Download Ripper: The Secret Life of Walter Sickert Audiobook

Ripper: The Secret Life of Walter Sickert Audiobook, by Patricia Cornwell Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Patricia Cornwell Narrator: Mary Stuart Masterson Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2017 ISBN: 9781522635550
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

Vain and charismatic, Walter Sickert made a name for himself as a painter in Victorian London. But the ghoulish nature of his art—as well as extensive evidence—points to another name, one that’s left its bloody mark on the pages of history: Jack the Ripper. Cornwell has collected never-before-seen archival material—including a rare mortuary photo, personal correspondence, and a will with a mysterious autopsy clause—and applied cutting-edge forensic science to open an old crime to new scrutiny.

Incorporating material from Portrait of a Killer: Jack the Ripper—Case Closed, this new edition has been revised and expanded to include eight new chapters, detailed maps and hundreds of images that bring the sinister case to life.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “[A] brilliant, personal, gripping book…the finest and most important true-crime book to date.”

    Publishers Weekly on Portrait of a Killer

  • An Amazon Best Book of the Month for January 2017

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Patricia Cornwell is the author of numerous #1 New York Times bestselling novels, as well as works of nonfiction. She sold her first novel, Postmortem, while working as a computer analyst at the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner in Richmond, Virginia. It is the only novel to win five major crime awards in a single year. She has since gone on to become a #1 New York Times bestselling author, and her novels have won numerous awards, including the Edgar, the Creasey, the Anthony, and the Macavity awards, as well as France’s Prix du Roman d’Aventure. Her novel Book of the Dead won the 2008 Galaxy British Book Awards’ Books Direct Crime Thriller of the year, and she was the first American to win this award. Her character, Dr. Kay Scarpetta, won the 1999 Sherlock Award for the best detective created by an American author. She was awrded the Medal of Chevalier of the Order of Arts and Letters for her contributions to literary and artistic development. Her books have sold more than 100 million copies in thirty-six languages in over 120 countries. When not writing, she tirelessly researches cutting-edge forensic technologies to include in her work.

About the Narrator

Mary Stuart Masterson is an Earphones Award–winning narrator and an accomplished screen and stage actress perhaps most recognized for her roles in films such as Fried Green Tomatoes, Benny & Joon, and Bed of Roses. She won the National Board of Review Award for Best Supporting Actress for her role in the 1989 film Immediate Family and was nominated for the Tony Award for Best Featured Actress in a Musical for the 2003 Broadway revival of Nine.