Extended Audio Sample

Download Foxfire: Confessions of a Girl Gang Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Foxfire: Confessions of a Girl Gang, by Joyce Carol Oates Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (3,520 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Joyce Carol Oates Narrator: Jane Gabbert Publisher: Highbridge Audio Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: September 2008 ISBN: 9781598876086
Regular Price: $12.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $11.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A sisterhood of blood, a secret haven from a world of lechers and oppressors, Foxfire is a high-school girl gang, a conspiracy marked by codes, tattoos, and the commitment that only angy teenages can forge—a liberating fury that burns too hot to last. Their ringleader is the charismatic, on-the-edge beauty Legs Sadovsky, mastermind of a campaign that escalates from a single act of revenge to a shared life financed by luring predatory men into traps baited with sex. A shocking, provocative, lyrical tale of female rage and grit in the tradition of Thelma and Louise.

Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_001267

Quotes & Awards

  • Brilliant … Foxfire burns brightly … exhilarating. New York Times Book Review

    "Wonderful, beautiful, a vivid novel.

Listener Opinions

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Dana Nucera | 2/9/2014

    " I have learned to love this author's writings. But this book was just too much for me. I gave up early on just because I could not handle the writing style in this book. I have never read an author that can change up topics, and writing style so much. Just because I did not like this book does not mean I will not read her again. Some of her books are my favorites. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Shayna Krishnasamy | 2/9/2014

    " I was literally obsessed with this book in university. It inspired the novel I wrote and wrote and wrote and never finished during my creative writing degree. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Faina | 2/4/2014

    " Oates is obviously a master of her craft--and crazy prolific to boot--but I really don't think this amazing book gets enough attention. A girl gang in the '50s? Amazing. And more than that, insightful and intelligent and gloriously complex. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cherie | 1/28/2014

    " A+ Terrific story of a girl gang "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jakey | 1/16/2014

    " Different enough from the movie to make it an almost totally different story. and so good. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Abigail (Abbe) | 1/13/2014

    " a few chapters in the middle seemed like they could have been cut out... but a cool ya book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dev | 1/8/2014

    " A good story of some bad girls, getting into small time trouble. Rests on the strength of Oates narrative muscles. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Valerie K | 1/4/2014

    " Sorry to say, I gave up on this book. I thought it was really good and interesting but for whatever reason I stopped and I think I dropped it for too long, I have to admit that I'm not going back to it this time around. Maybe I'll try again at some point, I felt this is a classic tale and well-told, but maybe a bit too heady for where I'm at. Which may be a shallow place indeed. I recommend this, it's intense, it's poignant, it's got a really interesting style, the characters are great. I don't really have anything bad to say, I don't know why I couldn't finish it but I'm glad I read it (got about 2/3 or maybe 3/5 in). "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Debbie | 12/25/2013

    " Great JCO read about girl gangs, and you thought guy gangs were bad. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Carlye.peterson | 12/15/2013

    " it's kinda like "stand by me" but it's about girls. i read this book in a few days, which is a big statement about this book, because usually i'll get half-way through a book, put it down, start a new book, and finish the first book a year later. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Alyson | 12/6/2013

    " It's written journal-style, which might turn some of you off. Get over it, though, and read foxfire -- that way, when someone brings up the movie, you can be that snob that sniffs and says, "The book was waaaaay better." "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kate | 12/2/2013

    " Good book, though I prefer nonfiction. Unusual writing style. Kept me interested. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Gretchen | 12/1/2013

    " Foxfire...need I say more? "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Alana S | 11/13/2013

    " Disappointed, the movie was way better. I've never said that before, but it is true. Way too different from each other, the screenplay was better. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ray | 10/11/2013

    " Grrl power! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 kot | 8/24/2013

    " I credit this book with making me into the person I am today. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Heather | 5/18/2013

    " makes me growl! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tatiana | 2/18/2013

    " do not see the movie. the movie is a poor poor excuse for an adaptation. i think 90% of this book is how it's written and you lose that entirely on the screen. nevermind that angelia jolie's in it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 bri | 11/28/2012

    " I wish I were in a girl gang.... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Amy P. | 11/9/2012

    " If you've only seen the movie, you're cheating yourself out of a good read! One of Joyce Carol Oats books about the difficulties of growing up, especially female. An interesting read that can often be disturbing at times. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Laken | 8/18/2012

    " girl gangs are hot...I mean, dangerous. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Andreea | 6/7/2012

    " It rapidly became one of my favourite novels ever! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Gordon Benett | 5/26/2012

    " Makes "Girl, Interrupted" look like a blog entry. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Clio | 4/16/2012

    " i read this book when i was fourteen years old. it is embarrassing how much it has impacted my life. i am afraid to re-read, because i have a general idea of how high-impact it was, but i don't really know. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jessica | 3/9/2012

    " this is one of my favorite books. the movie does not do it justice. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Julie | 2/13/2012

    " I'd actually give this book 3 1/2 stars. I didn't really like her style of writing, but I like the story itself. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Roxanne | 11/11/2011

    " A good book. The movie adaptation is worth watching, too, particularly for Angelina's breasts but also because it's a good movie. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Terri | 6/17/2011

    " lonely and bored girls meet one who shakes them up and leads them to adventure and danger "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Arcanemuse | 5/24/2011

    " Another great book by J.C.Oates. The movie had Angelina Jolie before her nose job. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Red | 2/9/2011

    " I'm getting a Foxfire tattoo unless somebody stops me.

    If you're a stickler for grammar, you should skip this one. In fact, you should skip all fiction and just read the dicionary. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Emilybraden | 2/2/2011

    " It was a guilty pleasure, and I'm more guilty of watching the movie on Lifetime (early Angelina Jolie). "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Hannah | 1/20/2011

    " Like a flame is real enough, isn't it, while it's burning?--even if there's a time it goes out? "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Magda | 11/16/2010

    " Dietro le scorribande di questa gang di "ragazzacce" si raccontano valori solidi quali l'amicizia protetta ad ogni costo e l'odio per qualsiasi discriminazione, soprattutto quella sessuale. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Gordon | 11/14/2010

    " Makes "Girl, Interrupted" look like a blog entry. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Cassandra | 8/15/2010

    " I might've enjoyed this more when I was a teenager, but as is, I couldn't really get into it.

    Choppy disjointed teen narrator memory/journals tone..

    I still like JCO, this just wasn't my favorite of hers. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jennifer | 7/27/2010

    " Great feminist book. Hard to handle at some points, but everyone should experience this book! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cathy | 7/12/2010

    " Interesting perspective on social issues, and written in a poetic manner. I liked it! Thanks, Katie. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lindsay | 7/6/2010

    " THIS IS THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Amy | 6/22/2010

    " If you've only seen the movie, you're cheating yourself out of a good read! One of Joyce Carol Oats books about the difficulties of growing up, especially female. An interesting read that can often be disturbing at times. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations