Extended Audio Sample

Download Silent in the Sanctuary Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample Silent in the Sanctuary (Unabridged) Audiobook, by Deanna Raybourn
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (5,488 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Deanna Raybourn Narrator: Ellen Archer Publisher: Harlequin Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: December 2007 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 4 votes

Fresh from a six-month sojourn in Italy, Lady Julia returns home to Sussex to find her father's estate crowded with family and friends: but dark deeds are afoot at the deconsecrated abbey, and a murderer roams the ancient cloisters.

Much to her surprise, the one man she had hoped to forget, the enigmatic and compelling Nicholas Brisbane, is among her father's houseguests...and he is not alone. Not to be outdone, Julia shows him that two can play at flirtation and promptly introduces him to her devoted, younger, titled Italian count.

But the homecoming celebrations quickly take a ghastly turn when one of the guests is found brutally murdered in the chapel, and a member of Lady Julia's own family confesses to the crime. Certain of her cousin's innocence, Lady Julia resumes her unlikely and deliciously intriguing partnership with Nicholas Brisbane, setting out to unravel a tangle of deceit before the killer can strike again. When a sudden snowstorm blankets the abbey like a shroud, it falls to Lady Julia and Nicholas Brisbane to answer the shriek of murder most foul. Download and start listening now!

BK_HARL_000200

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Janet | 2/16/2014

    " I sat down and read this book in one large gulp. Another wormhole book, it even stood up to the frequent interruptions of my current fetch-and-carry lifestyle. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Teresa | 2/16/2014

    " A solid mystery-romance, although truly nowhere near a bodice-ripper. Characterization has been strong throughout the series, and the whodunits themselves are generally well-plotted. (I'm not a standard mystery reader, however, so maybe they'd be easier for someone else to suss out ahead of time.) "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Andrea Jones | 2/15/2014

    " I love love love this author. More than a hint of romance with a well written mystery thrown in, dying for the next book to be published. I finished this book over two days. Excellent character development. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Gerry | 2/3/2014

    " will now HAVE to read the rest of this series - love Julia "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tanya | 1/18/2014

    " I just spent an entire rainy Saturday reading this book in bed - pure indulgence! It's been so many years since I've done this that I'm not certain if the 4-star rating reflects more on the novel or the experience, but I enjoyed it immensely! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Meghan | 1/13/2014

    " I really like the Lady Julia Grey books. It's fun to read about eccentric personalities in a different time period. And this book is much more a "whodunit" along the lines of Sherlock and Agatha Christie. The characters eccentricities are fun and I do love the bits when the Roma show up. It's just a fun read and I love the tension that simmers between Brisbane and Julia. But I do have to admit, it is frustrating how slow Julia is at times... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Elisa | 1/10/2014

    " I really enjoyed this second book in her series more than the first. These characters are wonderfully developed and her writing just sucks you right in!! She ties things together so well and the mystery is great!! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Heidi | 12/24/2013

    " This is the second in a new series featuring Lady Jane Grey. I'd say the author is improving with age... the second book kept me guessing much better than the first (Silent in the Grave). If you like victorian mysteries in the vein of Anne Perry's Charlotte Pitt and Monk... then try this new series. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kathy | 12/15/2013

    " A sequel to Silent in the Grave, Sanctuary further develops the characters, all of whom are interesting. A fun read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 AzuresHeart | 12/3/2013

    " I found this one much faster to get through... and felt that the relationship between Julia and Brisbane moved forward enough that I hope something more happens next time! I think I have found another type of novel to enjoy! Now I have to wait until March 2009 for the next one! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jennifer | 10/18/2013

    " A fun mystery. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Stacey | 6/26/2013

    " Loved this book even more than "Silent in the Grave"! A great series! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Calli | 4/9/2013

    " Entertaining Christmas mystery. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Fullfaun | 3/13/2013

    " my mom read and it and really liked the first book, but by the 3rd book, she expected Lady Julia to get her act together. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Deanna Knippling | 3/10/2013

    " More of the same - the mystery was better. Seeing more of the family was nice. Things got more involved between the hero and heroine. The book pulled me through more solidly than the first. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Katie | 11/22/2012

    " The Lady Julia series is my latest Beach Book/Guilty pleasure read. Not my usual fare, but I can't help but get sucked in! The coolness of the Victorian England setting help these mysteries suit grey February days perfectly. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Louisa | 6/18/2012

    " Fantastic book, great mystery, lots of different threads that all came together, can't wait to reread the next book! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Misty | 3/7/2012

    " I think I may have loved this one more than I did Silent in the Grave. And I'm slightly in love w/ Brisbane. I may need a time machine to go beat up Julia and steal him. Or at least hang out with Portia, Jane, and Puggy! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Carrie | 12/17/2011

    " Fun second installment! I like how this hero and heroine are not neat and tidy and entirely co-dependent. It's more like a UFC cage fight. And the March family are a great supporting cast! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Whit | 10/25/2011

    " Book #2 in the "Lady Julia Grey" series by Deanna Raybourn...super. It's like the show Moonlighting, but Victorian and of course in book form. Quick to read, engaging, and a nice interplay between the two lead characters. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 William | 6/20/2011

    " A fun Victorian murder mystery that introduces Lady Julia Grey, perhaps the most normal of a wildly eccentric family, who, in investigating her husband's mysterious death, finds herself, her own voice--and just perhaps the possibility of a true love match. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Julie | 6/15/2011

    " Started trying historical mystery/romance. Surprised by how much I enjoyed it. So tackled the next in the series for easy reading... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Susinok | 6/14/2011

    " Excellent mystery set in the Victorian age. The characters are engaging and the setting is very well drawn.

    Now on to the next one... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Laura | 6/7/2011

    " Kind of a cross between Jane Austen and Sherlock Holmes novels. I really liked it! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Marie | 6/7/2011

    " I enjoyed this intriguing novel set in 1880's London. There were shocking twists and unexpected turns. I will read more in this series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Emily | 6/3/2011

    " Somewhat similar to the Lady Emily books, however they are a bit darker in subject. Great side characters. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Megan | 6/2/2011

    " This is a fun book with interesting characters and lots of historical details. It’s pretty much a romance novel for people who don’t read romance novels (like myself). "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Nii | 5/26/2011

    " Fun for the Brit Victorian lover. Clever female narrator and pretty good historical setting. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Gricel | 5/21/2011

    " I so enjoyed this book, I can't wait to start the second in the series! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joni | 5/20/2011

    " I really enjoyed the characters in this one. It does not have graphic, detailed scenes, but you should be warned that there are people living different lifestyles than I would approve of. It is a lot more sad, though, than celebrating those lifestyles. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Narrator

Ellen Archer is an award-winning narrator, actress, and singer with a degree in Opera Performance from the Boston Conservatory. She has performed extensively on the New York stage and in regional theaters. She has narrated numerous audiobooks and has won several AudioFile Earphones Awards, as well as the prestigious Audie Award for best narration.