Extended Audio Sample

Download Foxfire: Confessions of a Girl Gang Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Foxfire: Confessions of a Girl Gang Audiobook, by Joyce Carol Oates Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (3,520 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Joyce Carol Oates Narrator: Jane Gabbert Publisher: Highbridge Audio Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: September 2008 ISBN: 9781598876086
Regular Price: $12.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $11.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A sisterhood of blood, a secret haven from a world of lechers and oppressors, Foxfire is a high-school girl gang, a conspiracy marked by codes, tattoos, and the commitment that only angy teenages can forge—a liberating fury that burns too hot to last. Their ringleader is the charismatic, on-the-edge beauty Legs Sadovsky, mastermind of a campaign that escalates from a single act of revenge to a shared life financed by luring predatory men into traps baited with sex. A shocking, provocative, lyrical tale of female rage and grit in the tradition of Thelma and Louise.

Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_001267

Quotes & Awards

  • Brilliant … Foxfire burns brightly … exhilarating. New York Times Book Review

    "Wonderful, beautiful, a vivid novel.

Listener Opinions

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Dana Nucera | 2/9/2014

    " I have learned to love this author's writings. But this book was just too much for me. I gave up early on just because I could not handle the writing style in this book. I have never read an author that can change up topics, and writing style so much. Just because I did not like this book does not mean I will not read her again. Some of her books are my favorites. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Shayna Krishnasamy | 2/9/2014

    " I was literally obsessed with this book in university. It inspired the novel I wrote and wrote and wrote and never finished during my creative writing degree. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Faina | 2/4/2014

    " Oates is obviously a master of her craft--and crazy prolific to boot--but I really don't think this amazing book gets enough attention. A girl gang in the '50s? Amazing. And more than that, insightful and intelligent and gloriously complex. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cherie | 1/28/2014

    " A+ Terrific story of a girl gang "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jakey | 1/16/2014

    " Different enough from the movie to make it an almost totally different story. and so good. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Abigail (Abbe) | 1/13/2014

    " a few chapters in the middle seemed like they could have been cut out... but a cool ya book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dev | 1/8/2014

    " A good story of some bad girls, getting into small time trouble. Rests on the strength of Oates narrative muscles. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Valerie K | 1/4/2014

    " Sorry to say, I gave up on this book. I thought it was really good and interesting but for whatever reason I stopped and I think I dropped it for too long, I have to admit that I'm not going back to it this time around. Maybe I'll try again at some point, I felt this is a classic tale and well-told, but maybe a bit too heady for where I'm at. Which may be a shallow place indeed. I recommend this, it's intense, it's poignant, it's got a really interesting style, the characters are great. I don't really have anything bad to say, I don't know why I couldn't finish it but I'm glad I read it (got about 2/3 or maybe 3/5 in). "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Debbie | 12/25/2013

    " Great JCO read about girl gangs, and you thought guy gangs were bad. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Carlye.peterson | 12/15/2013

    " it's kinda like "stand by me" but it's about girls. i read this book in a few days, which is a big statement about this book, because usually i'll get half-way through a book, put it down, start a new book, and finish the first book a year later. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Alyson | 12/6/2013

    " It's written journal-style, which might turn some of you off. Get over it, though, and read foxfire -- that way, when someone brings up the movie, you can be that snob that sniffs and says, "The book was waaaaay better." "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kate | 12/2/2013

    " Good book, though I prefer nonfiction. Unusual writing style. Kept me interested. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Gretchen | 12/1/2013

    " Foxfire...need I say more? "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Alana S | 11/13/2013

    " Disappointed, the movie was way better. I've never said that before, but it is true. Way too different from each other, the screenplay was better. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ray | 10/11/2013

    " Grrl power! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 kot | 8/24/2013

    " I credit this book with making me into the person I am today. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Heather | 5/18/2013

    " makes me growl! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tatiana | 2/18/2013

    " do not see the movie. the movie is a poor poor excuse for an adaptation. i think 90% of this book is how it's written and you lose that entirely on the screen. nevermind that angelia jolie's in it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 bri | 11/28/2012

    " I wish I were in a girl gang.... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Amy P. | 11/9/2012

    " If you've only seen the movie, you're cheating yourself out of a good read! One of Joyce Carol Oats books about the difficulties of growing up, especially female. An interesting read that can often be disturbing at times. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Laken | 8/18/2012

    " girl gangs are hot...I mean, dangerous. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Andreea | 6/7/2012

    " It rapidly became one of my favourite novels ever! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Gordon Benett | 5/26/2012

    " Makes "Girl, Interrupted" look like a blog entry. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Clio | 4/16/2012

    " i read this book when i was fourteen years old. it is embarrassing how much it has impacted my life. i am afraid to re-read, because i have a general idea of how high-impact it was, but i don't really know. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jessica | 3/9/2012

    " this is one of my favorite books. the movie does not do it justice. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Julie | 2/13/2012

    " I'd actually give this book 3 1/2 stars. I didn't really like her style of writing, but I like the story itself. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Roxanne | 11/11/2011

    " A good book. The movie adaptation is worth watching, too, particularly for Angelina's breasts but also because it's a good movie. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Terri | 6/17/2011

    " lonely and bored girls meet one who shakes them up and leads them to adventure and danger "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Arcanemuse | 5/24/2011

    " Another great book by J.C.Oates. The movie had Angelina Jolie before her nose job. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Red | 2/9/2011

    " I'm getting a Foxfire tattoo unless somebody stops me.

    If you're a stickler for grammar, you should skip this one. In fact, you should skip all fiction and just read the dicionary. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Emilybraden | 2/2/2011

    " It was a guilty pleasure, and I'm more guilty of watching the movie on Lifetime (early Angelina Jolie). "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Hannah | 1/20/2011

    " Like a flame is real enough, isn't it, while it's burning?--even if there's a time it goes out? "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Magda | 11/16/2010

    " Dietro le scorribande di questa gang di "ragazzacce" si raccontano valori solidi quali l'amicizia protetta ad ogni costo e l'odio per qualsiasi discriminazione, soprattutto quella sessuale. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Gordon | 11/14/2010

    " Makes "Girl, Interrupted" look like a blog entry. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Cassandra | 8/15/2010

    " I might've enjoyed this more when I was a teenager, but as is, I couldn't really get into it.

    Choppy disjointed teen narrator memory/journals tone..

    I still like JCO, this just wasn't my favorite of hers. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jennifer | 7/27/2010

    " Great feminist book. Hard to handle at some points, but everyone should experience this book! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cathy | 7/12/2010

    " Interesting perspective on social issues, and written in a poetic manner. I liked it! Thanks, Katie. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lindsay | 7/6/2010

    " THIS IS THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Amy | 6/22/2010

    " If you've only seen the movie, you're cheating yourself out of a good read! One of Joyce Carol Oats books about the difficulties of growing up, especially female. An interesting read that can often be disturbing at times. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Joyce Carol Oates

Joyce Carol Oates is a recipient of the National Book Award and the PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in Short Fiction. She has written some of the most enduring fiction of our time, including the national bestsellers We Were the Mulvaneys and Blonde, which was a finalist for the National Book Award and the Pulitzer Prize, and the New York Times bestsellers The Falls, which won the 2005 Prix Femina Etranger, and The Gravedigger’s Daughter. She is the Roger S. Berlind Distinguished Professor of the Humanities at Princeton University and has been a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters since 1978. In 2003 she received the Common Wealth Award for Distinguished Service in Literature and the Kenyon Review Award for Literary Achievement, and in 2006 she received the Chicago Tribune Lifetime Achievement Award.