Extended Audio Sample

Download Strega: A Burke Novel, Book 2 Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample Strega: A Burke Novel, Book 2 (Unabridged), by Andrew Vachss
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (1,261 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Andrew Vachss Narrator: Phil Gigante Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2010 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

Andrew Vachss's implacable private eye has a new client, Strega. She wants Burke to find an obscene photograph and that search will take him into the ocean that flows just beneath the city, an ocean whose currents are flesh and money, the anguish of children and the pleasure of twisted adults. It is a place that Burke can visit only at the risk of his sanity and his life. But between the power of Strega and his own sense of justice, there is no turning back.

In Strega one of our most acclaimed crime writers gives us a thriller that might have been imagined by Dante. For this is a tour of hell with no stops left out, conducted by a novelist who writes with the authority of the damned.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BRLL_002074

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Carryl | 1/27/2014

    " great series of unusual characters for those who enjoy fractured heros. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Stacey | 1/16/2014

    " I always assumed Vachss was genre in the vein of Patterson and Grafton and the like, but a student recommended this as more noir than straight-up mystery and she was right. Solid language and characters and so gritty that I actually felt disturbed at times (child pornography/abuse figures heavily in the plot). Felt pretty authentic to me, too. Thumbs up. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 John | 1/14/2014

    " Just found Vachss at the library. Okay I guess. The next one of his is Sacrafice. I'll let you know what I think when I've finished. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Barbara | 12/25/2013

    " He's still writing well, very precise and unemotional, but from my Christian perspective I'm uneasy during descriptions of the sexual acts in which his character engages. Considering the milieux in which his main character operates, the author does not overplay this particular hand, and I am grateful for his restraint. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Gary Fritz | 12/24/2013

    " Haunting, terrifying, too real and hypnotic. An excellent read but not for the faint-of-heart. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Raegan Butcher | 10/15/2013

    " Burke is up to his usual tricks in the 2nd of the series of hard hitting urban noirs. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 D. Gigante | 10/12/2013

    " The book is superb. I enjoyed the "read" for it's tight nit construction and thrilling threading of dialog. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Patrick | 9/17/2013

    " Burke and his friends make up a different type of detective "agency" than one would find in most books. His motivation, techiniques, type of cases, and background are uniquely his own. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joe | 8/28/2013

    " I enjoyed this the 2nd Book in the Burke series, really promises to be an adventurous & really interesting series. Some of the supporting charcters are excellent. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kaethe | 8/19/2013

    " Vachss is sympathetic to his victims, but the crimes are just too horrific for me to read about. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joseph | 6/18/2013

    " My favorite Burke book, though I'm not sure why. The Burke formula is pretty standardized, though this is an early one, but this one sticks with me more than the others. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Dr Edward Diesel | 4/3/2013

    " Second Burke book and it already shows the evolution of his writing style. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Tia Jones | 8/27/2012

    " My boss gave me two of his books to read and they're just not what I enjoy. I read them so that she and I could discuss them but I found myself thoroughly bored by both of them. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jaycee | 6/26/2012

    " My first Vachss and it was everything Mr. Pluck promised. This was way out of my usual reading zone, but I think my father would have approved. A down and dirty New York tale featuring the enigmatic Burke. I'm ready for another. Thank you, T. Pluck! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Benoit Lelievre | 3/10/2012

    " Not worth your time, no matter if you're a Vachss fan or not (in my humble opinion). It's a decent story, but it could have been told in a hundred and twenty pages. More than half of this novel is useless banter on the concept of "family of choice". This is loosing math right there. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lyn Sirota | 1/22/2012

    " Great read and horrifying look into the underworld where children are so viciously exploited. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nikki Nielsen | 9/26/2011

    " Not a bad suspense writer - slightly shallow plot/characters, but I liked Vachss' writing style. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sarah Prescott | 9/13/2011

    " very difficult subject manner, it can be hard to read at times. I really enjoy the characters and the paradox that lies within the main character, Burke. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Steve | 8/21/2011

    " I still like the characters. There is some detailed sex that some might find offensive. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Craig Werner | 8/18/2011

    " Your basic Burke novel. Mama, Max, the Mole, the Prof, Michelle, good dog Pansy. As always, what sets the series apart is Vachs' righteous rage directed against child abuse. As always, the plot's fairly predictable. And I get a bit tired of the "Burke has sex with a beautiful woman" motif. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Wayne | 6/2/2011

    " Another great read from Vachss. Hard to put down and then there's Burke......love him or hate him he's one tough man. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 thomas | 2/27/2011

    " Read this a billion years ago. Vachss' specializes is writing about how the weakest of the weak get preyed upon and then how his protagonist, Burke, metes out comeuppance. Very gritty story, not for the faint of heart. But well written and you will be rooting for Burke right to the end. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Patrick | 11/17/2010

    " Burke and his friends make up a different type of detective "agency" than one would find in most books. His motivation, techiniques, type of cases, and background are uniquely his own. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 D. | 9/24/2010

    " The book is superb. I enjoyed the "read" for it's tight nit construction and thrilling threading of dialog. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Dr Edward | 8/21/2010

    " Second Burke book and it already shows the evolution of his writing style. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joseph | 3/23/2010

    " My favorite Burke book, though I'm not sure why. The Burke formula is pretty standardized, though this is an early one, but this one sticks with me more than the others. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kaethe | 11/9/2009

    " Vachss is sympathetic to his victims, but the crimes are just too horrific for me to read about. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Tia | 8/3/2009

    " My boss gave me two of his books to read and they're just not what I enjoy. I read them so that she and I could discuss them but I found myself thoroughly bored by both of them. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nikki | 5/21/2009

    " Not a bad suspense writer - slightly shallow plot/characters, but I liked Vachss' writing style. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tanya | 2/9/2009

    " I really like the Burke novels, been reading this author for years. It will not disappointed fan for Andrew Vachss - Burke fans. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joe | 1/5/2009

    " I enjoyed this the 2nd Book in the Burke series, really promises to be an adventurous & really interesting series. Some of the supporting charcters are excellent. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sarah | 7/15/2008

    " very difficult subject manner, it can be hard to read at times. I really enjoy the characters and the paradox that lies within the main character, Burke. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Carryl | 6/25/2008

    " great series of unusual characters for those who enjoy fractured heros. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations