Download San Francisco: Haight Ashbury Audio Tour: From the 1890s to the Summer of Love Audiobook

San Francisco: Haight Ashbury Audio Tour: From the 1890s to the Summer of Love Audiobook, by CityListen Audio Tours Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: CityListen Audio Tours Narrator: Greg Pabst Publisher: CityListen Audio Tours Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: July 2009 ISBN:
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

You can walk thru Haight Ashbury and talk about the Victorian architecture and the neighborhood's late 19th/early 20th century history. Or you can talk about 1967 and the Summer of Love, when this neighborhood became the nexus of a cultural and political transformation. Or, you can talk about both - and weave together the fascitinating pastiche that is Haight Ashbury. On the premise that it is no mere coincidence that the Summer of Love happened here, this tour blends views of this neighborhood's distinctive architecture with the stories and legends of that magical summer over 40 years ago.

The tour begins at Golden Gate Park by Haight Street.Stops include:

  • Pelton Homes - the original DIY efforts
  • Former residences of Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin and Grateful Dead
  • Where Jimi Hendrix rehearsed on the Panhandle just before Monterey Pop
  • 1563 Page Street - a horse stable turned tilework shop turned experimental theater turned private school
  • Magnon House and Cranston Mansion
  • The Magnolia - site of a memorable erotic bakery
  • Former site of the original Psychadelic Shop
  • Site of the San Francisco Oracle (the Psychadelic Oracle).

    Haight Ashbury: From the 1890's to the Summer of Love consists of about 55 minutes of material and will take you about 2 hours to complete. Download and start listening now!

  • SP_CTYL_000004

    Listener Reviews

    Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
    Write a Review