Extended Audio Sample

Download Titus Awakes: Gormenghast, Volume 4 (The Lost Book of Gormenghast) Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample Titus Awakes: Gormenghast, Volume 4 (The Lost Book of Gormenghast) (Unabridged) Audiobook, by Maeve Gilmore
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (89 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Maeve Gilmore Narrator: Simon Vance Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: June 2011 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

Mervyn Peake's Gormenghast trilogy is widely acknowledged to be, as Robertson Davies pronounced, a classic of our age. In these extraordinary novels, Peake created a world where all is like a dream - lush, fantastical, and vivid. Yet it was incomplete. Parkinson's disease took Peake's life in 1968, depriving his fans of the fourth and final volume of the series, Titus Awakes except for a few tantalizing pages, after which his writing became indecipherable. Or so it seemed.

In January of 2010, Peake's granddaughter found four composition books in her attic. They contained the fabled Titus Awakes in its entirety. Peake had outlined the novel for his wife, Maeve Gilmore, who had at last finished Peake's masterpiece.

It starts with Titus leaving Castle Gormenghast. Peake wrote: With every pace he drew away from Gormenghast mountain, and from everything that belonged to his home. That night, as Titus lay asleep in the tall barn, a nightmare held him. Fans of Peake will delight in this new, wonderful novel, published 100 years after his birth, every bit as thrilling and masterfully written as his famed trilogy.

Download and start listening now!


Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Corey | 8/27/2012

    " It makes me sad how bad this is. Better to think about re-reading the magisterial Gormenghast trilogy. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jonathan | 4/10/2012

    " Not a lot to say. I don't think I would have missed much by not reading it. Only a couple of pages by Mervyn Peake, the rest was pretty dull, with a couple of instances of reasonable writing. A shame, but I shouldn't have expected too much. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Richard Pierce | 2/29/2012

    " I loved Peake's Gormenghast trilogy. This did not disappoint. I found the tone lighter, and room for hope in a desperate world. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Maeve Gilmore

Maeve Gilmore (1917–1983) was a writer and painter. She married Mervyn Peake in 1937. She is the author of A World Away: A Memoir of Mervyn Peake.

About the Narrator

Simon Vance (a.k.a. Robert Whitfield) is an award-winning actor and an AudioFile Golden Voice with fifty-eight Earphones Awards. He has won thirteen prestigious Audie Awards and was Booklist’s very first Voice of Choice in 2008. He has narrated more than eight hundred audiobooks over almost thirty years, beginning when he was a radio newsreader for the BBC in London.