Extended Audio Sample

Download Yankee Doodle Dixie Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Yankee Doodle Dixie Audiobook, by Lisa Patton
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (609 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Lisa Patton Narrator: Marguerite Gavin Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2017 ISBN: 9781538465318
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

A charmingly funny testament to second chances in life and love from the acclaimed author of Whistlin’ Dixie in a Nor’easter

Lisa Patton won the hearts of readers with her book Whistlin’ Dixie in a Nor’easter, which became a sleeper-success. Building on a smashing debut, Lisa’s poised to go to the next level—because whether in Vermont snow or in Memphis heat, Dixie heroine Leelee Satterfield is never too far from misadventure, calamity—and ultimately, love.

Having watched her life turn into a nor’easter, thirty-four-year-old Leelee Satterfield is back home in the South, ready to pick back up where she left off. But that’s a task easier said than done. Leelee, a single mom, still dreaming of the Vermonter who stole her heart, and accompanied by her three best friends who pepper her with advice, nudging, and peach daiquiris, opens another restaurant and learns she has to prove herself yet again. Fans of women’s fiction will delight in this novel filled with heart and humor.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_004653

Quotes & Awards

  • “Southern to the core…funny to the bone. In Lisa Patton’s new novel she proves that we can go home again, and in many cases we should.”

    Fannie Flagg, New York Times bestselling author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café

  • Yankee Doodle Dixie oozes Southern charm. From the delightfully witty dialogue and captivating characters, Ms. Patton’s writing shines in this story about home, friendship, and second chances. Leelee Satterfield is a winning combination of smarts and steel magnolia fortitude, making her a heroine you can root for as she fights her way out of disaster to find true happiness. Reading this book is like sipping a peach daiquiri on your best friend’s porch. So pull up a chair and stay a while.”

    Karen White, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Not a beat missed when we head below the Mason-Dixon Line and pick up with Southern belle Leelee Satterfield on her ofttimes riotous but always touching quest for home, friendship, and love. In this charming sequel to Whistlin’ Dixie in a Nor’easter, Lisa Patton’s voice leaves us laughing, crying, and definitely wanting more!”

    Susan Gregg Gilmore, bestselling author of Looking for Salvation at the Dairy Queen

  • “Filled with Southern charm and eccentric characters, this eagerly awaited sequel is sure to please fans of the author’s first novel as well as fans of women’s fiction writers like Adriana Trigiani and Fannie Flagg.”

    Library Journal

  • “Fast and funny, with enough backstory to keep new readers from getting lost…A good bet for fans of Beth Hoffman’s Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and Beth Pattillo’s Sweetgum series.”

    Booklist

Listener Opinions

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Dianne | 2/11/2014

    " This is one of the few books I have ever stopped reading after 100 pages. I probably shouldn't leave a comment, but since I did list it as currently reading I though I would follow up. I found the novel uninteresting. I did thoroughly enjoy Lisa Patton's first novel "Whistlin' Dixie in a Nor'easter." "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Melissa | 2/11/2014

    " "Life is what happens when you're busy making other plans." "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Marion | 2/10/2014

    " This book was so poorly written it made Mary Higgins Clark sound like Jane Austen. The ending was so predictable, I just wished Patton would get on with it so I could go to bed already. Definitely literary junk food -- something to do between hearty meals. But everyone likes a spoonful of Cool Whip from time to time. Yankee Doodle Dixie has almost as much substance as Cool Whip, but is equally harmless and easy. I didn't hate it, but I can't possibly recommend it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sandra | 2/3/2014

    " Cute book. I honestly liked the first book, Whistlin' Dixie in a Nor'easter, better. It was fun, but a tad predictable. Being a Memphian, it was fun knowing the places that she references in the book, but I would have really liked to have her dig a little deeper into the characters. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Redsnapper | 2/1/2014

    " Good continuation "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Robyn | 1/15/2014

    " You will fall in love with Leelee Satterfield. This book is a lovely sequel to "Whistlin Dixie In A Nor'easter". Great story of southern charm, strength, pride, and second chances. Leelee has an amazing support group of 3 precious Southern Belles who have been her friends since Kindergarten. One should be so lucky to have such dear friends with a deep history. I loved the book! I found myself reading it with a southern drawl. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Judy | 1/12/2014

    " I loved that it picked up where the first one left off...but shortly after that i kept wondering where is Peter and when will he be part of this book. It is a good read and does end great though it took long enough. As a sequel not bad, could have been better. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lisa | 1/12/2014

    " Her second book with these characters. A very enjoyable easy read! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Crystal | 12/31/2013

    " This book was a great follow up to the first one. She completely follows through with carrying on the story. Id like to see where she takes this in a third book. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jeanne Mulcahy | 12/14/2013

    " I did finish it, but it was just OK. Not really that good, but nothing all that wrong with it, either. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Linda | 12/8/2013

    " This sequel to Whistlin' Dixie In A Nor'Easter also is a fun read with most of the characters returning however I found the "Nor'Easter" to be the better of the two. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Joyce | 11/26/2013

    " Lisa has made me laugh out loud with this one. Even after finishing the book, I'm still quoting Kissie with my "hm, hm, hm" reactions to everything. The storyline is sweet, and Riley totally cracked me up! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Deena | 10/27/2013

    " So, this was OK. . . not memorable, and for some reason, not nearly as likeable as her first book (maybe because the first one took place in Vermont and I can relate to that more than Tennessee.) "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Diane | 10/27/2013

    " Just okay. The first book was better. If there is a third in the series I won't read it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dolores | 8/23/2013

    " Pretty good! Nice southern group of women friends, good stories, ala Fannie Flagg or Kathryn Stockett. I liked the main character, LeeLee, and her friends. Light read, fun. Good beach book. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Kae Larsen | 7/27/2013

    " Pretty much a repeat of her last book. For whatever reason she pretty much covered EVERYTHING in the first book and added a new strange way to meet the guy, again. I am giving it a 2 star because she isn't a terrible writer, but just doesn't know how to tell a new story. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kelly | 5/6/2013

    " Nice second book from this author, easy reading, nothing earth shattering. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kathy (Bermudaonion) | 3/24/2013

    " I enjoyed this book and would give it 3 1/2 stars, if that were possible. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Deb | 12/6/2012

    " I liked it. I tried it once and couldn't get into it. Then I was desperate and pushed through. I ended up liking it. It's easy, laid-back, an easy read. Perfect for this season in my life. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Michelle | 10/6/2012

    " Good sequel to her first! Love anything that has to do w/ Southern charm! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Meredith DeBrunner | 9/22/2012

    " Cute quick read. I really enjoy the characters. Good book to curl up with on a Sunday afternoon. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Leslie | 5/4/2012

    " I liked "Whistlin' Dixie in a Nor'easter" better. In this story, Leelee has returned to her southern roots, and reverted to a screaming, star-struck teenager. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Rita | 2/3/2012

    " I like the story and the writing for the most part - there were times where I would just think - "no one would say that" but it was a quick fun summer read. The ending was rather predicatable but I did like how it played out in the end. I would recommend this book to a friend. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Annie | 1/18/2012

    " I really enjoyed Lisa Patton's first book. I was looking foward to reading this one. This one never really hooked me. There was no flow to the writing. The middle could have skipped totally. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Beth Lunsford | 1/4/2012

    " Not as good as her first, but definitely a good chick lit choice and quick read. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Lisa Patton is a Memphis native who spent three years as a Vermont innkeeper until the sub-zero winters drove her back down South. A former promotion director for both radio and television in Memphis, she also worked as a manager of the Historic Orpheum Theatre. She has over twenty years’ experience working in the music and entertainment business, including several years with five-time Grammy Award winner Michael McDonald. A graduate of the University of Alabama, she guides walking tours of historic downtown Franklin, her hometown in Tennessee.

About the Narrator

Marguerite Gavin is a seasoned theater veteran, a five-time nominee for the prestigious Audie Award, and the winner of numerous AudioFile Earphones and Publishers Weekly awards. Marguerite has been an actor, director, and audiobook narrator for her entire professional career. With over four hundred titles to her credit, her narration spans nearly every genre, from nonfiction to mystery, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and children’s fiction. AudioFile magazine says, “Marguerite Gavin…has a sonorous voice, rich and full of emotion.”