Extended Audio Sample

Download Worth Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample Worth (Unabridged) Audiobook, by A. LaFaye
3.78 out of 53.78 out of 53.78 out of 53.78 out of 53.78 out of 5 3.78 (9 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: A. LaFaye Narrator: Tommy Fleming Publisher: Live Oak Media Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: January 2008 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 5 votes

Life for a family on a Nebraska homestead is difficult, with illness and weather causing worries about crops and finances, and conflicts between ranchers and farmers. For 11-year-old Nate's family, the days grow even darker when he gets his leg crushed in a farm accident. To help out, Nate's father brings home John Worth, just off the Orphan Train and dealing with the loss of his own family in a New York City tenement fire.

With Nate's honest telling of the story comes a fascinating narrative of family life during the late 19th century: the overwhelming responsibility children endured; the grueling, daily chores; the family's struggle to hold onto their land and deal with their losses; the importance of community and the mores of the time. The richly drawn characters and their courageous, candid story present an important slice of history and a compelling exploration of friendship. Download and start listening now!

BK_LOAK_000017

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sarah | 6/5/2011

    " The early 1900's, a farmer boy gets crippled when he gets hit by lightening and breaks his leg. His father get a farmhand, and the boys are jealous of each other; they each have something the other wants. I like how in the end they shared what they both desired, and became friends. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lauren | 2/13/2011

    " it's a good book but kinda sad. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Debrah | 2/7/2011

    " i liked this book alot. it was funny and sad. its about this kid nate. he breaks his leg so the family adoups a kid to help on the farm. i recomend this book "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ireland | 11/24/2010

    " I liked this book a lot with all the sadness and love. I recommend this to readers who love history!!! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tanya | 6/24/2010

    " Wondeful story about two boys, both facing their own pain, coming together as brothers. Set in Nebraska during the late 19th century. Great afternoon read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mara | 5/5/2010

    " Grrreeat book. Amazingly short and sweet. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 MaryJane | 1/5/2010

    " This book "spoke" to me from the library shelf and I took it home and read it in one gulp. I think that readers who enjoy Gary Paulsen and Karen Cushman would like this book and I will be recommending it to my middle school students. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Leah | 12/8/2009

    " I have a signed copy of this book. I loved this book to death and have read it at least three times so far. I highly recommend it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sarah W | 12/7/2009

    " This is a heart touching story about a family who adopts a boy and the two boys (one that lived there before adn teh adopted one) have to sort out their differences and become friends. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations