Extended Audio Sample

Download The Unfinished Clue Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample The Unfinished Clue (Unabridged) Audiobook, by Georgette Heyer
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (958 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Georgette Heyer Narrator: Clifford Norgate Publisher: AudioGO Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: August 2005 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 2 votes

The Unfinished Clue is a clever and humorous murder mystery set at a British country estate in the 1930s. There, each of the invited guests, along with the victim's wife and the estate's staff members (the butler, the maids, the gardener), had good reason to hate the arrogant and abrasive victim. Sir Arthur Billington-Smith had successfully alienated each and every one of them. In fact, he's simply bloody unbearable, but soon he's simply bloody, and thoroughly dead...done in by a decorative Chinese dagger to the back, the dagger Sir Arthur himself used as a letter opener. And found near his lifeless hand is a handwritten note: the unfinished clue of the title.

When Inspector Harding of Scotland Yard is called in to solve the case, he's soon convinced that nearly everyone could be guilty. But who is, in fact? Heyer ingeniously presents the clues and motivations, and keeps you guessing until the enjoyable end. Download and start listening now!

BK_PART_000149

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Deb | 2/2/2014

    " Finally read my first of her mysteries, after all these years. It could have been Agatha Christie for all I knew - a country house party where the villian is a rotter and almost everyone (except the love interest) could have killed him, with some gratuitous snti-semitism and xenophobia thrown in because it seems to have been obligatory then. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Slboland Boland | 1/27/2014

    " Nice fluffy reading. The outcome was somewhat predictable but I still liked it. I like Heyer's style of writing - so 1930'-40' English. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Elizabeth | 1/23/2014

    " It was a slow-starting mystery but okay in the end. It just didn't grip me like I expected it to. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Delta | 1/6/2014

    " another fun read with plenty of red herrings. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sophie | 1/5/2014

    " Is there another author like Georgette Heyer? I'm more familiar with her romances than her mysteries but her sparkling talent for characterization and authenticity is on display no matter what she writes. And this mystery contains its fair share of romance too, which makes it all the more enjoyable. No one can define characters in so few sentences, or create characters who are as wonderfully hilarious (like the incomparable Lola de Silva in this book), and no one can create a mood like Georgette Heyer could. She is an under-appreciated author, but I am glad that Sourcebooks is reissuing all of her gems so that new readers can discover her. The Unfinished Clue is the English country-house mystery done to perfection, and if the denouement is a little far-fetched, it still makes for a very satisfying read. Every character is fully imagined and entirely believable and i felt as if I were living the story right along with them. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Paula | 1/4/2014

    " I haven't read a murder/mystery in a long time but I got this for Christmas and dug right in. I completely enjoyed it! Set in the English countryside mansion of Sir Arthur Billington-Smith, guests have assembled for a week-end get together and they are a strange combination of guests! Sir Arthur himself is a tyrant with a penchance for yelling at his young wife, Fay. He has invited Basil and Camilla Halliday as he is expecting a fun weekend flirtation with the pretty, and money-grubbing, Camilla. Fay has invited Stephen Guest, a man who is in love with her and patiently waiting for her to decide to divorce her over-bearing husband. Sir Arthur's son Geoffrey, from his first marriage, is coming for the weekend and bringing his fiance', the beautiful cabaret dancer La Lola de Silva. His father is horrified by the match. Geoffrey is a writer whose father has never had any love for anyway and this engagement intensifies that feeling. Fay has invited her sister, Dinah Fawcett, to join them as a buffer between her and her husband. Sir Arthur's nephew, Captain Francis Billington-Smith shows up unannounced, needing to ask a favor of his wealthy uncle. Also invited to dinner is the town Vicar and his wife along with Mrs. Twining, a neighbor widow whom Sir Arthur has known for many many years. The dynamics of this group is crazy and it is a thunderous weekend indeed with Sir Arthur in a rage most of the time. By Monday luncheon, the tyrant is dead - stabbed in his own study. In comes Inspector Harding of Scotland Yard to try and sort out the mess. I thought I had it figured out from the get-go, but that twist at the end got me and I was wrong! What a fun book and a light read that I really needed! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Diane | 12/29/2013

    " Kind of dull. Guessed the ending. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Margaret | 12/28/2013

    " This was my first Georgette Heyer book. I don't read many mysteries (it is billed as a thriller) but this was an fun, light read. I was surprised by the ending! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Marlies | 12/6/2013

    " Old-fashioned (1937?) British mystery. Relaxing. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Shani | 8/7/2013

    " I believe I audio-booked this one about 5-6 years ago, and remember thinking it was rather clever. I'm due for a reread. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Laura | 5/21/2013

    " Another light, fun mystery by Georgette Heyer. I was totally surprised by the reveal of the killer. I'm getting rusty at my mystery solving. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Miriam | 11/19/2012

    " Not a bad country house mystery, but nothing special. I don't like mysteries where the reader doesn't get all the evidence needed to solve the crime, and there is a little of that going on here, but the reader does get a hint or two, at least. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Victoria | 6/6/2012

    " Not Agatha Christie but pretty good. Worth reading more of hers. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Barbara | 5/7/2012

    " My favorite of Heyer's mysteries, For fans of Agatha Christie or Dorothy Sayers. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 June | 12/10/2011

    " Plucky heroine, ridiculous (humorous) characters & a touch of romance. Everyone seems to have a motive for killing Sir Arthur, the question is how to eliminate suspects to find the real murderer. I always enjoy a mystery that surprises me with the ending. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sharon | 7/31/2011

    " Another country house murder with a slew of suspects. I'm impressed that I figured out what the unfinished clue was (but not the suspect it pointed to). An absolutely fabulous dance hall girl betrothed to the son of the house. She stole the show. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mary | 5/16/2011

    " I didn't know Georgette Heyer wrote mysteries. Kind of like Agatha Christie, very English, 1920's, everyone is very luvy. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Peregrina651 | 2/17/2011

    " And now I can say that I have read a Georgette Heyer mystery. Very 1930s. Manor house Agatha Christie. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Robin | 12/4/2010

    " The first Georgette Heyer book I read this week. I do love a country house novel. Also, I LOVED the Lola character. A LOT. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Victoria | 8/21/2010

    " You just have to get into the charecters and see them for the riduculous people they are. Good mystery. Would not have been able to figure it out. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 astried | 7/30/2010

    " A detective story in the style of Agatha Christie with a bit extra humour and romance. I managed to guess the right key for the murder but pointed the wrong person, definitely untalented sleuth :( "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Samantha | 7/3/2010

    " It was good, and came within a hairs breadth of being quite good. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dimpy | 5/5/2010

    " well not as good as Agatha Christie mysteries but all the same an enjoyable read... Anyway i prefer her romantic comedies to her mysteries "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lexi | 2/8/2010

    " Another lovely mystery set in the 1930s with a convenient heroine/detective romance thrown in. I'm really enjoying Heyer's women characters--some strong, some weak, all very feminine in an upper-class between-the-wars kind of way. A very quick read, but light and fun. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Fran | 2/6/2010

    " In Agatha Christie style Georgette Heyer writes a mystery set in a lovely English country-house. Sir Arthur Billington-Smith is an abusive wretch hated by everyone. Scotland Yard steps in. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations