Extended Audio Sample

Download The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter, by Katherine Anne Porter
1.33 out of 51.33 out of 51.33 out of 51.33 out of 51.33 out of 5 1.33 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Katherine Anne Porter Narrator: Siobhan McKenna Publisher: AudioGO Format: Unspecified Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

Four of the exceptional short stories that won Katherine Anne Porter both the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award. In The Cracked Looking Glass, Rosaleen's dream and stories collide with the gray reality of life on a remote Connecticut farm. For 9-year-old Miranda, The Grave, is her grandfather's empty one, now just a hole in the ground. But the rabbit her brother shoots reveals the mystery of death...and life. The tale of a spell cast by a mean-spirited New Orleans fancy house Madam is related by a maid to her new employer in Magic. In Flowering Judas, a young foreign woman aiding a revolutionary group in Mexico finds denial no match for her growing sense of moral responsibility. Download and start listening now!


Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Claire | 3/12/2011

    " So why are short stories so universally depressing? Why no uplift? I had to skip a few of these, I admit it. They are indeed very beautifully written. I think she got the national book award for these but I'm not sure. Well worth reading. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Steven | 9/11/2010

    " Winner of the Pulitzer Prize in 1966. I really enjoyed some of the stories in the collection, but others were difficult to read and follow. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Robyn | 3/24/2010

    " The Jilting of Granny Weatherall (published 1930) is the short story I most admire. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Amy | 1/10/2010

    " I will never even pretend to be a writer after reading "Holiday." "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Katherine Anne Porter

Katherine Anne Porter (1890--1980) was a Pulitzer Prize–winning American journalist, essayist, short story writer, novelist, and political activist. She pulled herself up from a life of hardship, dislocation, and severe loss in rural Texas to become a major American author and one of the most compelling literary figures of the twentieth century. Her first and only novel, Ship of Fools, was published in 1962 and became the bestselling novel in America that year, bringing her national literary fame. In 1967 she was awarded the American Academy of Arts and Letters Gold Medal for Fiction.