Extended Audio Sample

Download Fatherland Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Fatherland Audiobook, by Robert Harris Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (8,617 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Robert Harris Narrator: Michael Jayston Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: August 2017 ISBN: 9780525591429
Regular Price: $20.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The New York Times bestselling classic of alternate history, a murder mystery set in a world where the Nazis won World War II—for fans of The Plot Against America and The Man in the High Castle

Berlin, 1964. The Greater German Reich stretches from the Rhine to the Urals, and keeps an uneasy peace with its nuclear rival, the United States. As the Fatherland prepares for a grand celebration honoring Adolf Hitler’s seventy-fifth birthday and anticipates a conciliatory visit from U.S. president Joseph Kennedy and ambassador Charles Lindbergh, a detective of the Kriminalpolizei is called out to investigate the discovery of a dead body in a lake near Berlin’s most prestigious suburb.

But when Xavier March discovers the identity of the body, he also uncovers signs of a conspiracy that could go to the very top of the German Reich. And, with the Gestapo just one step behind, March, together with the American journalist Charlotte Maguire, is caught up in a race to discover and reveal the truth—a truth that has already killed, a truth that could topple governments, a truth that will change history.

Praise for Fatherland

“A singular achievement displaying original and carefully wrought suspense . . . Fatherland easily transcends convention.”The Washington Post

“A solid thriller, vividly imagined and genuinely frightening.”The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

“Ingenious . . . a triumph . . . suspenseful and elegant.”San Francisco Chronicle

“A dazzler . . . fast-paced . . . Historical fact is blended skillfully with fiction.”Detroit Free Press

“Absorbing . . . expertly written.”The New York Times Book Review

“Truly captivating.”—Robert Ludlum

“A strong premise for a police thriller with rich foreign atmosphere and political texture galore? Absolutely!”Entertainment Weekly

“A sly and scary page-turner.”Los Angeles Times

“A well-plotted, well-written detective tale and a fascinating trek through parallel history.”Chicago Tribune

Fatherland works on all levels. It’s a triumph.”The Washington Times

“Distinguished by vivid details based on impeccable research, the thriller is a crackling-good read in the le Carré tradition.”Time

“Wonderful.”Newsday

“A gripping detective story as well as a chilling visit to the Germany that might have been. It is so plausibly written it seems quite real. Robert Harris is a name to watch for.”BookPage Download and start listening now!

BK_BBCW_003387

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Eleanor | 2/15/2014

    " Gripping, chilling, thought-provoking and well written. I really enjoyed this book and a big plus was the way it was in no way predictable. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Laura Ribeiro | 2/6/2014

    " It makes you consider other options: what if Germany hadn't lost the war? It captures you and leaves you on the edge until the end. The character, March has depth and portrays magnificently his struggle between his sense of duty and his "obligation" towards his Reich obedient family and friends. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tim Wagus | 1/28/2014

    " I love 'what-if' type books and this is a well written version of what might have happened had the Allies lost WWII. Set in the '60s, it's a mainly a muder mystery novel but, the direction it goes with it is fantastic. Don't want to give away the end but, keep in mind, most of what took place in WWII still took place in this alternate timeline. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 David Finch-Quadrio | 1/21/2014

    " Thriller set in what-if 1960's Nazi Germany was a good read but never reached the heights of suspense expected. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Donal | 1/18/2014

    " Good, tightly written, pot boiler. Very enjoyable. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mehrals0815 | 1/14/2014

    " boy, that was realy cool! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ardyth | 11/23/2013

    " Enjoyable enough thriller-mystery fiction, although towards the end it started to disappoint a bit due to following the genre a bit too closely. Still, worth the time it took to read it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Brock Alexander | 7/24/2013

    " A very cool alt-history novel. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Christopher Gordon | 6/11/2013

    " fantastic concept, full of tension and intrigue and possibilty let down by a pointless and drawn out ending that did not satisfy. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jamie | 5/15/2013

    " Unbelievably good. The best aspects of detective thrillers but written like literary fiction. Fascinating, bleak and desperately dark. The last 300 pages disappeared in one sitting "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kaire Rosin-Black | 4/4/2013

    " Loved everything about it. Sad to think, how much of that was factual "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 David Tendo | 2/23/2013

    " Set in an alternate universe where Hitler didn't die - that was enough to hook me in. The world that Harris creates is entirely believable and the story completely compelling. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 D | 1/24/2013

    " I'm a sucker for Nazi what-ifs. A few of Harris's characters are more wish-fulfillment than well-conceived, but the plot is a doozy, and Xavier March is the most sympathetic SS officer I've ever wanted to mother hen. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Borjana | 10/23/2012

    " Great fiction! It is not comprehensive in facts, but with that narrow vision it gives us feeling how it might have been. It also reminds us that great and horrid ideas are not dead, you can feel them lurking around. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jennifer AM | 7/8/2012

    " Read for 15.2 task for Fall 09 reading challenge "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Petabyte | 6/27/2012

    " Excellent. Couldn't put this book down, finished in a couple of sittings! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Philip Kuhn | 3/19/2012

    " One of my favorite books of all time. It's a terrifying novel of historical what ifs. What if WWII had gone the way Hitler had wanted it to? The novel takes it up the world in 1964 or so, twenty years after the war ended and Nazi Germany won. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 English Woman | 10/4/2011

    " What if Hitler had survived and won the war - great plot for a book. Informative, original and thought provoking with lots of twists in a high chase detective story. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ruth | 5/7/2011

    " Thrilling and full of suspence. Couldn't put it down. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Daisy | 4/25/2011

    " This was fantastic, eerie and a bit creepy. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Steve | 4/7/2011

    " A largely unremarkable mystery which was a real let down after a promising premise. Set in a post-WWII Germany which had won the war, the story concerns the investigation by a jaded, non-conformist, loner PI of an attempt to cover up the Holocaust. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Christopher | 4/4/2011

    " fantastic concept, full of tension and intrigue and possibilty let down by a pointless and drawn out ending that did not satisfy. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Angela | 3/7/2011

    " An average cold-war spy mystery with an interesting setting: an alternative history where Germany won WWII and no one knows about the Holocaust. I wish Harris has done more with this interesting world/history. A good audio book for the commute, though. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Garrick | 2/22/2011

    " When I see those racks of James Patterson novels at the airport I wonder why people spend so much time reading those when there are great novels like 'Fatherland' and 'The Yiddish Policemen’s Union' available. This alternate-history detective novel was both suspenseful and superb "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Gary | 2/4/2011

    " To be honest I read this a long time ago so can't really remember it!! But I do remember I enjoyed. If that helps! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Robert Harris

Robert Harris is the author of ten best-selling novels: Fatherland, Enigma, Archangel, Pompeii, Imperium, The Ghost Writer, Conspirata, The Fear Index, An Officer and a Spy, and Dictator. Several of his books have been adapted to film, including The Ghost Writer, directed by Roman Polanski. His work has been translated into thirty-seven languages.

About the Narrator

Michael Jayston is a highly regarded actor, having appeared in numerous films, among them Cromwell, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Zulu Dawn, and Nicholas and Alexandra. He has many television credits to his name as well, such as Element of Doubt, A Bit of a Do, Outside Edge, and Only Fools and Horses, while on stage he has been seen in Henry V and Hamlet for the RSC, as well as Private Lives and The Way of the World.