Extended Audio Sample

Download A Time of Changes Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample A Time of Changes Audiobook, by Robert Silverberg Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1,040 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Robert Silverberg Narrator: Grover Gardner Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: January 2010 ISBN: 9781455176007
Regular Price: $16.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Set in the distant future, when human beings populate a variety of planets, A Time of Changes examines the society of Borthan. For thousands of years, Borthan has been ruled by a covenant that teaches that the individual self is to be despised. The sharing of personal thoughts and feelings with another represents the most heinous crime.

Kinnall Darival, an exiled prince of the country of Salla, has always outwardly observed this covenant. But inwardly, he commits a grave offense when he falls in love with his bondsister, Halum. By law, he cannot reveal his affections, nor act on them. But when an earthman reveals to him a miraculous drug that enables two persons to completely bare their souls to each other, Kinnall begins a covert revolution.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_001860

Quotes & Awards

  • “No matter if Silverberg is dealing with material that is practically straight fiction, or going way into the future…his is the hand of a master of his craft and imagination.”

    Los Angeles Times

  • “Robert Silverberg’s versatile, skeptical intelligence controls a lavish and splendid imagination. A Time of Changes is a canny fable of freedom and the ecstatic communion of souls.”

    Ursula K. Le Guin

  • “Psychologically intense…[Gardner], a veteran audiobook narrator…uses pacing and intonation to add interest and variety.”

    AudioFile

  • “Psychologically intense.”

    AudioFile

  • A 1972 Locus Award Nominee
  • Winner of the Nebula Award in 1971 for Best Science Fiction Novel
  • A 1972 Hugo Award Nominee

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Mckinley | 2/2/2014

    " Heart and main thrust of story is chapter 28. Taboo on self-expression, no "I" or "me." Of course need first 27 for background and to set up story. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Harvey | 1/26/2014

    " This novel is clearly of its time. Yet I can read it for the first time forty years after its publication and it's still fresh and the questions it poses still fascinating. Outstanding. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jared | 1/9/2014

    " Wonderful exploration of religion and self-discovery using a colony planet as a science experiment, a la Le Guin. Silverberg is the best there is at this sort of thing, and though his characters are rarely ever "heroes" it is his masterful writing that makes these characters painfully real. Features a climax so horrifying it will stick with you for days, months, years even. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Frank Taranto | 12/17/2013

    " Silverberg is always wonderful, I need to reread this one more time to get the nuances. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Harvey | 10/17/2013

    " This novel is clearly of its time. Yet I can read it for the first time forty years after its publication and it's still fresh and the questions it poses still fascinating. Outstanding. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Althea Ann | 8/30/2013

    " now 84% done with the Nebulas... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kevin Brown | 8/26/2013

    " I'm a big Silverberg fan, but I find it kind of perplexing that this is his only major award winning novel (Nebula, 1971). I thought "Tower of Glass" and "The Stochastic Man" were much better. But then again, if you read the recent edition of this book, with Silverberg's updated preface, you gain a lot of insight into the work itself, particularly as it pertains to the changes in Silverberg's own life during the novel's crafting. It's this personal aspect, which I think detracts from the universal appeal present in some of his other works, that makes me withhold a better rating. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Erik Graff | 8/24/2013

    " Helen, Michael and Tom's mother, was a godsend to her sons and their friends during our early adulthoods. Director of Chicago's Womens' Athletic Club downtown, she was in the position to hire people for various positions. She helped me during the summer after college and for some time after seminary by hiring me as a security guard, working days in the first instance and nights in the second. The position was wonderful, entailing very little real work beyond occasional night rounds, allowing long periods for reading and writing. It was during my first stint at the club that I read this Silverberg novel, the cover of which impressed me more than the contents. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Andrew Laboy | 7/9/2013

    " I am on page three and so far this book is great. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Simon | 12/29/2012

    " A gripping tale of one man's journey of self discovery and liberation from his social conditioning. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Andrew Laboy | 11/22/2012

    " I am on page three and so far this book is great. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Vasil Kolev | 11/10/2012

    " This is a must read book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Charles | 8/17/2012

    " Mine has a different and much better cover than this. A good book that mixes SF and fantasy very well. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Beth | 12/20/2011

    " Very slow start, but once it got to the meat of the story it picked up quite a bit and I saw that the lengthy setup paid off. Many times it felt more like a fantasy world than sci-fi; I was consistently startled when I saw mention of a groundcar or telephone. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Beth | 10/30/2011

    " Very slow start, but once it got to the meat of the story it picked up quite a bit and I saw that the lengthy setup paid off. Many times it felt more like a fantasy world than sci-fi; I was consistently startled when I saw mention of a groundcar or telephone. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Althea Ann | 5/22/2011

    " now 84% done with the Nebulas... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jason | 3/21/2011

    " In the tradition of ANTHEM, WE, BRAVE NEW WORLD and 1984, Silverberg explores the relationship of the individual to society.
    Another short, but powerful novel by one of sci-fi's best writers. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Mckinley | 3/15/2011

    " Heart and main thrust of story is chapter 28. Taboo on self-expression, no "I" or "me." Of course need first 27 for background and to set up story. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Elizabeth Hunter | 3/12/2011

    " Somehow the main character of this book repelled me, even as he was preaching a vision of connection and love, and since this is essentially a fictional autobiography, that made it difficult to enjoy the book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Althea | 11/24/2010

    " now 84% done with the Nebulas... "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Mckinley | 7/8/2010

    " Heart and main thrust of story is chapter 28. Taboo on self-expression, no "I" or "me." Of course need first 27 for background and to set up story. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Simon | 6/17/2010

    " A gripping tale of one man's journey of self discovery and liberation from his social conditioning. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Paul | 10/12/2009

    " My second Silverberg - starts a bit slowly but completely draws you into this crazy scenario in a rich & bizarre world. Really enjoyed the read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Vasil | 10/6/2009

    " This is a must read book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Frank | 10/5/2009

    " Silverberg is always wonderful, I need to reread this one more time to get the nuances. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Elizabeth | 9/20/2009

    " Somehow the main character of this book repelled me, even as he was preaching a vision of connection and love, and since this is essentially a fictional autobiography, that made it difficult to enjoy the book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Charles | 8/1/2009

    " Mine has a different and much better cover than this. A good book that mixes SF and fantasy very well. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Andrew | 6/2/2009

    " I am on page three and so far this book is great. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Simon | 3/16/2009

    " A gripping tale of one man's journey of self discovery and liberation from his social conditioning. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Matt | 12/21/2008

    " This novel depicts a future as if concieved by Dr. Timonthy Leary. Everyone's on drugs to keep them happy, and keep them from thinking as individuals.

    Groovy, man. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Robert Silverberg

Robert Silverberg’s first published story appeared in 1954 when he was a sophomore at Columbia University. Since then, he has won the prestigious Nebula Award five times and the Hugo Award five times. He has been nominated for both awards more times than any other writer. In 1999 he was inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame, and in 2004 the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America gave him their Grand Master Award for career achievement. He remains one of the most imaginative and versatile writers in science fiction.

About the Narrator

Grover Gardner (a.k.a. Tom Parker) is an award-winning narrator with over eight hundred titles to his credit. Named one of the “Best Voices of the Century” and a Golden Voice by AudioFile magazine, he has won three prestigious Audie Awards, was chosen Narrator of the Year for 2005 by Publishers Weekly, and has earned more than thirty Earphones Awards.