Extended Audio Sample

Download The Complete Works of Tacitus: Volume 3: The History Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample The Complete Works of Tacitus: Volume 3: The History (Unabridged), by Cornelius Tacitus
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (903 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Cornelius Tacitus Narrator: Charlton Griffin Publisher: Audio Connoisseur Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

In all of Roman history there was never a more turbulent year than A.D. 69, the ill-omened Year of the Three Emperors. By some miracle, the greatest historian of the age, Tacitus, was able to chronicle those momentous events in a work he called The History. In its pages are some of the most memorable events of Roman history described in some of the most intensely passionate prose ever devised. Tacitus was a genius of the highest rank and his searing epigrammatic style has never been equaled, nor put to greater use.

The History opens with the events following the assassination of Nero. Galba, an elderly senator of noble lineage, is the first to claim the crown. But his reign is short...only one month. Civil war immediately breaks out. Defying him is the rakish Otho, an aristocrat of singularly corrupt morals, both in his public and private life. Since the troops favor him over Galba, they murder the old emperor and elevate Otho. But Otho, in the mistaken belief that his troops have deserted him, cannot keep the throne in the face of Vitellius' emerging challenge and he commits suicide rather than face war. Vitellius, as corrupt and weak as his predecessor, is challenged in his turn by a successful general who has been proclaimed emperor by his own troops in Egypt, Vespasian. As civil unrest spirals out of control in Italy, renewed war breaks out in Germany, Illyria, and Judaea. As it turns out, Vespasian is the only man who can command the kind of respect and loyalty to keep the tottering empire on its feet.

This production uses the famous translation by Church and Brodribb, considered the finest in the English language.

The Complete Works of Tacitus continues in Volume 4 with three short works: The Life of Agricola, Germany and its Tribes, and The Dialogue on Oratory.

Download and start listening now!


Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Peter | 10/23/2013

    " The true story of the Bush Administration... spelled out 2000 years ago in Rome. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 by Olivia | 9/26/2013

    " God Tacitus. Brevity wouldn't hurt you. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Willie Whelan | 9/1/2013

    " If you have to read one 2000 year old history book this should be it. Tacitus is not without his prejudices but boy does he bring Rome to life. It is Roman history as current affairs. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Miles | 11/16/2011

    " One year in the life of the Empire following the death of Gaius Claudius (Nero). What men say and do under pressure. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations