Extended Audio Sample

Download The Storyteller of Marrakesh Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Storyteller of Marrakesh, by Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (242 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya Narrator: Gerard Kyle Publisher: Dreamscape Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $29.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Each year, the storyteller, Hassan, gathers listeners to the city square to share their recollections of a young, foreign couple who mysteriously disappeared years earlier. As various witnesses describe their encounters with the couple, Hassan hopes to light upon the details that will explain what happened to them, and to absolve his own brother, who is in prison for their disappearance. But is this annual storytelling ritual a genuine attempt to uncover the truth, or is it intended instead to weave and ambiguous mythology around a crime? The first in an ambitious cycle of novels set in the Islamic world, The Storyteller of Marrakesh is an elegant exploration of the nature of reality and our shifting perceptions of truth.

Download and start listening now!

b4wt

Quotes & Awards

  • “An enigmatic fable in the tradition of The Thousand and One Nights…[Roy-Bhattacharya] has clearly immersed himself in the richness of Moroccan life and history. It makes a lively home for his questing imagination.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “A broad, discursive, plausible, and often beguiling presentation of a contemporary Islamic culture little changed by centuries, geopolitics, globalization or religious enmity. Roy-Battacharya’s descriptive powers are acute, and Marrakesh, the Djemaa, the Sahara, and the High Atlas Mountains are vividly rendered through all the senses. In a time when tensions between Islam and the West are fevered, The Storyteller of Marrakesh offers an agreeable change of pace.”

    Booklist

  • “A multilayered novel that juxtaposes the artistry of narration with a collision of cultures in the Jemaa…Lyrical.”

    Richmond Examiner

  • Selected for the February 2011 Indie Next List

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Judy | 2/20/2014

    " Hard to get into but once pulled into the stories within stories it becomes an intriguing tale. Who is the gray figure in the shadows at the end? "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Mandy Cooper | 2/16/2014

    " Beautifully descriptive. It felt like I was being carried along in a dream, and I think that was at least somewhat the intention. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Chris | 2/13/2014

    " I'm afraid that there was some great mystery in this book that I missed completely. With all of the rambling and the contradictions I couldn't find it. The writing style was good. I enjoyed the recollections from the storytellers childhood. I just feel like I missed something, but don't want to read it again. I don't think I could take it! "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 by Jennifer | 2/9/2014

    " I found it extremely hard to get involved in this book. The storey teller approach is challenging in book form unless you really like this style. There is a general, loose main plot, but the story goes off on such irrelevant tangents that I just couldn't maintain a whole lot of interest. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations