Extended Audio Sample

Download The Eureka Factor : Aha Moments, Creative Insight, and the Brain  Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Eureka Factor : Aha Moments, Creative Insight, and the Brain , by John Kounios, Mark Beeman Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: John Kounios, Mark Beeman Narrator: John Kounios, Mark Beeman Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $17.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In a book perfect for readers of Charles Duhigg’s The Power of Habit, David Eagleman’s Incognito, and Leonard Mlodinow’s Subliminal, the cognitive neuroscientists who discovered how the brain has “aha”  moments—sudden creative insights—explain how they happen, when we need them, and how we can have more of them to enrich our lives and empower personal and professional success.

“Eureka” or “aha”  moments are sudden realizations that expand our understanding of the world and ourselves, conferring both personal growth and practical advantage. Such creative insights, as psychological scientists call them, were what conveyed an important discovery in the science of genetics to Nobel laureate Barbara McClintock, the melody of a Beatles ballad to Paul McCartney, and an understanding of the cause of human suffering to the Buddha. But these moments of clarity are not given only to the famous. Anyone can have them.

In The Eureka Factor, John Kounios and Mark Beeman explain how insights arise and what the scientific research says about stimulating more of them. They discuss how various conditions affect the likelihood of your having an insight, when insight is helpful and when deliberate methodical thought is better suited to a task, what the relationship is between insight and intuition, and how the brain’s right hemisphere contributes to creative thought.

Written in a lively, engaging style, this book goes beyond scientific principles to offer productive techniques for realizing your creative potential—at home and at work. The authors provide compelling anecdotes to illustrate how eureka experiences can be a key factor in your life. Attend a dinner party with Christopher Columbus to learn why we need insights. Go to a baseball game with the director of a classic Disney Pixar movie to learn about one important type of aha moment. Observe the behind-the-scenes arrangements for an Elvis Presley concert to learn why the timing of insights makes them difficult to use but crucial to study.

Accessible and compelling, The Eureka Factor is a fascinating look at the human brain and its seemingly infinite capacity to surprise us.

Download and start listening now!

bfps

Quotes & Awards

  • “A vigorous voyage inside the mind to understand those electrifying but elusive moments of discovery—and how we can have them more often.

    Adam Grant, Professor at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, New York Times bestselling author of Give and Take

  • The Eureka Factor is a highly engaging and informative look into the fascinating topic of sudden creative insights. John Kounios and Mark Beeman convincingly show that what once seemed to be a mysterious feature of the human mind is yielding to dramatic advances in the fields of psychology and neuroscience. Combining state-of-the-art research with compelling everyday examples, this book is essential reading for anyone who has ever wondered what makes it possible to experience an aha moment.”

    Daniel L. Schacter, William R. Kenan, Jr, Professor of Psychology, Harvard University, and author of The Seven Sins of Memory

  • “This book is written in a rigorous but also lively and engaging style, accessible to a broad range of readers, with lots of historical background, relevant scientific information, and illustrative real-world examples. Anyone seeking to spark more creativity in his or her own life should definitely check out and delve into The Eureka Factor.”

    David E. Meyer, PhD, Professor of Psychology, University of Michigan, and member of the National Academy of Sciences

  • “This remarkably readable book provides not only a uniquely authoritative discussion of the science of creativity, but also a wonderful vantage for learning about the exciting process of discovery that led to this knowledge.”

    Jonathan Schooler, Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences, UC Santa Barbara

  • “Readers curious to know what happens when we solve a problem in a flash will find the latest research here [and] will appreciate [the authors’] ingenious, thoughtful update on how the mind works.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations