Extended Audio Sample

Download The Poetry of Lord Byron, Volume VII: Occasional Pieces Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample The Poetry of Lord Byron, Volume VII: Occasional Pieces (Unabridged) Audiobook, by George Gordon
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: George Gordon Narrator: Robert Bethune Publisher: Freshwater Seas Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: September 2010 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

This volume of the Freshwater Seas Lord Byron set consists of 54 poems written during the years 1809-1816. Many were included in various editions of longer works, particularly the 1812 and later editions of Childe Harold; others were published in various newspapers and periodicals, especially the Morning Chronicle; a few were not published until after the author's death, sometimes long after.

The mood is as varied as were the occaions of the compositions. Quite a few echo the tone of his satires; some are merely witty bon-mots, others are more or less deeply felt expressions of emotion, ranging from perfunctory to sincere. Some show the puckish humor that makes one think that Byron and Ogden Nash were somehow cousins under the skin. Of the Romantics, it's really only Byron who shows such a comic and satiric side.

In short, here is part of the byroads-and-backwaters side of Lord Byron - poems you probably won't hear elsewhere, poems he wrote casually and sometimes never published, but poems that offer a side of him not seen elsewhere.

Download and start listening now!

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations