Extended Audio Sample

Download Pagan Spring: A Max Tudor Mystery Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Pagan Spring: A Max Tudor Mystery, by G. M. Malliet Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: G. M. Malliet Narrator: Michael Pag Publisher: Dreamscape Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Max Tudor Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $24.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

G. M. Malliet has charmed mystery lovers, cozy fans, and Agatha Christie devotees everywhere with Wicked Autumn and A Fatal Winter, the critically-acclaimed mysteries that introduced former spy turned cleric Max Tudor. Now, Max returns to the small English village of Nether Monkslip, where some new residents cause quite a stir.

Vicar Max Tudor, reveling in his new-found personal happiness with Awena Owen, feels that life at the moment holds no greater challenge than writing his Easter sermon. With Awena away, he looks forward to a dinner that includes newcomers to the village like West End dramatist Thaddeus Bottle and his downtrodden wife Melinda. But when one of the dinner guests is found dead in the pre-dawn hours, Max knows a poisonous atmosphere has once again enveloped his perfect village of Nether Monkslip. Connections to long-ago crimes, some sparked by the paintings of a famous local artist, help Max unravel the clues—but can he restore peace to Nether Monkslip and still manage to finish his sermon? Funny, smart, and perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Louise Penny, Pagan Spring is a one-of-a-kind mystery featuring everyone’s favorite attractive vicar. 

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “An English village as pretty as Nether Monkslip needs a romantic local legend—and perhaps a tasteful murder—to entice readers who love a cozy mystery. G. M. Malliet arranges for both in Pagan Spring, which challenges the Rev. Max Tudor, the resident sleuth in this charming series, to identify a murderer among his parishioners and closest friends.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “Contemporary cozies don’t get much better than Agatha-winner Malliet’s third Max Tudor mystery.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “In this third in a charming series, Malliet has grafted a contemporary village setting onto the classic roots of the beloved English cozy, with a dash of historical motivation.”


  • “A small English town can’t stop talking about the murder of a dislikable newcomer, which the hunky vicar is responsible for investigating…A well-told tale whose greatest beauty, its charming cast of characters, binds together two generations.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • A 2014 Dilys Award Nominee
  • A 2013 Agatha Award Nominee for Best Novel
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

G. M. Malliet is a journalist, copywriter, and award-winning author of mystery fiction. She attended Oxford University and holds a graduate degree from the University of Cambridge. Her first novel, Death of a Cozy Writer, was chosen by Kirkus Reviews as a Best Book of 2008 and won the 2008 Agatha Award for Best First Novel. She now lives in the Washington, DC, area.