Extended Audio Sample

Download Down Don’t Bother Me Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Down Don’t Bother Me, by Jason Miller Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jason Miller Narrator: Johnny Heller Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Slim in Little Egypt Mysteries Release Date:
Regular Price: $24.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

A hugely entertaining debut—the first novel in a wickedly funny gothic mystery series set in the withering landscape of the southern Illinois coal country known as Little Egypt

In the depths of the Knight Hawk, one of the last working collieries in downstate Illinois, the body of a reporter is found, his mini-recorder tied around his neck and a notepad stuffed in his mouth.

The Knight Hawk’s owner, Matthew Luster, isn’t happy. He wants answers—and he doesn’t want the cops or any more press poking into his business. To protect himself and the operation, he turns to Slim, a mine employee with a reputation for “bloodhounding”—finding lost souls when the police can’t or won’t. Luster needs Slim to locate a missing photographer named Beckett, a close associate of the victim … who just happens to be his son-in-law.

A hard-working single father barely making ends meet, Slim accepts the job after Luster offers him a guaranteed pension and job security for life. But when you make a deal with the devil, you’re going to get burned … and now Slim is all too close to the flames. Circumstances have lead him into the grimy underworld of Little Egypt, Illinois—a Babel’s Tower of rednecks, rubes, freaks, tweakers, gun nuts, and aging hippies—and it quickly becomes clear that he’s much more involved in the murder than an innocent man should be.

Down Don’t Bother Me marks the emergence of a wildly assured mystery novelist, and of a series set in the fresh and brutal landscape of southern Illinois.

Download and start listening now!

bi05

Quotes & Awards

  • “Raw, gritty and darkly comedic. The first-person POV is perfect for this telling, and readers will fall for Slim quickly. His relationship with his teenage daughter Anci, while typical of the teenage years, is refreshingly real. Overall a fantastic debut novel.”

    RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

  • “In his first novel, set in the hardly welcoming world of southern Illinois coal country, he is funny, smart, and extremely self-assured in his writing, creating a book that is almost as addicting as the meth that has taken over the town of Little Egypt, Illinois.”

    Mystery Scene

  • “Fans of Daniel Woodrell’s ‘Ozarks Noir’ books and FX’s Justified TV series, as well as the show’s Elmore Leonard source material, will welcome the tough-talking Slim.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • “The author does a good job evoking the bleakness of life in Illinois coal country.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Genre conventions—treacherous women, double-crossing friends, greedy moneymen—seem fresh in Miller’s sensory-rich language.”

    Booklist

  • “Narrator Johnny Heller excels with the twangy-voiced Slim’s wry observations about the saints and sinners around him…With a cartload of accents and other speech variations, Heller skillfully brings to life the tweakers, thugs, and old hippies that populate Little Egypt as a conspiracy goes out of control, much to listeners’ delight.”

    AudioFile

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Jason Miller is the author of Down Don’t Bother Me, the first in a series of crime novels set in what were once the coalfields of southern Illinois. He is a RiffTrax contributor and, with his brother Ian, writer of the Redball 6 and Philosopher REX series of graphic novels. His Twitter has been featured on the Ellen DeGeneres Show and online in Playboy, Heavy, Splitsider, and Mandatory, among other places. He lives in Nashville with four tom cats and a college professor.