Beautiful Bad: A Novel Audiobook, by Annie Ward Play Audiobook Sample

Download Beautiful Bad: A Novel Audiobook

Beautiful Bad: A Novel Audiobook, by Annie Ward Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $24.99 Add to Cart
Author: Annie Ward Narrator: Vivienne Leheny, Xe Sands, Paul Fox Publisher: Harlequin Audio Audio Length: Release Date: March 2019 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781488205828

Publisher Description

A devoted wife, a loving husband and a chilling murder that no one saw coming.

Things that make me scared: When Charlie cries. Hospitals and lakes. When Ian drinks vodka in the basement. ISIS. When Ian gets angry… That something is really, really wrong with me.

Maddie and Ian’s love story began with a chance encounter at a party overseas; he was serving in the British army and she was a travel writer visiting her best friend, Jo. Now almost two decades later, married with a beautiful son, Charlie, they are living the perfect suburban life in Middle America. But when a camping accident leaves Maddie badly scarred, she begins attending writing therapy, where she gradually reveals her fears about Ian’s PTSD; her concerns for the safety of their young son; and the couple’s tangled and tumultuous past with Jo.

From the Balkans to England, Iraq to Manhattan, and finally to an ordinary family home in Kansas, sixteen years of love and fear, adventure and suspicion culminate in The Day of the Killing, when a frantic 911 call summons the police to the scene of a shocking crime.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “Annie Ward explores a battle-scarred marriage on the brink of disaster in this deft debut. As touching and thought-provoking as it is terrifying, Beautiful Bad will leave readers spellbound. A buzzworthy read.”

    - Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author
  • “The ending will leave you staggered.”

    - Liv Constantine, author of The Last Mrs. Parrish
  • “There’s nothing you can do but hold on and keep turning the pages.”

    - Real Simple
  • “Recommended for fans of Paula Hawkins, Ruth Ware, and Liane Moriarty.”

    - Library Journal
  • “Beautiful Bad is beautifully written, beautifully twisty—and beautifully twisted. A dark thriller with real psychological depth.”

    - J. P. Delaney, New York Times bestselling author
  • “Filled with unexpected twists, Beautiful Bad is a riveting read.”

    - Sarah Pekkanen, #1 New York Times bestselling author
  • “Evocative descriptions and strong senses of time and place complement the intricate, intelligent plot, which shocks and chills while thoughtfully examining trauma’s toll on people and their relationships.”

    - Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • “A well-constructed thriller…brilliantly conceived…Would do Patricia Highsmith proud.”

    - Booklist
  • “You won’t be able to tear yourself away.”

    - Liv Constantine, author of The Last Time I Saw You

Awards

  • A March 2019 LibraryReads Pick

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Annie Ward Richards left Kansas at eighteen for Los Angeles. There, she received a B.A in English Lit with an emphasis in Creative Writing at UCLA and a MFA in Screenwriting from the American Film Institute. While studying at AFI, she sold her first short screenplay to MTV/ BFCS Productions. Starring Joey Lauren Adams and Adam Scott, Strange Habit became the Grand Jury Award Winner at the Aspen Film Festival and a Sundance Festival Official Selection.

About the Narrators

Will Ropp is a voice talent, an actor, and a writer, known for Steps, Christmas, and The ‘Claw.

Xe Sands has more than a decade of experience bringing stories to life through narration, performance, and visual art, including recordings of the Nightwalkers series from Jaquelyn Frank. She has received several honors, including AudioFile Earphones Awards and a coveted Audie Award, and she was named Favorite Debut Romance Narrator of 2011 in the Romance Audiobooks poll.

Paul Fox is a British born film actor and audiobook narrator.