Download The Gulag Archipelago, 1918–1956, Vol. 2: An Experiment in Literary Investigation, III–IV Audiobook

The Gulag Archipelago, 1918–1956, Vol. 2: An Experiment in Literary Investigation, III–IV Audiobook, by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn Narrator: Narrator Info Added Soon Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2017 ISBN: 9781538462201
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (1 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 2 votes

This second volume in Solzhenitsyn’s narrative chronicles the appalling inhumanity of the Soviets’ “destructive-labor camps” and the fate of prisoners in them—felling timber, building canals and railroads, and mining gold without equipment or adequate food or clothing, and subject always to the caprices of the camp authorities. Most tragic of all is the life of the women prisoners and the luckless children they bear.

Once again, this chronicle of appalling inhumanity is made endurable by the vitality and emotional range of the writing. In one truly remarkable chapter, a parody of an anthropological treatise, Solzhenitsyn achieves new heights of sardonic wit. And in the final section, the music changes and he provides a magnificent coda on the possibilities of redemption and purification through suffering.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “A powerful narrative which combines the prose styles of epic novelist, partisan historian, and outraged moralist, interspersed with Russian proverbs, black humor, prison camp language, and parodies of Soviet bureaucratese.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “What Solzhenitsyn produced was simply more thorough, more monumental, and more detailed than anything that had been produced previously. It could not be ignored or dismissed as a single man's experience. As a result, no one who dealt with the Soviet Union, diplomaticlly of intellectualy, could ignore it.”


  • “The best nonfiction book of the twentieth century.”


  • “[Solzhenitsyn] has been able to probe the underbelly of totalitarian society and he has limned it perfectly.”

    Christian Science Monitor

  • Named a Time Magazine Best Nonfiction Book of the Twentieth Century
  • National Review’s 100 Best Nonfiction Books of the Century

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Aleksandr I. Solzhenitsyn (1918–2008) was born in Kislovodsk, Russia. A twice-decorated captain in the Soviet Army, he was stripped of his rank, arrested, and convicted for privately criticizing Stalin in 1945. Exiled from the USSR in 1974, he eventually settled in the United States before returning to his homeland twenty years later after the Soviet system had collapsed. Among his acclaimed works are the novels One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich and The First Circle. His literary awards include the Nobel Prize for Literature and the Medal of Honor for Literature.