Extended Audio Sample

Download Pachinko Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Pachinko Audiobook, by Min Jin Lee Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Min Jin Lee Narrator: Allison Hiroto Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2017 ISBN: 9781478907121
Regular Price: $25.98 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone.

Pachinko follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan.

So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.

Download and start listening now!

c3ds

Quotes & Awards

  • “A powerful meditation on what immigrants sacrifice to achieve a home in the world. Pachinko confirms Lee’s place among our finest novelists.”

    Junot Díaz, Pulitzer Prize–winning author

  • “The sweep of Dickens and Tolstoy applied to a twentieth-century Korean family in Japan…Tackles all the stuff most good novels do—family, love, cabbage—but it also asks questions that have never been more timely. What does it mean to be part of a nation? And what can one do to escape its tight, painful, familiar bonds?”

    Gary Shteyngart, New York Times bestselling author

  • “A deep, broad, addictive history.”

    David Mitchell, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Deeply compelling…An old-fashioned epic whose simple, captivating storytelling delivers both wisdom and truth.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “A beautifully crafted story of love, loss, determination, luck, and perseverance…Gripping.”

    Library Journey (starred review)

  • “An exquisite, haunting epic…shaped by impeccable research, meticulous plotting, and empathic perception.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “The sweeping story of a Korean family struggling to find love, fortune and a sense of belonging in a culture that regards them as aliens.”

    BookPage

  • “An exquisite meditation on the generational nature of truly forging a home.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • A BookRiot Pick of the Most Anticipated Books of 2017
  • An Amazon Best Book of the Month, Editor's Top Pick for February 2017
  • A BookPage Top Pick for February 2017
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Min Jin LeeMin Jin Lee's debut novel, Free Food for Millionaires, was one of the "Top 10 Novels of the Year" for The Times (London), NPR's Fresh Air, and USA Today. Her short fiction has been featured on NPR's Selected Shorts. Her writings have appeared in Condé Nast Traveler, The Times (London), Vogue, Travel+Leisure, Wall Street Journal, New York Times Magazine, and Food & Wine. Her essays and literary criticism have been anthologized widely. She served as a columnist for the Chosun Ilbo, the leading paper of South Korea. She lives in New York with her family.