Download The Plot against America Audiobook

The Plot against America Audiobook, by Philip Roth Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Philip Roth Narrator: Ron Silver Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: April 2016 ISBN: 9781504693707
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $22.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In an astonishing feat of empathy and narrative invention, our most ambitious novelist imagines an alternate version of American history.

In 1940 Charles A. Lindbergh, heroic aviator and rabid isolationist, is elected president. Shortly thereafter, he negotiates a cordial “understanding” with Adolf Hitler, while the new government embarks on a program of folksy antisemitism.

For one boy growing up in Newark, Lindbergh’s election is the first in a series of ruptures that threaten to destroy his small, safe corner of America—and with it, his mother, his father, and his older brother.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Roth takes readers on a harrowing safari across interdimensional borders into a bizarre version of his hometown…When we’re ten pages into the book, our own world starts to seem like a flimsy fantasy.”


  • “The writing is extraordinary, complex but highly readable, evocative, and colored with a tenderness and affection…This is one of Roth’s finest books.”

    O, the Oprah Magazine

  • “A terrific political novel…Sinister, vivid, dreamlike…You turn the pages, astonished and frightened.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “Provocative…At times, deeply affecting…An intimate glimpse of one family’s harrowing encounter with history.”

    New York Times

  • “It’s not a prophecy; it’s a nightmare, and it becomes more nightmarish—and also funnier and more bizarre—as is goes along…[A] sinuous and brilliant book.”

    New Yorker

  • “Ambitious and chilling…A breathtaking leap of imagination.”

    USA Today

  • “A remarkable act of historical imagination and one of [Roth’s] most moving novels.”


  • “Effortlessly, it seems, Roth has led us to suspend disbelief; then he makes us believe; then he suspends this belief and finally removes it…A fabulous yarn.”

    Los Angeles Times Book Review

  • “Once again, Philip Roth has published a novel that you must read—now…A stunning work.”

    Christian Science Monitor

  • “Roth’s most powerful book to date. Confounding and illuminating, enraging and discomfiting, imaginative and utterly–terrifyingly–believable.”

    San Francisco Chronicle

  • “The overall effect of the novel is staggering. Roth has constructed a brilliantly telling and disturbing historical prism by which to refract the American psyche as it pertains to war.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “A sumptuous interweaving of narrative, characterization, speculation, and argument…An almost unbelievably rich book.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “In this stunning novel, [Roth] creates a mesmerizing alternate world…Roth’s writing has never been so direct and accessible while retaining its stylistic precision and acute insights into human foibles and follies.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “The author wonderfully balances politics and a boy’s view of a seemingly idyllic America shattered by forces he cannot truly understand.”

    Library Journal

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Philip Roth (1933–2018) was one of the most decorated writers in American history, having won the National Book Critics Circle Award twice, the PEN/Faulkner Award three times, the National Book Award, the Pulitzer Prize in fiction, and many more. He also won the Ambassador Book Award of the English-Speaking Union and in the same year received the National Medal of Arts at the White House. In 2001 he received the highest award of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Gold Medal in Fiction, given every six years “for the entire work of the recipient.”