Extended Audio Sample

Download Science Fiction Radio: Atom Age Adventures Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Science Fiction Radio: Atom Age Adventures Audiobook, by Isaac Asimov
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Isaac Asimov Narrator: Ernest Chappell Publisher: Radio Spirits Format: Original Staging Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: April 2013 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

From the late 1940's through the 1950's, in a world where space travel and nuclear annihilation were no longer merely the stuff of fantasy, science fiction began to achieve a new popularity. And, the work of noted genre writers began to be adapted in movies and radio programs. Based (however implausibly) on science, these radio broadcasts reflected the depths of the nation's fears, and the boundlessness of its imagination. The science fiction series presented here - including X Minus One, 2000 Plus, and Exploring Tomorrow - offer adventures that seek to find a place for humanity in a world of machines, weighing the value of life and beauty against automated convenience and cold efficiency. The mission of science fiction is more than an exploration of space and time. It is also an exploration of man's values of who we are, and who we want to be. This 10-hour collection includes 22 digitally remastered and restored atom age episodes.

Episodes Include: X Minus One: The Cave of Night 02-01-56, C-Chute 02-08-56, The Lifeboat Mutiny 09-11-56, Sam, This is You 10-31-56, Honeymoon in Hell 12-26-56, Something for Nothing 04-10-57, The Discovery of Mornial Mathaway 04-17-57, Man's Best Friend 04-24-57; 2000 Plus: The Brooklyn Brain 06-21-50, The Green Thing 09-27-50; Worlds Apart 11-15-50, The Insect 08-15-51; Hall of Fantasy: The Automaton 02-27-53; Exploring Tomorrow: The Adventure of the Beauty Queen 1958, First Baby in Space (a.k.a. Space Baby) 1958; Escape: Conqueror's Isle 01-11-53, North of Polaris 05-17-53; Quiet Please: One for the Book 11-21-48, Very Unimportant Person 12-05-48; Suspense: Report From a Dead Planet 07-10-60, Twenty-Four Sixty-Two 01-21-62, Doom Machine 03-04-62

Download and start listening now!

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Isaac Asimov

Isaac Asimov (1920–1992) was born in the Soviet Union and came to the United States in 1923. He earned his PhD in chemistry in 1948, and in 1958 became a full-time writer. His writings include the Foundation Trilogy; I, Robot; Tomorrow’s Children; and numerous works of nonfiction touching on a range of scientific topics. Among his accolades are six Hugo awards, a SFWA Grand Master Award, and high praise from such luminaries as Kurt Vonnegut, Arthur C. Clarke, and Gene Roddenberry.