Extended Audio Sample

Download Songs for the Butcher's Daughter: A Novel Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample Songs for the Butchers Daughter: A Novel (Unabridged), by Peter Manseau
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (472 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Peter Manseau Narrator: Mirron Willis Publisher: Peter L. Manseau Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

Songs for the Butcher's Daughter is a winner of the National Jewish Book Award, the Sophie Brody Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Jewish Literature, and the Ribalow Prize for Fiction. The novel was also a finalist for France's Prix Medicis and the Center for Fiction's First Novel of the Year Award.

In a warehouse full of forgotten books, a man at the beginning of his adult life - and the end of his career rope - becomes involved with a woman, a language, and a great lie that will define his future. Most auspiciously of all, he runs across Itsik Malpesh, a 90-something Russian immigrant who claims to be the last Yiddish poet in America.

When a set of accounting ledgers in which Malpesh has written his memoirs surfaces - 22 volumes brimming with adventure, drama, deception, passion, and wit - the young man is compelled to translate them, telling Malpesh's story as his own life unfolds, and bringing together two paths that coincide in shocking and unexpected ways. Moving from revolutionary Russia, to New York's Depression-era Lower East Side, to millennium's-end Baltimore with drama, adventure, and boisterous, feisty charm to spare, the unpeeling of this friendship is a story of the entire 20th century.

For fans of Nicole Krauss, Nathan Englander, Richard Powers, Amy Bloom, and Lore Segal, this book will amaze listeners at every turn. Narrated by two poets (one who doesn't know he is and one who doesn't know he isn't), it is a wise and warm exploration of the constant surprises and ineluctable ravages of time. It's a book about religion, love, and typesetting - how one passion can be used to goad and thwart the other - and most of all, about how faith in the power of words can survive even the death of a language.

A novel of faith lost and hope found in translation, Songs for the Butcher's Daughter is at once an immigrant's epic saga, a love story for the ages, a Yiddish-inflected laughing-through-tears tour of world ... Download and start listening now!


Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Fishmansj | 2/7/2014

    " In addition to the two storylines which come together at the end, the use of many Yiddish words (no glossary) made this a challenging and instructive reading experience. I requested this through ILL after reading the review in Booklist; I was not disappointed. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Natalie Banta | 1/27/2014

    " Forgettable and a bit over the top. I didn't write a review when I first finished the book, and now I don't have much to say. I thought it had a strong beginning, an okay middle, and a weak ending. I didn't like any of the characters. The best part about this book was the background story of the Jewish people in Russia before World War I and then in America. It helped me understand the religious and cultural divide of the Jewish people. Other than that, it was a bit of a disappointment. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Shoshana | 1/23/2014

    " Dude. It's like The Princess Bride with linguistics. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Arna | 1/15/2014

    " Probably a 3.5 star read for me. An evocative novel that spans a century, the fated couple of Itsik and Sasha, separated as children and briefly together as adults. Artfully demonstrates the power of language (and poetry) with the intertwined lives of Itsik's friends and family as they escape pogroms, press-ganging, famine and later Stalin to create a new life in America while holding on to their home, while questioning what is home. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations