Extended Audio Sample

Download The First Commandment: A Thriller Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The First Commandment: A Thriller Audiobook, by Brad Thor Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (5,387 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Brad Thor Narrator: Armand Schultz Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Scot Harvath Series Release Date: July 2007 ISBN: 9780743567220
Regular Price: $17.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A master assassin. A vendetta years in the making. And a counterterrorism operative who will risk everything -- even treason -- to keep the people he loves alive.

Brad Thor, the New York Times bestselling author of Takedown, delivers an explosive international thriller featuring Navy SEAL turned Homeland Security operative Scot Harvath, who somewhere, somehow, has left the wrong person alive.

"Thou shalt not negotiate with terrorists..."

Six months ago: In the dead of the night, five of the most dangerous detainees in the war on terror are pulled from their isolation cells in Guantanamo Bay, held at gunpoint, and told to strip off their orange jumpsuits. Issued civilian clothes and driven to the base airfield, they are loaded aboard a Boeing 727 and set free.

Present day: Covert counterterrorism agent Scot Harvath awakens to discover that his world has changed violently -- and forever. A sadistic assassin with a personal vendetta is wreaking havoc of biblical proportions. Unleashing nightmarish horrors on those closest to Harvath, the attacker thrusts everything Harvath holds dear -- including his life -- into absolute peril.

Ordered by the president to stay out of the investigation, Harvath is forced to mount his own operation to uncover the conspiracy and to exact revenge. When he discovers a connection between the attacks and a group of prisoners secretly released from Guantanamo, Harvath must ask himself previously unthinkable questions about the organizations and the nation he has spent his life serving.

A renegade from his own government, Harvath will place his life on the line as his search for the truth draws him into a showdown with one of the most dangerous men on the face of the earth.

Brad Thor roars through this nonstop adventure full of international intrigue, twisted betrayals, and ultimate revenge. Download and start listening now!

BK_SANS_000937

Quotes & Awards

  • “Brad Thor proves again to be a brutal master of suspense. The First Commandment is as riveting as it is relentless. A must-read for our times!”

    James Rollins, New York Times bestselling author of Black Order and The Judas Strain

  • “Brad Thor knows how to excite the senses. The First Commandment is an adrenaline-charged, slick thriller, packed with suspense that never relents. Another winner from a proven master.”

    Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author of The Alexandria Link

  • “Readers who like Tom Clancy and Stephen Coonts will love Brad Thor—quite possibly the next coming of Robert Ludlum.”

    Chicago Tribune

  • “Fast paced and action packed. Sure to please his many fans and gain new ones. Immensely satisfying and highly recommended.”

    Library Journal

  • A New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tulsi | 2/15/2014

    " 2nd read; excellent "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Greg Miller | 2/6/2014

    " One of the more entertaining Scot Harvath books... I read this one very quickly and enjoyed the tie-in to other books in the series. Interested to see what's next for this character. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jim | 2/3/2014

    " Another very good novel by this author...I have enjoyed all of his novels that I have read, which are almost all of them...I will continue to read the rest of the novels that are available. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Patty | 1/28/2014

    " Another non-stop thriller. Too bad he can't clean up the language in his books. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jamie | 1/27/2014

    " Someone is on a revenge spree ripping apart Harvath's life and everyone in it. Harvath is not amused. Less so, when he learns that the President of the United States has done the unthinkable and approved the release of 5 dangerous terrorists from Guantanamo Bay. But why would the U.S. government do such a thing? Harvath is determined to learn why and protect those he cares about, while ending whoever is responsible for these reprehensible crimes. But Harvath learns that he has lost all support from the U.S. government. Worse yet, he is being hunted for treason as he refused to stand down from the President's firm order. Harvath hunts an illusive terrorist, while a CIA Omega hit team closes in on him. Desperate and alone, Harvath is forced to solicit help from the Troll, an information broker, that aided Al Qaeda in a recent attack on New York City. Harvath wants to kill the Troll, but needs information from him even more to track those responsible for attacking his family and friends. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jan | 1/15/2014

    " Couldn't put it down. First saw Brad Thor on a Glenn Beck show and was prompted to give his books a try. Looking forward to the next one - The Last Patriot! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mr. Mullins | 1/1/2014

    " Another good escapist political thriller from Thor. A quick read like his other books taking today's headlines into a fun fictional ride. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Margaret Konecsni | 12/31/2013

    " This was a perfect follow-through with "Takedown", and sooo worth it! :) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Samuel | 11/18/2013

    " Interesting. Not very deep though. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Michael | 11/8/2013

    " Another great installment in a great series. Never ceases to amaze me what a quick read these novels are. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jason | 9/16/2013

    " always an entertaining fast paced thrill ride. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kyle | 4/23/2013

    " Another fun, quick read from Brad Thor. I probably would have enjoyed it more if it wasn't for the fact that one of the main plot points felt very contrived. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Judy Herling | 1/16/2013

    " "Thou shalt not negotiate with terrorists..." - - - Scot Harvath is stalked by a terrorist who was released, and now everyone he loves is in danger. Great book that takes you around the world and into all the security acronyms - FBI, CIA, DHS, and on and on. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Angie | 12/13/2012

    " Interesting premise. I did have a hard time figuring out who done it because it wasn't a character I thought of. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mindi | 12/5/2012

    " The latest in Thor's Scot Harvath series. Very similar style to Vince Flynn. Easy to read, fast paced action and lots of terrorists to thwart! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Anne | 9/22/2012

    " I couldn't put this book down. First thriller I've read in a long time, and it was pretty good! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jeffrey Lawson | 9/4/2012

    " Fun adventure. That's all. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Eric | 8/12/2012

    " This was a pretty good book. The first one I have ready by Brad Thor and I enjoyed it. I guess I need to go back and read some of his earlier works also. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Erin | 5/30/2012

    " probably my favorite one... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tommy | 7/18/2011

    " Once again Brad Thor has written a great thriller! It was hard to put down! One proviso,there are some pretty gruesome parts but, well worth getting through to the end. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Paul S | 5/13/2011

    " One of the more entertaining in the Scot Harvath series. I particularly enjoyed this book's ties to previous books in the series. I always enjoy when later books in a series revisit old plots in new and interesting ways. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Diane | 2/18/2011

    " Harvath is strong, smart, resourceful, and lucky. However, the torture on both sides was too much and too graphic. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Linda | 2/11/2011

    " did not like it enough to get into this without reading the previous novels...maybe I'll come back later... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Judy | 2/3/2011

    " One of his Best books. Complicated plot, Same killing rate, same violence
    and bad language. Scot Harvath is unbelieveable- no really how could one
    person do and survive that many assasination attempts. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Babete | 2/1/2011

    "
    Parece um filme de acção, fantástico! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Andrea | 1/31/2011

    " Decent airplane reading. I can't read too many of these close in time--it becomes more and more difficult to suspend my disbelief. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Lara | 10/27/2010

    " It was exciting, but just so stupid! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Carol | 9/29/2010

    " Good book. Easy reading. Good plot wanting to continue reading to see where it will lead. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ed | 8/25/2010

    " I thought Lions of Lucerne was his best book. But this book was great too. This book was just as good, if not better. I couldn't put it down. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lynne | 8/22/2010

    " Wow, this book kept me on the edge of my seat! Action packed all the way. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Robert | 8/22/2010

    " Brad Thor really knows how to write a Thriller. Keeps you in suspence! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Pat | 7/20/2010

    " Scot Harvath is the target of an extremist's revenge. His loved ones are being targeted with similar fates of the 10 plagues from the Old Testament. Interesting action and the good guys win. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Brad Thor

Brad Thor is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Full Black, The Athena Project, Foreign Influence, Blowback (recognized by NPR as one of the 100 Best Thrillers of All Time), and numerous others. He is a member of GBTV, and has appeared on Fox News, CNN, MSNBC, ABC, CBS, NBC, and other programs to discuss terrorism, as well as how closely his novels of international intrigue parallel the real threats facing the world today. In 2010 he was featured in the Speed Channel’s “Executive Protection” episode of their Dangerous Drives series.

About the Narrator

Armand Schultz has appeared on Broadway in The Herbal Bed, A View from the Bridge, and The Secret Rapture. He has performed extensively with the New York Shakespeare Festival and has been seen off Broadway in the award-winning Stuff Happens at the Public Theatre in New York City. His films include Vanilla Sky and Malcolm X.