Extended Audio Sample

Download The Wednesday Daughters Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Wednesday Daughters, by Meg Waite Clayton Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Meg Waite Clayton Narrator: Lesa Lockford Publisher: Dreamscape Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Wednesday Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $24.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In the tradition of Kristin Hannah and Karen Joy Folwer, Meg Waite Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of The Wednesday Sisters, returns with an enthralling new novel of mothers, daughters, and the secrets and dreams passed down through generations.

It is early evening when Hope Tantry arrives at the small cottage in England’s pastoral Lake District where her mother, Ally, spent the last years of her life. Ally—one of a close-knit group of women who called themselves the Wednesday Sisters—had used the cottage as a writer’s retreat while she worked on her unpublished biography of Beatrix Potter, yet Hope knows little about her mother’s time there. Traveling with Hope are friends Anna Page and Julie, first introduced as little girls in The Wednesday Sisters, now grown women grappling with issues of a different era. They’ve come to help Hope sort through her mother’s personal effects, yet what they find is a tangled family history—one steeped in Lake District lore.

Hope finds a stack of Ally’s old notebooks tucked away in a hidden drawer, all written in a mysterious code. As she, Julie, and Anna Page try to decipher Ally’s writings—the reason for their encryption, their possible connection to the Potter manuscript—they are forced to confront their own personal struggles: Hope’s doubts about her marriage, Julie’s grief over losing her twin sister, and Anna Page’s fear of commitment in relationships. And as the real reason for Ally’s stay in England comes to light, Hope, Julie, and Anna Page reach a new understanding about the enduring bonds of family, the unwavering strength of love, and the inescapable pull of the past.

Download and start listening now!

b7wu

Quotes & Awards

  • “A bewitching escape of a novel…The characters became my beloved companions. I never wanted it to end.”

    Elin Hilderbrand, New York Times bestselling author of Beautiful Day

  • “The present and the past intertwine beautifully and inevitably in Meg Waite Clayton’s winning follow-up to The Wednesday Sisters. Every layer of the novel delivers. The Wednesday Daughters is utterly rich and satisfying.”

    Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Wife

  • “A captivating novel about mothers and daughters, lifelong friendships, love affairs, betrayals, and redemption…The characters’ secrets unfold in ways both satisfying and surprising.”

    J. Courtney Sullivan, New York Times bestselling author of Commencement

  • “Charming, thoughtful, and atmospheric, The Wednesday Daughters is a jewel of a book. It’s told with a deep and lovely understanding of generational ties, and it celebrates what ultimately matters most.”

    Sarah Addison Allen, New York Times bestselling author of The Peach Keeper

  • “With delicate, precise strokes, Meg Waite Clayton illustrates and explores the intricate effect of the secrets we keep, even from those we love. This is the perfect novel for every mother, daughter, and sister to read, savor, and discuss over a pot of tea.”

    Melanie Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Aviator’s Wife 

  • “What a rich book! Meg Waite Clayton reveals so much about our most vital human connections: the relationships that infuriate us, challenge us, make us happy, make us whole.”

    Marisa de los Santos, New York Times bestselling author of Love Walked In

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Meg Waite Clayton

Meg Waite Clayton is the author of The Language of Light, a finalist for the Bellwether Prize. Her stories and essays have appeared in Runner’s World, Writer’s Digest, and numerous literary magazines. A graduate of the University of Michigan Law School, she lives in Palo Alto, California, with her husband and their two sons.