Extended Audio Sample

Download War Girls: An Anthology of Poetry and Prose by Women in the 1st World War Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample War Girls: An Anthology of Poetry and Prose by Women in the 1st World War (Unabridged) Audiobook, by Various
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Various Narrator: Ruth Sillers Publisher: Crimson Cats Audio Books Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: December 2011 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

An Anthology of Poetry and Prose written by Women in the First World War.

War Girls is a commemoration and celebration of the remarkable, often deeply moving and largely unsung experiences of women in the First World War told in their own words. Through poetry, journals and letters this audio book documents the contribution made by women from all walks of society - from campaigning for peace to working on the home front and in the services. Some are the writings of established poets and novelists but many more are the records of ordinary women living in extraordinary times. They detail not only personal hardship and suffering but also the joy and excitement of a new society emerging as the war brought women challenges, freedoms and possibilities previously unknown to them. A century on, their experiences are still as compelling, powerful and relevant as they were at the time.

Ruth Sillers has performed in many plays and musicals for theatres in London's West End, notably the National Theatre Studio, the Young Vic Theatre and the Royal Opera House. Her television experience includes playing Mary Queen of Scots for BBC History.

Her radio credits include many plays and readings for BBC Radio Drama and she has recorded many audio books for BBC Audiobooks and many other publishers.

The pianist is Bill Byrne and the music tracks are:

  • Let The Great Big World Keep Turning,
  • If You Were The Only Girl In The World,
  • Oh, Oh, Antonio,
  • After The Ball,
  • The Rose Of No Man's Land,
  • Keep The Home Fires Burning,
  • Roses Of Picardy,
  • Till We Meet Again.

Download and start listening now!

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations