Extended Audio Sample

Download A Simple Winter: A Seasons of Lancaster Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample A Simple Winter: A Seasons of Lancaster Novel, by Rosalind Lauer Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (121 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Rosalind Lauer Narrator: Cassandra Campbell Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Seasons of Lancaster Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $22.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

As a budding journalist with a major newspaper, Remy McCallister is eager to prove herself. While investigating an unsolved crime, Remy winds up in the tightly woven Amish community of Lancaster County, the last place she would ever expect to find herself. The story leads her to Adam King and his ten younger siblings, who are trying to sustain their warm, loving home in the wake of the murder of their parents. Although Remy tries to remain professional, she is captivated by the Kings. With her own mother gone and her father disengaged from their relationship, Remy longs for a home and a family just like that of these good, simple people.

Suddenly patriarch of his large family, Adam struggles to do the right thing for his siblings, his community, and his God. He neither wants nor needs the complications that spirited Remy brings. But as much as he tries to push her away, even as he counts all the ways this lovely outsider cannot possibly remain in his world—or in his heart—the wondrous light she shines upon his troubled soul cannot be denied. Adam can only pray for the strength and the faith to get this Englisher girl out of their lives for good.

Snowbound with the Kings, Remy experiences the wonder and the chores of a simple winter among the Plain People, as well as the friendship of their warm community. When her peaceful interlude ends, does she dare to reveal a killer in their midst, knowing that she may lose the love of this special family and this remarkable man? Download and start listening now!

BK_RAND_002799

Quotes & Awards

  • A promising start to a new series. The homespun feel and clash of cultures is sure to appeal to fans of Beverly Lewis and Mindy Starns Clark. Library Journal
  • Readers looking for a chaste and cozy fireside read will enjoy the leisurely pace as Lauer delves into the placid lives and unwavering faith of the Amish. Publishers Weekly 
  • Enjoy a story of warm romance, mystery and faith in A Simple Winter by Rosalind Lauer. This is a simple and sweet story of family and faith set amid the Amish life. Those looking for a cozy romance should look no further. Parkersburg News & Sentinel 
  • You could call this book a spiritual romantic suspense but I would call it just plain good. Night Owl Reviews
     
  • As intricately and uniquely developed as a dazzling snowflake, the very talented Rosalind Lauer has crafted a fascinating tale of unsolved murder, romance and community that immediately pulls you deep into this inspiring story right from the get go to its very moving and satisfying conclusion. Lauer sets out a complex and layered tale that is totally captivating and definitely sets the bar high for Amish romance stories….A SIMPLE WINTER is a wonderful reading treat you definitely will not want to miss! Fresh Fiction
  • A wonderful story…Sharp characterization and a little bit of mystery color the pages in a novel that you will not put down or soon forget. Romance Reviews Today
  • A heartwarming tale . . . Ms. Lauer demonstrates that life holds no bounds, and though there are obstacles, if something is destined to be . . . it will be. Reader to Reader
  • This book has it all: faith and family, mystery and inspiration.  You won't want to put it down.  I loved every word. Debbie Macomber

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Lana | 10/30/2013

    " If you love Amish stories or even if you have never read one, you will love this book. It brings the Amish and English world together in a story that is worth reading. I really loved it! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by pam | 8/7/2013

    " i just loved this book it was a booked that i did not want to put down after i would read it i keep thinking about it. i have not read a book like that in a long time. can not wait for the second in the series. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Carolyn | 7/30/2013

    " What a wonderful story!! I loved this book; could not put it down. I am looking forward to reading the next book, A Simple Spring. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Kim | 7/17/2013

    " started 9/3/2012 "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations