Extended Audio Sample

Download All Men of Genius Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample All Men of Genius, by Lev AC Rosen Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (570 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Lev AC Rosen Narrator: Emily Gray Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The All Men of Genius Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $34.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Inspired by two of the most beloved works by literary masters, All Men of Genius takes place in an alternate Steampunk Victorian London, where science makes the impossible possible.

Violet Adams wants to attend Illyria College, a widely renowned school for the most brilliant up-and-coming scientific minds, founded by the late Duke Illyria, the greatest scientist of the Victorian Age. The school is run by his son, Ernest, who continues his father’s policy that the small, exclusive college remain male-only. Violet sees her opportunity when her father departs for America. She disguises herself as her twin brother, Ashton, and gains entry.

But keeping the secret of her sex won’t be easy, not with her friend Jack’s constant habit of pulling pranks, and especially not when the duke’s young ward, Cecily, starts to develop feelings for Violet’s alter ego. Not to mention blackmail, mysterious killer automata, and the way Violet’s pulse quickens whenever the young duke, Ernest, speaks to her. She soon realizes that it’s not just keeping her secret until the end of the year faire she has to worry about: it’s surviving that long.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • With All Men of Genius, Lev Rosen has constructed a wondrously vivid and dreamlike new world, both utterly original and mysteriously familiar. He writes with great wit, verve, and tenderness, and he is, without a doubt, one of the most exciting and talented young writers of his generation.”

    Dan Chaon, New York Times bestselling author of Await Your Reply

  • All Men of Genius is a true steampunk novel, a romance, a mystery, and a fun romp through an alternative Victorian England…a fast-moving, joyful experience that will leave the reader thoroughly satisfied.”

    Seattle Post-Intelligencer

  • “[Rosen] mixes genres with fearless panache.”


  • “A charming and fast-paced debut…Fans of Shakespeare and Wilde will delight in the transformation of the source material into something wholly original.”

    RT Book Reviews

  • “This sideways retelling Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night is a fun, witty tale, with characters you wish you could befriend and drink with at a dingy London pub.”

    Ed Lazallari, author of Awakenings

  • All Men of Genius is utterly charming. A large ensemble cast revolves around the central character, Violet Adams, as smoothly as gears in a precision clock. Like the best steampunk, it feels as though it were written in a much older time. Witty, dashing, and a little bit dangerous.”

    Mary Robinette Kowal, author of Shades of Milk and Honey

  • “A lighthearted debut... Decommissioned robots, mysterious mechanisms, strange squid creatures, blackmail, and a number of vivid characters add up to a great deal of fun.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “[Emily] Gray narrates with a combination of energy, intelligence, and sweetness to bring this clever examination of nineteenth-century gender roles, class, and culture to life.”


  • “This tale of cross dressing, science, romance, and rampaging automatons, complete with a host of quirky professors that may remind readers of those in the Harry Potter series, will delight teen readers...A brilliantly fun novel.”

    School Library Journal

  • “Rosen writes with color and verve, particularly in his descriptions of mechanical marvels, and also offers moments of unexpected poignancy, such as the sad history of Cecily’s governess Miriam, whose characterization far exceeds the depth of her initial inspirations, Earnest’s ditzy Miss Prism, and Twelfth Night’s comic maid Maria”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • A 2013 Audie Award Finalist for Fantasy

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Sukhi Hontu | 2/1/2014

    " I really wanted to love this, and I think it was close....I mean I laughed out loud and quite obnoxiously.. but something just didnt click... not sure :( "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Emily Sandoval | 1/16/2014

    " Lots of fun, but the omniscient viewpoint adds an emotional distance and sometimes dilutes the narrative. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Krista Mercer | 1/15/2014

    " Combining elements of Shakespeare's Twelfth Night and Oscar Wilde's The Importance of Being Earnest, this coming-of-age story features the young scientist Violet, who is determined to attend the prestigious Illyria University - even if it means masquerading as her twin brother! Hijinks ensue, with experiments, automatons, and romance all vying for our heroine's attention. Will she prove her scientific acumen AND win her true love's heart? Of course! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Sarah | 12/29/2013

    " Such a fun read. All the little pieces came through wonderfully to build up the whole story. The twelfth night retelling came through perfectly but the its important to be Ernest parts felt forced. Tiny problems just threw me out of the book, pacing and some awkwardness. The ending was a let down, but shouldn't take away from the story itself. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations