Extended Audio Sample

Download The Storyteller of Marrakesh Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Storyteller of Marrakesh Audiobook, by Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (242 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya Narrator: Gerard Kyle Publisher: Dreamscape Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: January 2011 ISBN: 9781611200447
Regular Price: $29.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Each year, the storyteller, Hassan, gathers listeners to the city square to share their recollections of a young, foreign couple who mysteriously disappeared years earlier. As various witnesses describe their encounters with the couple, Hassan hopes to light upon the details that will explain what happened to them, and to absolve his own brother, who is in prison for their disappearance. But is this annual storytelling ritual a genuine attempt to uncover the truth, or is it intended instead to weave and ambiguous mythology around a crime? The first in an ambitious cycle of novels set in the Islamic world, The Storyteller of Marrakesh is an elegant exploration of the nature of reality and our shifting perceptions of truth.

Download and start listening now!

b4wt

Quotes & Awards

  • “An enigmatic fable in the tradition of The Thousand and One Nights…[Roy-Bhattacharya] has clearly immersed himself in the richness of Moroccan life and history. It makes a lively home for his questing imagination.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “A broad, discursive, plausible, and often beguiling presentation of a contemporary Islamic culture little changed by centuries, geopolitics, globalization or religious enmity. Roy-Battacharya’s descriptive powers are acute, and Marrakesh, the Djemaa, the Sahara, and the High Atlas Mountains are vividly rendered through all the senses. In a time when tensions between Islam and the West are fevered, The Storyteller of Marrakesh offers an agreeable change of pace.”

    Booklist

  • “A multilayered novel that juxtaposes the artistry of narration with a collision of cultures in the Jemaa…Lyrical.”

    Richmond Examiner

  • Selected for the February 2011 Indie Next List

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Judy | 2/20/2014

    " Hard to get into but once pulled into the stories within stories it becomes an intriguing tale. Who is the gray figure in the shadows at the end? "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mandy Cooper | 2/16/2014

    " Beautifully descriptive. It felt like I was being carried along in a dream, and I think that was at least somewhat the intention. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Chris | 2/13/2014

    " I'm afraid that there was some great mystery in this book that I missed completely. With all of the rambling and the contradictions I couldn't find it. The writing style was good. I enjoyed the recollections from the storytellers childhood. I just feel like I missed something, but don't want to read it again. I don't think I could take it! "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Jennifer | 2/9/2014

    " I found it extremely hard to get involved in this book. The storey teller approach is challenging in book form unless you really like this style. There is a general, loose main plot, but the story goes off on such irrelevant tangents that I just couldn't maintain a whole lot of interest. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Andra | 2/6/2014

    " Excellent descriptions of the various facets of da jemaa el fana, one of my most favorite places on earth. you have to experience it for yourself. but otherwise, didn't feel like there was much of a plot, just a lot of sketches. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Bonnie | 2/4/2014

    " Too circular in the plot, hard to follow the story. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kyle | 2/2/2014

    " The exotic location and way-of-life kept me intrigued, as well as the mystery of the two tourists... but the story meanders. There are a few chapters that have nothing to do with the rest of the story at all, which left this reader confused. In the end, the mystery of the tourists is not a big pay-off and there is a void of catharsis. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Karen | 1/19/2014

    " "Smoky" is the word that best describes this book. Although set in the present time, the immediate setting is by a campfire in a Moroccan town square on a winter night where a Berber storyteller tries to discover the truth & meaning in a relatively recent mystery that involves his brother. The author has a way with words, and takes a decidedly philosophical approach to truth and reality. Although the ending is less than satisfying for a book, there are some parallels that we would do well to recognize in our own lives as we struggle with decisions, truth & reality, "...there are no certitudes in life apart from the absolute unimportance of what is known, compared to the greatness of the unknown, which is nevertheless the only thing that matters." "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Swagata | 1/12/2014

    " Interesting read...very lyrical style of writing. but one of those books that leave you a unsatisfied in the end. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Michelle | 11/30/2013

    " I enjoyed this book quite a lot; having recently visited parts of the Middle East it was easy for me to envision being at the Jemma and the surrounding souks. I also enjoyed the use of Arabic words; it made it feel more authentic. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rebecca Wish | 11/4/2013

    " Good, rich book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Rebecca | 10/6/2013

    " A grand confusing tale told over and over in lots of voices. I felt that I could smell the incense as I sat in the square hearing the story with everyone else. transporting. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lena | 9/23/2013

    " It came together in the end and I ultimately liked it. There were some serious themes treated here, but i like reading it from a perspective other than a caucasian female in a 1st world country. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Eli | 9/11/2013

    " Didn't finish it, it was boring "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jaya | 7/24/2013

    " I liked it but the point of views and ambiguity may not be every body's cup of tea "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 P.A. | 9/21/2012

    " The first short story is very good and sucks you in. Then you get to the second short story and it kicks you out. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Morgan | 7/6/2012

    " This is a book that will stay in your head even when you've stopped reading. I've had the most beautiful, exotic, and terrifying dreams because of it. The ending has left me starving for more. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Marjanne | 5/14/2012

    " So I read about 30 pages of this book and just couldn't get into it. It was due back at the library and I decided that it was not interesting enough for me to renew it and try to get through. Blah. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Teegan | 4/17/2012

    " I really enjoyed this book. Mysterious, romantic, expansive. Also enjoyed the philosophical undertones on truth and beauty. Good stuff. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Katie Russell | 6/26/2011

    " Picked this up and the library and really wanted to like it more. I had a hard remembering all the characters because a new one was introduced every chapter. I was hoping more for a story told about an event that included some traditional tales from the area. This book was just ok. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Marjanne | 4/23/2011

    " So I read about 30 pages of this book and just couldn't get into it. It was due back at the library and I decided that it was not interesting enough for me to renew it and try to get through. Blah. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Andra | 4/16/2011

    " Excellent descriptions of the various facets of da jemaa el fana, one of my most favorite places on earth. you have to experience it for yourself. but otherwise, didn't feel like there was much of a plot, just a lot of sketches. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lisa | 3/20/2011

    " I'm always attracted to to books set in this region. The writing is beautiful and mysterious. If your tired it might not be the book to read because I had to put it aside for awhile - just couldn't stay awake! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Katie | 3/2/2011

    " Picked this up and the library and really wanted to like it more. I had a hard remembering all the characters because a new one was introduced every chapter. I was hoping more for a story told about an event that included some traditional tales from the area. This book was just ok. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Heidi | 1/28/2011

    " I would give this 2 1/2 stars. Enjoyed reading about the city and the country as I have visited there but the stories themselves told by the storyteller failed to keep my attention. I really wanted to love this book but I didn't. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya

Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya was born in Jamshedpur, India, and educated in politics and philosophy at Calcutta University and the University of Pennsylvania. His novels have been published in fourteen languages in eighteen countries. He lives in upstate New York.