Extended Audio Sample

Download Pachinko Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Pachinko, by Min Jin Lee Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Min Jin Lee Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Coming Soon! The audiobook will be available for pre-order on January 17, 2017.Check back on that date to pre-order this title for the Feb 7, 2017 release!
Available for pre-order on: January 17, 2017

A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone.

Pachinko follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan.

So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.

Download and start listening now!

c3ds

Quotes & Awards

  • Astounding. The sweep of Dickens and Tolstoy applied to a 20th century Korean family in Japan. Min Jin Lee's PACHINKO tackles all the stuff most good novels do-family, love, cabbage-but it also asks questions that have never been more timely. What does it mean to be part of a nation? And what can one do to escape its tight, painful, familiar bonds?"Gary Shteyngart, New York Times bestselling author of Little Failure and Super Sad True Love Story
  • Both for those who love Korea, as well as for those who know no more than Hyundai, Samsung and kimchi, this extraordinary book will prove a revelation of joy and heartbreak. I could not stop turning the pages, and wished this most poignant of sagas would never end. Min Jin Lee displays a tenderness and wisdom ideally matched to an unforgettable tale that she relates just perfectly. Simon Winchester, New York Times bestselling author of The Professor and the Madman and Korea: A Walk through the Land of Miracles
  • Darin Strauss, the national bestselling author of Half a Life: A Memoir
  • If proof were needed that one family's story can be the story of the whole world, then PACHINKO offers that proof. Min Jin Lee's novel is gripping from start to finish, crossing cultures and generations with breathtaking power. PACHINKO is a stunning achievement, full of heart, full of grace, full of truth. Erica Wagner, author of Ariel's Gift and Seizure
  • PACHINKO is elegant and soulful, both intimate and sweeping. This story of several generations of one Korean family in Japan is the story of every family whose parents sacrificed for their children, every family whose children were unable to recognize the cost, but it's also the story of a specific cultural struggle in a riveting time and place. Min Jin Lee has written a big, beautiful book filled with characters I rooted for and cared about and remembered after I'd read the final page. Kate Christensen, award-winning author of The Great Man and Blue Plate Special
  • PACHINKO is elegant and soulful, both intimate and sweeping. This story of several generations of one Korean family in Japan is the story of every family whose parents sacrificed for their children, every family whose children were unable to recognize the cost, but it's also the story of a specific cultural struggle in a riveting time and place. Min Jin Lee has written a big, beautiful book filled with characters I rooted for and cared about and remembered after I'd read the final page. Kate Christensen, award-winning author of The Great Man and Blue Plate Special
  • In 1930s Korea, an earnest young woman, abandoned by the lover who has gotten her pregnant, enters into a marriage of convenience that will take her to a new life in Japan. Thus begins Lee's luminous new novel PACHINKO--a powerful meditation on what immigrants sacrifice to achieve a home in the world. PACHINKO confirms Lee's place among our finest novelists. Junot Díaz, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and This Is How You Lose Her
  • A deep, broad, addictive history of a Korean family in Japan enduring and prospering through the 20th century. David Mitchell, New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks, Cloud Atlas, and Black Swan Green
  • PACHINKO is elegant and soulful, both intimate and sweeping. This story of several generations of one Korean family in Japan is the story of every family whose parents sacrificed for their children, every family whose children were unable to recognize the cost, but it's also the story of a specific cultural struggle in a riveting time and place. Min Jin Lee has written a big, beautiful book filled with characters I rooted for and cared about and remembered after I'd read the final page. Kate Christensen, Pen/Faulkner-winning author of The Great Man and Blue Plate Special
  • Darin Strauss, National Book Critics Circle-winning author of Half a Life: A Memoir
  • Deeply compelling...An old-fashioned epic whose simple, captivating storytelling delivers both wisdom and truth. Kirkus (Starred Review)
  • A deep, broad, addictive history of a Korean family in Japan enduring and prospering through the 20th century. The Guardian, David Mitchell, New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks
  • A beautifully crafted story of love, loss, determination, luck, and perseverance...gripping. Library Journey (starred review)
  • “A powerful meditation on what immigrants sacrifice to achieve a home in the world. Pachinko confirms Lee’s place among our finest novelists.”

    Junot Díaz, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao

  • “A deep, broad, addictive history of a Korean family in Japan enduring and prospering through the twentieth century.”

    David Mitchell, New York Times bestselling author of Cloud Atlas

  • “Astounding. The sweep of Dickens and Tolstoy applied to a twentieth century Korean family in Japan. Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko tackles all the stuff most good novels do—family, love, cabbage—but it also asks questions that have never been more timely. What does it mean to be part of a nation? And what can one do to escape its tight, painful, familiar bonds?”

    Gary Shteyngart, New York Times bestselling author of Little Failure and Super Sad True Love Story

  • “Both for those who love Korea, as well as for those who know no more than Hyundai, Samsung and kimchi, this extraordinary book will prove a revelation of joy and heartbreak. I could not stop turning the pages, and wished this most poignant of sagas would never end. Min Jin Lee displays a tenderness and wisdom ideally matched to an unforgettable tale that she relates just perfectly.”

    Simon Winchester, New York Times bestselling author of Korea: A Walk through the Land of Miracles
  • “If proof were needed that one family’s story can be the story of the whole world, then Pachinko offers that proof. Min Jin Lee’s novel is gripping from start to finish, crossing cultures and generations with breathtaking power. Pachinko is a stunning achievement, full of heart, full of grace, full of truth.”

    Erica Wagner, author of Ariel’s Gift
  • PACHINKO by Min Jin Lee is a great book, a passionate story, a novel of magisterial sweep. It's also fiendishly readable-the real-deal. An instant classic, a quick page-turner, and probably the best book of the year."
  • Darin Strauss, the national bestselling author of Half a Life: A Memoir
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations