Extended Audio Sample

Download The Weirdstone of Brisingamen Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample The Weirdstone of Brisingamen (Unabridged) Audiobook, by Alan Garner
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (1,993 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Alan Garner Narrator: Philip Madoc Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2006 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

About 150 years ago, my great-great-grandfather, Robert Garner, carved the face of an old man with long hair and beard in the rock of a cliff on a hill where my family has lived for at least 400 years, and still does. He carved the face above a well that is much older. How much older, no one knows, but it's centuries older, or even more. And why did he carve it? He carved it to mark that here is the Wizard's Well.

I am Joseph's grandson, and I grew up on that hill, Alderley Edge in Cheshire, aware of its magic and accepting it. I didn't know that it wasn't the same for everyone. I didn't know that not all children played, by day and by night, the year long, on a wooded hill where heroes slept in the ground. Yet there were strange things. Below another ancient well, the Holy Well, a rock lies in a bog. It fell from the cliff above in 1740 and made the Garners' cottage shake. It landed on an old woman and her cow that, for some reason, were standing in the bog, and, as a result, are still there. When I was seven, the bog was dangerous for somebody of my size and I once got stuck in it and thought I was going to drown, even though I sank only to my hips; but I managed to reach the rock and to climb up it to where a fallen tree was lodged, which spanned the bog, and by sliding along the trunk I was able to reach firm land. Nearby, under the leaf mould, is a layer of white clay that we used as soap to wash ourselves before we went home after playing. But there wasn't anything I could do about my clothes, and Grandad was not pleased.

The Edge is a land of two worlds: above and below. It took me my childhood to learn about above; when I was 19, I went to learn the wonders of below: a world of darkness and silence, so dark that you can see the lights of brain cells discharging; so silent that blood in the veins can be heard. Download and start listening now!

BK_NAXO_000317

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Doug McKerracher | 2/18/2014

    " This is probably one of the most important books of my childhood. It was my first introduction to fantasy (yes, even before discovering The Hobbit); I picked it up from the school 'library' (which was a bit of a strong description for two sets of mobile shelves that were wheeled out once a month) and read it from cover to cover that very weekend. Looking back as an adult it's not particularly original and doesn't have a lot of depth but I still have a certain fondness for it and occasionally still read it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jennifer | 2/13/2014

    " I like most teen fiction, and saw this author was recommended, but this is a little too low level. It is fun though. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Catrina Wj | 1/27/2014

    " I read this as a child, all lined up for the twins. It is set in Cheshire at Alderley Edge, great place for an explore and to recreate the book "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 TrumanCoyote | 1/16/2014

    " Still, lacked the resonance of Red Shift. It was just a story. Also there were a few too many miraculous escapes to quite be trustworthy. And the sword-wielding stuff was a bit pat--like Edgar Rice Burroughs. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 M. K. Theodoratus | 1/15/2014

    " Well worth reading over and over. Set some of the fantasy tropes for kids getting caught up in adventures with wise old wizards. Think Garner's travels through an abandoned mine are scarier than Tolkein's Moria, since his copper mines were more realistic. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Nicole | 10/17/2013

    " Cadellin is the mythic guardian of the warriors sleeping under Alderley Edge until a time of need. Siblings Colin & Susan precipitate events when Susan finds her charm bracelet has the Wierdstone. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Petra Be | 9/21/2013

    " What a great story. Can't wait to read the sequel. I just wish I had read it as a child. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Keren | 7/6/2013

    " Not really impressed by 'one of the most important books in children's fantasy'.. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kate Millin | 3/15/2013

    " I thought I had read this before, but hadn't. A really scary 1960's children's fantasy book which my daughter now has - it used to belong to my brother David (not a bookcrosser unfortunately) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Michele | 2/6/2013

    " I'd forgotten how very Tolkienesque this one is. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Scott Nieradka | 11/26/2012

    " Meant for children so i shouldnt be too harsh, but it didnt make alot of sense, the mythology mash-up made my head hurt, and the plot and characters are thin. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Vanessa | 9/5/2012

    " Read this when I was young and it really gave me my first taste of fantasy writing absolutely loved this book, pure escapism, strange creatures, weird characters and a great story line, can't wait for my little daughter to read it one day "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jane | 6/2/2012

    " I f you are from Macclesfield or thereabouts you will love this children's book. A bit dated now, but the story is still wonderful. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mark Harding | 4/27/2012

    " One of the books of my life. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Raymond Just | 12/30/2011

    " Quaint little british classic in the vein of Lewis and Tolkien. Really surprised I had never heard of this before. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jill | 6/24/2011

    " I enjoyed this story, although I did find the children to be rather flat, stock characters. The story could have used a bit more fleshing out, with less page time spent crawling through caves and more on what-the-heck was going on. . .But on the whole, a fun read. Loved the dwarfs! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Stuart | 1/6/2011

    " Kind of a cross between the Famous Five, Lord of the Rings and The Narnia series. Not as good as I hoped it would be after reading some very enthusiastic reviews but an engaging and quirky 1950s fantasy read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Chris | 11/6/2010

    " Love this book.... Read as a child and have read again as an adult.... And enjoyed it so much.... The part were they have to negotiate a submerged narrow tunnel with hardly enough space to move stuck with me from a younger time and still grips me to this day....read it and enjoy! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Annette | 9/22/2009

    " Another of my childhood favourites and a classic I wish my children would read! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations