Extended Audio Sample

Download Songs for the Butcher's Daughter: A Novel Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample Songs for the Butchers Daughter: A Novel (Unabridged), by Peter Manseau
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (472 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Peter Manseau Narrator: Mirron Willis Publisher: Peter L. Manseau Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: April 2012 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

Songs for the Butcher's Daughter is a winner of the National Jewish Book Award, the Sophie Brody Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Jewish Literature, and the Ribalow Prize for Fiction. The novel was also a finalist for France's Prix Medicis and the Center for Fiction's First Novel of the Year Award.

In a warehouse full of forgotten books, a man at the beginning of his adult life - and the end of his career rope - becomes involved with a woman, a language, and a great lie that will define his future. Most auspiciously of all, he runs across Itsik Malpesh, a 90-something Russian immigrant who claims to be the last Yiddish poet in America.

When a set of accounting ledgers in which Malpesh has written his memoirs surfaces - 22 volumes brimming with adventure, drama, deception, passion, and wit - the young man is compelled to translate them, telling Malpesh's story as his own life unfolds, and bringing together two paths that coincide in shocking and unexpected ways. Moving from revolutionary Russia, to New York's Depression-era Lower East Side, to millennium's-end Baltimore with drama, adventure, and boisterous, feisty charm to spare, the unpeeling of this friendship is a story of the entire 20th century.

For fans of Nicole Krauss, Nathan Englander, Richard Powers, Amy Bloom, and Lore Segal, this book will amaze listeners at every turn. Narrated by two poets (one who doesn't know he is and one who doesn't know he isn't), it is a wise and warm exploration of the constant surprises and ineluctable ravages of time. It's a book about religion, love, and typesetting - how one passion can be used to goad and thwart the other - and most of all, about how faith in the power of words can survive even the death of a language.

A novel of faith lost and hope found in translation, Songs for the Butcher's Daughter is at once an immigrant's epic saga, a love story for the ages, a Yiddish-inflected laughing-through-tears tour of world ... Download and start listening now!

BK_ACX0_001023

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Fishmansj | 2/7/2014

    " In addition to the two storylines which come together at the end, the use of many Yiddish words (no glossary) made this a challenging and instructive reading experience. I requested this through ILL after reading the review in Booklist; I was not disappointed. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Natalie Banta | 1/27/2014

    " Forgettable and a bit over the top. I didn't write a review when I first finished the book, and now I don't have much to say. I thought it had a strong beginning, an okay middle, and a weak ending. I didn't like any of the characters. The best part about this book was the background story of the Jewish people in Russia before World War I and then in America. It helped me understand the religious and cultural divide of the Jewish people. Other than that, it was a bit of a disappointment. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Shoshana | 1/23/2014

    " Dude. It's like The Princess Bride with linguistics. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Arna | 1/15/2014

    " Probably a 3.5 star read for me. An evocative novel that spans a century, the fated couple of Itsik and Sasha, separated as children and briefly together as adults. Artfully demonstrates the power of language (and poetry) with the intertwined lives of Itsik's friends and family as they escape pogroms, press-ganging, famine and later Stalin to create a new life in America while holding on to their home, while questioning what is home. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Alex | 1/11/2014

    " Ode to the joys and sorrows of living in a dying language (Yiddish), a la JSF or Nicole Krauss "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Greg | 1/11/2014

    " Nice. Some contrivance and over-explanation here and there, but still good stuff. Russian Jews of Literature have been following me around. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Anna | 1/8/2014

    " An incredible love story spanning nearly a century weaved with culture and history. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Peggy | 1/7/2014

    " Very good writing and story telling about love, ambition, Jewish immigration from Russia to NYC. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Julie Benay | 12/26/2013

    " This was wonderful - an interesting narrative that explores language and life. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Vi | 12/17/2013

    " This is an interesting story that moves between early 20th century and contemporary New York City. Historical fiction that isn't so detailed that it spoils the storyline. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Liz | 10/4/2013

    " Don't let the love story fool you - this is a tale of the Yiddish language, told through those who know it through all walks of life. A beautiful - funny, and at times heart-wrenching - narrative, Songs for the Butcher's daughter brings great perspective to the idea of destiny. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sally Koslow | 8/23/2013

    " What a superb novel...I relished every well-crafted sentence. This novel is told in two time frames, with a contempory story and a rich backstory about "the last great Yiddish poet." Tender, witty and wise. I recommend it to anyone intereted in Jewish culture or the immigrant experience. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Laurie | 8/2/2013

    " This was a very well written book--It is a Jewish immigrant story with a somewhat unusual twist, taking place in Russia and the United States. The characters are interesting and it has a very sweet quality to it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Myersorchard | 8/1/2013

    " i'm never sure what to say about a book beyond what is already on the cover except whether or not i enjoyed the book. i enjoyed this book. i left it in vermont w/ my sister. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Andrea | 7/22/2013

    " Somehow I felt I'd read this book [story:] before. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mary | 5/8/2013

    " this book as pure delight. tt is a love story, a story of Yiddish, poetry immigration, language and identity. I most definitely recommend it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Marsha | 2/18/2013

    " Interesting look at the Jewish immigrant experience and the history of Yiddish in the states. I qualify this rating as I listened to it and the reader was just terrible. It may have affected my opinion of the book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Cathie | 1/12/2013

    " Unusual book, and unusual delivery style. This book didn't really get interesting until after 200 pages. Tragic story. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Debra Robbins | 11/24/2012

    " Wow--I loved this book--a wonderful love story, history book, commentary on poetry and the art of translation, all in one! Magnificent! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Fern Chasida | 9/24/2012

    " I really enjoyed this story of the "last Yiddish poet in America." From his birth in Kishinev the story of Itzik Malpesh is interspersed with the story of his interpreter and how the story comes to be told. Engaging characters. Definitely recommended. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Artemisia | 6/17/2012

    " Il valore inestimabile di un regalo sta nelle persone (cit.). "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations