Extended Audio Sample

Download The Eureka Factor: Aha Moments, Creative Insight, and the Brain Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Eureka Factor: Aha Moments, Creative Insight, and the Brain Audiobook, by John Kounios Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: John Kounios, Mark Beeman Narrator: John Kounios, Mark Beeman Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: April 2015 ISBN: 9780553551198
Regular Price: $17.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In a book perfect for readers of Charles Duhigg’s The Power of Habit, David Eagleman’s Incognito, and Leonard Mlodinow’s Subliminal, the cognitive neuroscientists who discovered how the brain has aha moments—sudden creative insights—explain how they happen, when we need them, and how we can have more of them to enrich our lives and empower personal and professional success.
 
Eureka or aha moments are sudden realizations that expand our understanding of the world and ourselves, conferring both personal growth and practical advantage. Such creative insights, as psychological scientists call them, were what conveyed an important discovery in the science of genetics to Nobel laureate Barbara McClintock, the melody of a Beatles ballad to Paul McCartney, and an understanding of the cause of human suffering to the Buddha. But these moments of clarity are not given only to the famous. Anyone can have them.
 
In The Eureka Factor, John Kounios and Mark Beeman explain how insights arise and what the scientific research says about stimulating more of them. They discuss how various conditions affect the likelihood of your having an insight, when insight is helpful and when deliberate methodical thought is better suited to a task, what the relationship is between insight and intuition, and how the brain’s right hemisphere contributes to creative thought.
 
Written in a lively, engaging style, this book goes beyond scientific principles to offer productive techniques for realizing your creative potential—at home and at work. The authors provide compelling anecdotes to illustrate how eureka experiences can be a key factor in your life. Attend a dinner party with Christopher Columbus to learn why we need insights. Go to a baseball game with the director of a classic Disney Pixar movie to learn about one important type of aha moment. Observe the behind-the-scenes arrangements for an Elvis Presley concert to learn why the timing of insights is crucial.
 
Accessible and compelling, The Eureka Factor is a fascinating look at the human brain and its seemingly infinite capacity to surprise us.
 
Praise for The Eureka Factor
 
“Delicious . . . In The Eureka Factor, neuroscientists John Kounios and Mark Beeman give many other examples of [a] kind of lightning bolt of insight, but back this up with the latest brain-imaging research.”Newsweek
 
“An incredible accomplishment . . . [The Eureka Factor] is not just a chronicle of the journey that numerous scientists (including the authors) have taken to examine insight but is also a fascinating guide to how advances in science are made in general. Messrs. Kounios and Beeman examine how a parade of clever experiments can be designed to answer specific questions and rule out alternative possibilities. . . . Wonderful ideas appear as if out of nowhere—and we are delighted.”The Wall Street Journal

“An excellent title for those interested in neuroscience or creativity . . . The writing is engaging and readable, mixing stories of famous perceptions with explanations of how such revelations happen.”Library Journal (starred review)
 
“A lively and accessible ‘brain’ book with wide appeal.”Booklist

“[An] ingenious, thoughtful update on how the mind works.”—Kirkus Reviews
 
The Eureka Factor presents a fascinating and illuminating account of the creative process and how to foster it.”—James J. Heckman, Nobel laureate in economics


From the Hardcover edition. Download and start listening now!

bfps

Quotes & Awards

  • Delicious . . . In The Eureka Factor, neuroscientists John Kounios and Mark Beeman give many other examples of [a] kind of lightning bolt of insight, but back this up with the latest brain-imaging research. Newsweek
     
  • An incredible accomplishment . . . [The Eureka Factor] is not just a chronicle of the journey that numerous scientists (including the authors) have taken to examine insight but is also a fascinating guide to how advances in science are made in general. Messrs. Kounios and Beeman examine how a parade of clever experiments can be designed to answer specific questions and rule out alternative possibilities. . . . Wonderful ideas appear as if out of nowhere—and we are delighted. The Wall Street Journal
  • An excellent title for those interested in neuroscience or creativity . . . The writing is engaging and readable, mixing stories of famous perceptions with explanations of how such revelations happen, and including suggestions throughout to help people become more insightful. Library Journal (starred review)
  • An especially welcome new contribution to our understanding of how human creativity really works, written in a rigorous but lively and engaging style accessible to a broad range of readers . . . Anyone seeking to spark more creativity in his or her life should delve into The Eureka Factor. David E. Meyer, Ph.D., member of the National Academy of Sciences, professor of psychology, University of Michigan
  • Two pioneers in the field take us on a spirited tour of one of the greatest of all human experiences: the aha moment. This remarkably readable book provides a uniquely authoritative discussion of the science of creativity. Jonathan Schooler, professor of psychological and brain sciences, U.C. Santa Barbara
  • Kounios and Beeman bring insight down to earth in the best of all possible ways. They offer a whirlwind tour through fascinating examples and cutting-edge science to reveal the essence of the aha moment. Deborah Prentice, dean of the faculty, professor of psychology and public affairs, Princeton University
  • The Eureka Factor is a highly engaging and informative look into sudden creative insights. John Kounios and Mark Beeman convincingly show that what once seemed to be a mysterious feature of the human mind is yielding to dramatic advances in the fields of psychology and neuroscience. Combining state-of-the-art research with compelling everyday examples, this book is essential reading for anyone who has ever wondered what makes it possible to experience an aha moment. Daniel L. Schacter, William R. Kenan, Jr., Professor of Psychology, Harvard University, and author of The Seven Sins of Memory
     
  • A vigorous voyage inside the mind to understand those electrifying but elusive moments of discovery—and how we can have them more often. Adam Grant, professor, Wharton School, and New York Times bestselling author of Give and Take
     
  • The Eureka Factor presents a fascinating and illuminating account of the creative process and how to foster it. James J. Heckman, Nobel laureate in economics, Henry Schultz Distinguished Service Professor, University of Chicago
  • Readers curious to know what happens when we solve a problem in a flash will find the latest research here [and] will appreciate [this] ingenious, thoughtful update on how the mind works. Kirkus Reviews
  • Kounios and Beeman, distinguished neuroscientists with more than twenty years of cognitive research to their credit, examine such incidents of insight, juxtaposing the mere wonder of it all with the quantifiable science behind how the brain functions. . . . Knowing how and when the brain can spark at maximum responsiveness can open up a world of inventiveness and inspiration. A lively and accessible ‘brain’ book with wide appeal. Booklist
     
  • “A vigorous voyage inside the mind to understand those electrifying but elusive moments of discovery—and how we can have them more often.

    Adam Grant, Professor at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, New York Times bestselling author of Give and Take

  • The Eureka Factor is a highly engaging and informative look into the fascinating topic of sudden creative insights. John Kounios and Mark Beeman convincingly show that what once seemed to be a mysterious feature of the human mind is yielding to dramatic advances in the fields of psychology and neuroscience. Combining state-of-the-art research with compelling everyday examples, this book is essential reading for anyone who has ever wondered what makes it possible to experience an aha moment.”

    Daniel L. Schacter, William R. Kenan, Jr, Professor of Psychology, Harvard University, and author of The Seven Sins of Memory

  • “This book is written in a rigorous but also lively and engaging style, accessible to a broad range of readers, with lots of historical background, relevant scientific information, and illustrative real-world examples. Anyone seeking to spark more creativity in his or her own life should definitely check out and delve into The Eureka Factor.”

    David E. Meyer, PhD, Professor of Psychology, University of Michigan, and member of the National Academy of Sciences

  • “This remarkably readable book provides not only a uniquely authoritative discussion of the science of creativity, but also a wonderful vantage for learning about the exciting process of discovery that led to this knowledge.”

    Jonathan Schooler, Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences, UC Santa Barbara

  • “Readers curious to know what happens when we solve a problem in a flash will find the latest research here [and] will appreciate [the authors’] ingenious, thoughtful update on how the mind works.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

John Kounios, PhD, is a professor of psychology and director of Drexel University’s doctoral program in applied cognitive and brain sciences. He has published cognitive neuroscience research on insight, creativity, problem solving, memory, and Alzheimer’s disease. His research has been funded by the National Institutes of Health and the National Science Foundation. Kounios and Beeman’s research on insight has been featured in the New York Times,the Wall Street Journal,the Times (London), and National Public Radio, as well as a BBC Television documentary.

About the Narrator

Mark Beeman, PhD, is a professor of psychology at Northwestern University, where he studies the brain bases of creative cognition and problem solving, how mood affects attention and cognition, and how the right and left sides of the brain differ in function. His research has been funded by the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, the John Templeton Foundation, and the Office of Naval Research. Kounios and Beeman’s research on insight has been featured in the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Times (London), and National Public Radio, as well as a BBC Television documentary.