popular culture.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “An enlightening read…For anyone interested in how street smarts are transferable to the entertainment industry.”

    Library Journal

  • “A boldly opinionated, bracingly street-tough memoir.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • Booklist Top 10 Black History Nonfiction 2012
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Ice-T was born Tracy Marrow in New Jersey. As an only child whose parents died when he was very young, he became involved in Los Angeles gangs before spending four years in the army. He released a string of groundbreaking West Coast rap records and formed the thrash-metal band Body Count. He currently stars as Detective Fin Tutuola on Law & Order: SVU.