New
Rebel with a Clause: Tales and Tips from a Roving Grammarian Audiobook, by Ellen Jovin
Play Audiobook Sample

Download Rebel with a Clause: Tales and Tips from a Roving Grammarian Audiobook

New
Rebel with a Clause: Tales and Tips from a Roving Grammarian Audiobook, by Ellen Jovin
Play Audiobook Sample
Release Date: April 12, 2022
Coming Soon!
The audiobook will be available for pre-order on March 22, 2022. Check back on that date to pre-order this title for the Apr 12, 2022 release!

Available for pre-order on:
March 22, 2022
Author: Ellen Jovin Narrator: Narrator Info Added Soon Publisher: HarperAudio Audio Length: Release Date: April 12, 2022 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780358578352

Publisher Description

For fans of Mary Norris and Benjamin Dreyer, an unconventional guide to the English language drawn from the cross-country adventures of an itinerant grammarian. 

When Ellen Jovin first walked outside her Manhattan apartment and set up a folding table with a sign reading “Grammar Table,” it took about 30 seconds to get her first visitor. EVERYONE had a question for her. Grammar Table was such a hit—attracting the attention of the New York Times, NPR, and CBS National News—that Ellen soon hit the road, traveling across the U.S. to answer questions from students, retired editors, bickering couples, and anyone else who uses words in this world.

In Rebel with a Clause she tackles what is most on people’s minds, grammatically speaking—from the Oxford comma to things you were never told about dictionaries, the ubiquity of like, common errors in online dating profiles, the likely lifespan of whom, semicolonphobia, and much, much more!

 

Punctuated with linguistic debates from tiny towns to sprawling state capitals, this is a treasure trove for anyone wishing to shore up their prose or delight in our age-old and universal fascination with language.

Download and start listening now!

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!